Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Sahel Crisis Matching Fund

Closed

Spotlight

Registered charities had until October 15 to submit their declaration forms indicating the amount of eligible donations they collected.

An estimated 18.7 million people in the Sahel region in West Africa were affected by a food and nutrition crisis due to drought, sporadic rains, poor harvests, soaring food prices and widespread displacement. As a result, more than 1 million children under the age of five were at risk of dying from severe acute malnutrition. Canada, through CIDA, helped to meet vital humanitarian needs in the Sahel, and as part of its efforts, created the Sahel Crisis Matching Fund.

For every eligible dollar donated by individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities, Canada set aside one dollar for the Sahel Crisis Matching Fund. CIDA will allocate these funds to established Canadian and international humanitarian organizations for humanitarian assistance efforts that benefit the people most affected by the crisis. On December 4, 2012, Minister Fantino thanked Canadians for donating more than $6.9 million to the fund.

Information for registered Canadian charities

Declaration form

To ensure that donations collected in response to the crisis by registered Canadian charities were taken into account in determining the size of the Sahel Crisis Matching Fund, the charities concerned were required to complete and send in the Sahel Crisis Matching Fund 2012 Declaration Form (PDF, 595 KB, 2 pages) to CIDA, declaring the amount of eligible donations received. This form had to be received by CIDA on or before October 15 in order to be taken into account in determining the size of the Sahel Crisis Matching Fund.

The Sahel Crisis Matching Fund is separate from the funds raised by charities and will be administered separately by the Government of Canada. This means that a charity declaring the amount of eligible donations raised does not receive a matching dollar from the Government of Canada. For every eligible dollar donated by individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities, the government set aside one dollar for the fund. The government will use the fund to support the efforts of experienced Canadian and international humanitarian organizations to meet immediate needs in response to the crisis in the Sahel.

Information for organizations interested in submitting proposals

Guidelines for submitting proposals to the Sahel Crisis Matching Fund

The Sahel Crisis Matching Fund will support experienced Canadian and international humanitarian organizations with significant in-country capacity to deliver humanitarian assistance in the Sahel region.

Non-governmental organizations (NGOs) interested in applying for project financing should first ensure that they meet the minimum institutional eligibility requirements.

Allocation of funds

Charitable organizations fundraising for the relief efforts in the Sahel region will not have privileged access to the fund. Allocation decisions will be based on CIDA's humanitarian assistance guidelines and the ability of Canadian and international humanitarian organizations to access the affected populations and deliver timely, effective, and appropriate humanitarian assistance.



Note: If you cannot access the alternate format, refer to the Help page.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Fonds de contrepartie pour le Sahel

Fermé

En vedette

Les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés avaient jusqu'au 15 octobre pour présenter leurs formulaires de déclaration indiquant le montant des dons admissibles qu'ils ont recueillis.

On estime que 18,7 millions de personnes au Sahel, en Afrique de l'Ouest, ont été touchées par une crise alimentaire et nutritionnelle en raison de la sécheresse, des pluies rares, des piètres récoltes, de la flambée des prix des aliments et des déplacements de populations. En conséquence, plus d'un million d'enfants de moins de cinq ans risquaient de mourir de malnutrition aiguë sévère. Le Canada, par l'entremise de l'ACDI, aide à répondre aux besoins humanitaires vitaux de la population du Sahel, et à cet égard, a créé le Fonds de contrepartie pour le Sahel.

Ainsi, pour chaque dollar admissible versé par les Canadiens, à titre personnel, à un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré, le gouvernement du Canada a versé un dollar au Fonds de contrepartie pour le Sahel. L'ACDI remettra ces fonds à des organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales bien établies pour venir en aide aux personnes les plus touchées par la crise. Le 4 décembre 2012, le ministre Fantino a remercié les canadiens d'avoir donné 6,9 millionsa de dollars.

Renseignements pour les organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés

Formulaire de déclaration

Pour que les dons recueillis par les organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés relativement à la crise soient comptabilisés au Fonds de contrepartie pour le Sahel, ces mêmes organismes devaient remplir le formulaire de déclaration du Fonds de contrepartie pour le Sahel 2012 (PDF, 596, Ko, 2 pages) en indiquant la somme des dons admissibles reçus, puis l'envoyer à l'ACDI. L'ACDI devait recevoir ce formulaire au plus tard le 15 octobre afin que les dons soient pris en considération dans le calcul total du Fonds de contrepartie.

Le Fonds susmentionné est distinct des sommes recueillies par les organismes de bienfaisance et qu'il sera géré séparément par le gouvernement du Canada. Ainsi, l'organisme de bienfaisance qui déclare le montant des dons amassés admissibles ne recevra pas de montant équivalent de la part du gouvernement du Canada. Pour chaque dollar que les Canadiens envoient à des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens admissibles, le gouvernement a versé un dollar au Fonds de contrepartie. Le gouvernement utilisera ce Fonds pour soutenir les efforts des organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales d'expérience qui tentent de répondre aux besoins immédiats des victimes de la crise au Sahel.

Renseignements pour les organismes souhaitant présenter une proposition de projet à l'ACDI

Lignes directrices pour la présentation de propositions relativement au Fonds de contrepartie pour le Sahel

Le Fonds de contrepartie pour le Sahel appuiera les organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales d'expérience ayant de solides capacités sur le terrain pour fournir l'aide humanitaire nécessaire au Sahel.

Les organisations non gouvernementales souhaitant déposer une demande de financement doivent d'abord s'assurer qu'elles satisfont aux critères d'admissibilité minimaux applicables aux institutions.

Attribution des fonds

Les organismes de bienfaisance qui ont recueilli de l'argent pour les victimes de la crise au Sahel n'auront pas un accès privilégié au Fonds de contrepartie. Les décisions concernant l'attribution des fonds seront fondées sur les lignes directrices sur l'aide humanitaire de l'ACDI ainsi que sur la capacité des organisations humanitaires canadiennes et internationales d'accéder aux populations touchées pour leur prodiguer promptement une aide humanitaire efficace et opportune.

Note : Si vous ne pouvez accéder au format de rechange, veuillez visiter la page d'Aide.