Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Government of Canada to Match Generosity of Canadians in Response to the Devastating Earthquake in Haiti

January 14, 2010

Ottawa—The Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, today announced that Canada will match individual donations to registered Canadian charitable organizations to support humanitarian and early recovery assistance to people affected by the earthquake in Haiti on January 12th.

"Many Canadians are deeply concerned about the suffering and loss of life as a result of this catastrophe in Haiti," said Minister Oda. "Canadian citizens have shown time and again their generosity with countries in urgent need, and our government is prepared to match their contributions dollar for dollar."

The Government of Canada will match the contributions of individual Canadians to eligible Canadian charitable organizations in support of humanitarian and recovery efforts in response to the earthquake in Haiti, up to a total of $50 million. The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) will allocate these funds to Canadian and international humanitarian and development organizations.

Donations made by individual Canadians to eligible Canadian charitable organizations over the period of January 12 to February 12, 2010 will be matched by the Government of Canada through the CIDA-managed Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund. The Fund will support Canadian and international humanitarian and development organizations with significant in-country capacity to deliver humanitarian, early recovery and reconstruction assistance in Haiti.

— 30 —

Information:

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
E-mail: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le gouvernement du Canada égalera la générosité des Canadiens en réponse au séisme dévastateur survenu en Haïti

Le 14 janvier 2010

Ottawa—L'honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, a annoncé aujourd'hui que le Canada allouera une somme d'argent équivalente à celle que verseront les organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés canadiens afin de soutenir l'aide humanitaire et les premiers secours aux personnes touchées par le séisme survenu en Haïti le 12 janvier.

« De nombreux Canadiens se préoccupent vivement des souffrances et des vies perdues en raison de la catastrophe survenue en Haïti, a dit la ministre Oda. Les citoyens canadiens ont toujours manifesté leur générosité envers les pays dans le besoin, et notre gouvernement est prêt à apporter la même contribution qu'eux, dollar par dollar. »

Le gouvernement du Canada fera une contribution égale à celle que les particuliers canadiens verseront aux organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés afin de soutenir les efforts humanitaires et de secours à la suite du séisme en Haïti, jusqu'à concurrence de 50 millions de dollars. L'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) allouera ces fonds à des organisations canadiennes et internationales d'aide humanitaire et de développement.

Le gouvernement du Canada allouera des fonds correspondant aux dons faits par les Canadiens aux organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés entre le 12 janvier et le 12 février 2010, par l'intermédiaire du Fonds d'aide au séisme en Haïti, administré par l'ACDI. Le Fonds aidera des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens et internationaux d'aide humanitaire et de développement ayant démontré la capacité d'offrir une aide considérable sur le plan de l'aide humanitaire, des secours d'urgence et de la reconstruction en Haïti.

— 30 —

Information :

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca