Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Government of Canada Expands Matching Fund for Earthquake Relief

January 23, 2010

OTTAWA—The Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, today announced that the Government of Canada is expanding its matching fund for Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund to include all eligible donations above and beyond the original $50 million ceiling.

"The extraordinary response of Canadians in the tragic aftermath of the Haiti earthquake has once again demonstrated their compassion and generosity," said Minister Oda. "The enormity of the devastation is unimaginable and donations have already exceeded $67 million. We will keep matching individual donations dollar for dollar."

On January 14, Minister Oda announced the creation of the Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund. Through this fund, the Government of Canada will match the contributions of individual Canadians to eligible registered Canadian charitable organizations in support of humanitarian and recovery efforts in response to the earthquake in Haiti, made over the period of January 12 to February 12, 2010. The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) will allocate these funds to Canadian and international humanitarian and development organizations.

The breadth of the needs in Haiti requires the mobilization of extraordinary resources. The Government of Canada will continue its steadfast and significant response as demands shift from urgent humanitarian assistance to include early recovery and reconstruction efforts.

In addition to the Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund, the Canadian International Development Agency is providing $85 million in urgent humanitarian assistance and in response to appeals from UN agencies, the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies and Canadian organizations, all of whom are working tirelessly to help those in Haiti.

— 30 —

Information:

Jessica Fletcher
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
E-mail: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund

In response to the devastating earthquake in Haiti, the Government of Canada created the Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund. For every eligible dollar individual Canadians contribute to a registered charity responding to the Haiti earthquake, the Government of Canada will put one dollar into the Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund. To be eligible, donations must be:

  • Monetary, up to a maximum of $100,000;
  • made by an individual Canadian;
  • made to a registered charity that is receiving donations in response to the January 12 earthquake in Haiti;
  • specifically earmarked by such organizations for the purpose of responding to the earthquake;
  • made between January 12 and February 12, 2010.

To ensure that donations collected by registered charities will be matched through the Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund, the registered charities will need to attest to the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), on or before February 26, the amount of eligible donations received.

CIDA will allocate money from the Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund to established Canadian and international humanitarian and development organizations for relief efforts that benefit the people in Haiti. Decisions as to which organizations will receive funding will be based on the merit of their proposals to CIDA and their ability to deliver aid quickly and effectively, and will require that the organizations have significant in-country capacity to deliver humanitarian, early recovery or reconstruction assistance in Haiti.

For further information, please visit the Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund website or contact CIDA's Public Inquiries Service:

Telephone: 819-997-5006
Toll free: 1-800-230-6349
Toll free for the hearing and speech impaired only: 1-800-331-5018
Email: info@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le gouvernement du Canada élargit le Fonds d’aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti

Le 23 janvier 2010

OTTAWA — L'honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, a annoncé aujourd'hui que le gouvernement du Canada élargit le Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti afin d'inclure tous les dons admissibles, et ce, au-delà du plafond initial de 50 millions de dollars.

« L'extraordinaire réponse des Canadiens face aux conséquences tragiques du séisme en Haïti a démontré encore une fois leur compassion et leur générosité, a déclaré la ministre Oda. L'énormité des dégâts est inimaginable et les dons excèdent déjà 67 millions de dollars. Nous continuerons de verser un dollar pour chaque dollar donné par les particuliers canadiens. »

Le 14 janvier, la ministre Oda a annoncé la création du Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti. Par l'intermédiaire de ce fonds, le gouvernement du Canada allouera une somme équivalente aux dons individuels faits entre le 12 janvier et le 12 février 2010 aux organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés admissibles afin de soutenir l'aide humanitaire et les efforts de redressement à la suite du séisme en Haïti. L'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) affectera ces fonds à des organisations canadiennes et internationales d'aide humanitaire et de développement.

L'ampleur des besoins en Haïti exige la mobilisation de ressources extraordinaires. Le gouvernement du Canada continuera d'apporter un soutien inébranlable et important une fois que s'opérera la transition de l'aide humanitaire d'urgence aux efforts de reconstruction et de redressement.

En plus du Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti, l'ACDI contribue 85 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire d'urgence et en réponse aux appels lancés par les organismes des Nations Unies, la Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge ainsi que les organisations canadiennes, qui travaillent tous sans relâche pour aider les sinistrés en Haïti.

— 30 —

Renseignements :

Jessica Fletcher
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti

Face au séisme dévastateur qui a secoué Haïti, le gouvernement du Canada a mis sur pied le Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti. Il versera un dollar pour chaque dollar donné par les particuliers canadiens à un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré qui apporte une aide aux victimes du séisme. Pour être admissibles, les dons doivent :

  • être des dons monétaires n'excédant pas 100 000 $;
  • être faits par des citoyens canadiens;
  • être faits à des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés qui reçoivent des dons à la suite du séisme qui a frappé Haïti le 12 janvier;
  • être réservés par ces organismes à l'aide aux sinistrés;
  • être faits entre le 12 janvier et le 12 février 2010.

Pour qu'un montant identique à celui des dons recueillis par les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés soit versé au Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti, les organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés devront fournir à l'ACDI, au plus tard le 26 février, une attestation relative au montant des dons admissibles reçus.

L'ACDI affectera les sommes versés au Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti à des organismes canadiens et internationaux d'aide humanitaire et de développement bien établis pour appuyer leur activités de secours destinées à la population touchée par le séisme en Haïti. Les décisions quant aux organismes qui recevront des fonds reposeront sur la qualité de leurs propositions et leur capacité à fournir une aide rapidement et efficacement. En outre, les organismes devront avoir sur place les importantes ressources nécessaires pour fournir une aide humanitaire ainsi qu'une aide à la reconstruction ou au redressement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site Web du Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti ou communiquer avec le Service des renseignements au public :

Téléphone : 819-997-5006
Sans frais : 1-800-230-6349
Pour les malentendants et les personnes atteintes de troubles de la parole seulement (sans frais) : 1-800-331-5018
Courriel : info@acdi-cida.gc.ca