Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Government of Canada Announces Assistance to Chile

March 2, 2010

OTTAWA — The Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, today announced that the Government of Canada will provide up to $2 million for urgent humanitarian assistance to the people of Chile affected by the catastrophic earthquake on February 27th. This will help support an appropriate and timely response to identified needs on the ground.

"Our government is deeply concerned about the impact of the earthquake and our thoughts are with the families of the victims," said Minister Oda. "We are working closely with the Government of Chile and international partners to help meet the needs of Chileans affected by this disaster."

An earthquake of magnitude 8.8 struck near the coast of Chile on February 27, 2010. This was the country's largest earthquake in 25 years. The earthquake generated a tsunami, which affected a coastal strip of more than 500 kilometres, and numerous aftershocks continue to cause damage.

The Government of Canada will continue to monitor the situation closely, and will work in partnership with the Chilean government and partners on the ground to establish what further response will be appropriate.

— 30 —

Information:

Jessica Fletcher
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
E-mail: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le gouvernement du Canada viendra en aide au Chili

Le 2 mars 2010

OTTAWA — L'honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, a annoncé aujourd'hui que le gouvernement du Canada versera jusqu'à deux millions de dollars en vue de fournir une aide humanitaire d'urgence à la population chilienne touchée par le séisme catastrophique survenu le 27 février dernier. Cette somme aidera à apporter des secours rapides et appropriés pour répondre aux besoins déterminés sur le terrain.

« Notre gouvernement est profondément préoccupé par les répercussions du séisme et nos pensées vont d'abord aux familles des victimes, a déclaré la ministre Oda. Nous travaillons étroitement avec le gouvernement du Chili et nos partenaires internationaux afin de répondre aux besoins des Chiliens touchés par cette catastrophe. »

Un séisme de magnitude 8,8 sur l'échelle de Richter a frappé la côte du Chili le 27 février 2010. Ce tremblement de terre, le plus important que le pays ait connu depuis 25 ans, a provoqué un tsunami qui a ravagé les côtes sur plus de 500 kilomètres. De nombreuses répliques sismiques continuent de faire des dommages.

Le gouvernement du Canada continuera de suivre la situation de près et travaillera en partenariat avec le gouvernement chilien et des partenaires sur le terrain pour déterminer quelles mesures complémentaires s'imposent.

— 30 —

Renseignements :

Jessica Fletcher
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca