Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Government of Canada Pledges up to $33 Million in Response to Floods in Pakistan

August 14, 2010

Toronto, Ontario—The Honourable John Baird, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons, and the Honourable Senator Salma Ataullahjan announced today that the Government of Canada will provide up to $33 million to respond to the most urgent needs of flood-affected populations in Pakistan. They made the announcement on behalf of the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, and the Honourable Lawrence Cannon, Minister of Foreign Affairs.

"The trail of devastation and the desperate humanitarian situation caused by the floods have worsened with the continuing rains," said Minister Baird. "This contribution will help meet priority needs, which include food, water and sanitation, emergency medical care and shelter, essential household goods, logistics and coordination efforts, and the deployment of Canadian relief supplies."

Pakistan has been hit with the worst floods in at least 80 years. The floods have left more than 6 million people in need of emergency assistance, have caused hundreds of thousands of others to be displaced, and have destroyed up to 85 percent of the infrastructure in the affected regions.

"In response, up to $25 million will be provided through CIDA for humanitarian assistance. Through this contribution, Canada will work closely with its partners to ensure that the needs of affected populations are met," added Minister Oda.

"In addition to CIDA's funding for humanitarian, life-saving assistance, the Global Peace and Security Fund, managed by the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade, will provide $8 million in urgently needed equipment to help the Government of Pakistan better protect its people," said Minister of Foreign Affairs Lawrence Cannon. "Our contribution will restore linkages to communities cut off by the flooding and enable local authorities to provide security to those affected by this disaster."

The $8 million will be allocated in two phases-immediate and short-to-medium term. Bridging equipment will be provided immediately. Other operational support, which could include tents and equipment for life support, water purification, and communications to address security needs, will be considered after further assessment.

Today's announcement builds on more than $69 million in CIDA funding since 2009 for Pakistan. This includes bilateral aid programming, as well as $37 -million for humanitarian assistance, for such initiatives as food assistance, emergency shelter, water and sanitation facilities, and basic health care for conflict-affected people in Pakistan. For further information, please consult CIDA and DFAIT web pages on Pakistan.

- 30 -

Information:

Isabelle Bouchard
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238
Cell: 613-355-2465

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
Email: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Melissa Lantsman
Office of the Minister of Foreign Affairs
Telephone: 613-995-1851
Foreign Affairs Media Relations Office
Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada
Telephone: 613-995-1874




Backgrounder

Canada announces additional support in response to the floods in Pakistan


Humanitarian assistance

CIDA is allocating up to $25 million to help meet the most urgent needs of the flood-affected population. CIDA's funding is supporting the efforts of experienced partners, such as United Nations humanitarian agencies, the Red Cross Movement, and Canadian non-governmental organizations.

CIDA's contributions will help provide food, clean drinking water, medical care, emergency shelter, protection, essential household goods, and logistics and coordination, and help deploy relief supplies from CIDA's stockpile.

To date, the following organizations are being supported:
  • Red Cross Movement $750,000 to the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) to deliver immediate relief assistance to 25,000 families in the affected areas.
  • United Nations agencies $1.25 million to the World Food Programme to provide emergency food assistance to 150,000 families affected by the floods.
  • Non-governmental organizations
    • $600,000 to Save the Children Canada to provide essential primary healthcare, emergency medical referral services, as well as complementary health promotion education and supplies to flood-affected people in Swat.
    • $500,000 to CARE Canada to meet the urgent needs of flood-affected people in three severely affected districts in the province of Khyber Pakhtunkwha.
    • $400,000 to Oxfam Canada to provide water, sanitation, and hygiene education to 400,000 people in the most severely affected districts of four provinces in Pakistan.
In addition, CIDA is providing up to $1 million to deploy CIDA's emergency relief supplies, including tents, jerrycans and mosquito nets, to support ongoing emergency relief operations on the ground by the IFRC.

Canada's contribution

As an initial response to the floods in Pakistan, CIDA provided $2 million on August 3, 2010. The remaining details of Canada's contributions are being finalized based on the priority needs identified by our key humanitarian partners on the ground.

Canada's contribution builds on more than $69 million in CIDA funding from fiscal year 2009-2010 for Pakistan. This includes $37 million for humanitarian assistance for initiatives such as food assistance, emergency shelter, water and sanitation facilities, and basic health care for conflict-affected people.

Canada's current programming

In 2009, as part of Canada's new aid effectiveness agenda, Pakistan was selected by CIDA as one of 20 countries of focus.

Pakistan has a population of approximately 170 million, 29 percent of whom live in absolute poverty. Canada's development cooperation program in Pakistan focuses on:

  • education, with an emphasis on supporting children and youth through teacher training and support for the Pakistani education system
  • sustainable economic growth, with an emphasis on women's economic empowerment
  • selected initiatives supporting democratic governance

For more information on Canada's humanitarian assistance and development efforts in Pakistan, please visit CIDA's web page on Pakistan.

Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade

The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) is committing up to $8 million for materials to construct temporary bridges. This assistance will address the immediate needs of disaster-affected populations and communities by restoring communication and transportation links cut off by the flooding. It will also enhance rule of law in the affected areas by enabling local authorities to provide better security to the people.

As further requirements are identified, DFAIT will consider how best to provide operational support to the Government of Pakistan. This could include the provision of boats, tents, and equipment for life support, water purification, and communications for use by the police and government responders in the region. Any additional support will be determined in consultation with the High Commission in Islamabad and NATO. An officer from DFAIT's Stabilization and Reconstruction Task Force is being deployed to the Canadian High Commission in Pakistan to assist in project implementation and assessment of further needs.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le Canada accorde une aide additionnelle jusqu'à concurrence de 33 millions de dollars en réponse aux inondations au Pakistan

Le 14 août 2010

Toronto (Ontario) — L'honorable John Baird, leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des Communes, et l'honorable sénatrice Salma Ataullahjan ont annoncé aujourd'hui que le gouvernement du Canada accordera jusqu'à 33 millions de dollars pour répondre aux besoins les plus urgents des personnes touchées par les inondations au Pakistan. Ils ont fait cette annonce au nom de l'honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, et de l'honorable Lawrence Cannon, ministre des Affaires étrangères.

« La dévastation et la situation humanitaire désespérée causées par les inondations sont aggravées par les pluies incessantes », a déclaré le ministre Baird. « Cette contribution aidera à répondre aux besoins prioritaires, entre autres en ce qui concerne la nourriture, l'approvisionnement en eau, les services d'assainissement, les soins de santé et les abris d'urgence, les articles ménagers essentiels, la logistique et la coordination des efforts, ainsi que l'envoi de matériel de secours provenant du Canada. »

Le Pakistan subit les pires inondations depuis les 80 dernières années au moins. En raison de ces inondations, plus de six millions de personnes ont besoin d'une aide d'urgence, des centaines de milliers de personnes sont déplacées et près de 85 % des infrastructures ont été détruites dans les zones touchées.

« En réponse à cette situation, jusqu'à 25 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire seront versés par l'entremise de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI). Grâce à cette aide, le Canada collaborera étroitement avec ses partenaires pour répondre aux besoins des populations touchées », a ajouté la ministre Oda.

« En plus de l'aide humanitaire de l'ACDI visant à sauver des vies, le Canada accorde un appui de 8 millions de dollars en équipement, d'un besoin urgent, pour aider le gouvernement du Pakistan à mieux protéger ses citoyens, par l'entremise du Fonds pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales, géré par le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) », a expliqué le ministre Cannon. « Notre contribution permettra de rétablir les liens avec les collectivités qui ont été isolées par les inondations. Ils permettront également aux autorités locales d'assurer la sécurité des personnes touchées par cette catastrophe. »

Ces 8 millions de dollars seront accordés en deux phases - dans l'immédiat et à court et moyen terme. Le matériel de franchissement sera fourni immédiatement, tandis que d'autres formes de soutien opérationnel (y compris des tentes et de l'équipement de soutien vital, du matériel nécessaire à la purification de l'eau et un soutien des communications visant à assurer la sécurité) seront considérées suivant une évaluation plus poussée de la situation.

L'aide annoncée aujourd'hui s'ajoute au financement de 69 millions de dollars que l'ACDI accorde au Pakistan depuis 2009. Cette somme comporte la programmation bilatérale, ainsi que 37 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire, entre autres pour des projets liés à l'aide alimentaire, aux abris d'urgence, à l'approvisionnement en eau, aux services d'assainissement et aux soins de santé de base menés en faveur des personnes touchées par les conflits au Pakistan. Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez les sites Web de l'ACDI et du MAECI sur le Pakistan.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Isabelle Bouchard
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Melissa Lantsman
Attachée de presse
Cabinet du ministre des Affaires étrangères
Téléphone : 613-995-1851

Service des relations avec les médias des Affaires étrangères
Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada
Téléphone : 613-995-1874


Fiche d'information

Le Canada promet de l'aide supplémentaire en réponce aux inondations au Pakistan


Aide humanitaire

L'ACDI attribuera jusqu'à 25 millions de dollars pour aider à répondre aux besoins les plus immédiats des populations victimes des inondations. Le financement de l'ACDI appuie l'intervention de ses partenaires d'expérience, comme les organismes humanitaires des Nations Unies, la Croix-Rouge et des organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes.

Les fonds de l'ACDI serviront à fournir de la nourriture, de l'eau potable, des soins médicaux, des abris provisoires, de la protection, des biens ménagers essentiels, de la logistique et de la coordination, ainsi qu'à financer le déploiement des fournitures de secours provenant des réserves de l'ACDI.

À ce jour, les organisations suivantes bénéficient de l'appui de l'ACDI :

  • Croix-Rouge
  • Contribution de 750 000 dollars à la Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (FICR) pour fournir une aide immédiate à 25 000 familles vivant dans les zones sinistrées
  • Organismes des Nations Unies
  • Contribution de 1,25 million de dollars au Programme alimentaire mondial pour fournir une aide alimentaire d'urgence à 150 000 familles sinistrées
  • Organisations non gouvernementales
    • Contribution de 600 000 dollars à Aide à l'enfance Canada pour fournir des premiers soins essentiels, des services d'aiguillage médical d'urgence, ainsi que de l'information et des fournitures dans le domaine de la promotion de la santé aux sinistrés de Swat.
    • Contribution de 500 000 dollars à CARE Canada pour répondre aux besoins urgents des populations dans trois districts gravement sinistrés de la province de Khyber Pakhtunkwha.
    • Contribution de 400 000 dollars à Oxfam Canada pour fournir de l'eau, des services d'assainissement et des cours d'hygiène à 400 000 personnes dans les districts les plus gravement touchés de quatre provinces du Pakistan.

De plus, l'ACDI va fournir jusqu'à concurrence d'un million de dollars pour déployer du matériel de secours d'urgence, y compris des tentes, des jerricanes et des moustiquaires, afin
d'appuyer les opérations de secours d'urgence entreprises actuellement par la FICR.

Contribution du Canada

En réponse aux inondations au Pakistan, l'ACDI a donné initialement deux millions de dollars le 3 août 2010. On est en train de finaliser le reste des détails des contributions du Canada en fonction des besoins prioritaires signalés par nos principaux partenaires humanitaires sur le terrain.

La contribution du Canada vient s'ajouter à l'aide financière que l'ACDI a donnée au Pakistan pendant l'exercice 2009-2010, à savoir plus de 69 millions de dollars. Elle comprenait 37 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire (aide alimentaire, abris provisoires, eau, services d'assainissement et soins de santé de base) pour les populations touchées du Pakistan.

Programmes actuels du Canada

En 2009, dans le cadre du nouveau plan d'action sur l'efficacité de l'aide du Canada, le Pakistan a été désigné comme l'un des 20 pays ciblés par l'ACDI.

Le Pakistan compte environ 170 millions d'habitants, dont 29 % vivent dans la pauvreté la plus totale. Le programme de coopération au développement du Canada au Pakistan met l'accent sur :

  • l'éducation (appui particulier aux enfants et aux jeunes sous forme de formation pour les enseignants et de soutien au système d'éducation pakistanais);
  • la croissance économique durable (appui particulier à l'habilitation économique des femmes);
  • des mesures spécifiques favorisant la gouvernance démocratique.

Pour en savoir davantage sur ce que le Canada fait en matière d'aide humanitaire et de développement au Pakistan, veuillez consulter la page Web de l'ACDI sur le Pakistan.

Ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI)

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international du Canada (MAECI) va fournir 8 millions de dollars pour les matériaux nécessaires à la construction de ponts provisoires. Cette aide permettra de répondre aux besoins immédiats des collectivités et des populations sinistrées en rétablissant les voies de communication et de transport reliant les localités isolées par les inondations. Cela permettra également aux autorités locales de mieux protéger la population en rétablissant la primauté du droit dans les zones sinistrées.

Lorsque d'autres besoins auront été identifiés, le MAECI déterminera la meilleure façon de fournir un soutien opérationnel au gouvernement du Pakistan. Il pourrait s'agir de bateaux, de tentes, d'équipement de soutien vital, d'appareils de purification de l'eau et de matériel de communication à l'intention de la police et des services de secours de l'État dans la région. On déterminera toute mesure supplémentaire d'aide en consultation avec le haut-commissariat à Islamabad et avec l'OTAN. Un agent du Groupe de travail pour la stabilisation et la reconstruction (GTSR) du MAECI est déployé au haut-commissariat du Canada au Pakistan pour aider à la réalisation des projets et à l'évaluation d'autres besoins.