Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Government of Canada Extends Deadline for Contributions to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund

September 12, 2010

© ACDI-CIDA/David Barbour
The Honourable John Baird shakes hands with Kevin McCort, President and Chief Executive Officer for CARE Canada, at announcement made September 12 in Ottawa.
Ottawa, Ontario — The Honourable John Baird, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons, today announced on behalf of the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, that the Government of Canada is extending the deadline for contributions to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund to October 3, 2010.

For every eligible donation made by individual Canadians to Canadian registered charities raising funds in response to the floods, the Government of Canada will contribute an equivalent amount to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund.

Minister Baird made the announcement as Minister Oda was preparing to visit Pakistan from September 13 to 15 for a first-hand assessment of the delivery of Canada's humanitarian assistance and the work of our partners on the ground.

"These floods have had a devastating impact on the lives of millions in Pakistan. More than 18 million people have been affected, and children and women are especially vulnerable to the ensuing danger of disease and epidemics," said Minister Baird. "The situation remains dire and the effects of the floods mean that even as the waters recede, millions of people remain at risk of disease and death."

With the extension of the deadline for eligible contributions to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund, Canadians will continue to have the opportunity to see their generous contributions matched by the Government of Canada.

"The impact of the floods in Pakistan is immense. Our government will continue to support meeting the immediate needs of those affected as well as look to the long-term recovery needs of those who saw their homes, farms and livelihoods destroyed," said Minister Oda. "I encourage all Canadians over the next three weeks to support the flood victims in Pakistan in their greatest hour of need."

The Government of Canada established the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund on August 22. The government is contributing to the fund an amount equivalent to the total of the eligible donations made to registered charities by individual Canadians from August 2 until the new deadline of October 3, 2010. The attestation period for registered charities to report their donations to the government will also be extended to October 18 2010. The fund will provide effective and accountable financial support to experienced Canadian and international humanitarian and development partner organizations working in the affected areas.

On August 2, Canada made an initial contribution of $2 million for the provision of emergency food, water, sanitation, shelter, non-food items, and health services for Pakistan. On August 14, Canada increased its contribution to $33 million, of which CIDA allocated $25 million to international humanitarian partners and Canadian non-governmental organizations, such as Save the Children, CARE, OXFAM and the Canadian Red Cross Society. The Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade Canada, through its Global Peace and Security Fund is providing $8 million for equipment to restore links for communities cut off by the flooding.

The government's $33 million builds on more than $69 million in CIDA funding for Pakistan since 2009.

For more information on the response to the floods in Pakistan, visit CIDA's website.


- 30 -

Information:

Isabelle Bouchard
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
E-mail: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le gouvernement du Canada proroge le délai pour les contributions au Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan

Le 12 septembre 2010

© ACDI-CIDA/David Barbour
L'honorable John Baird rencontre Kevin McCort, président et chef de la direction de CARE Canada, à l'occasion de l'annonce faite le 12 septembre à Ottawa.
Ottawa (Ontario) — L'honorable John Baird, leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes, a annoncé, au nom de l'honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, que le gouvernement du Canada reportait au 3 octobre 2010 la date limite prévue pour les contributions au Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan.

Pour chaque don admissible fait par les Canadiens, à titre personnel, à un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré recueillant des fonds pour les victimes des inondations, le gouvernement du Canada versera un montant équivalent au Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan.

Le ministre Baird a fait l'annonce alors que la ministre Oda se préparait à visiter le Pakistan (du 13 au 15 septembre) afin d'évaluer elle-même l'acheminement de l'aide humanitaire canadienne et le travail de nos partenaires sur le terrain.

« Ces inondations ont eu de terribles répercussions sur la vie de millions de Pakistanais. Plus de 18 millions de personnes ont été touchées, et les enfants et les femmes sont particulièrement vulnérables aux maladies et épidémies qu'entraînent les inondations », a déclaré le ministre Baird. « La situation est désastreuse et, même une fois que les eaux se seront retirées, le risque de maladie ou de décès demeurera une réalité pour des millions de Pakistanais ».

Grâce au report du délai fixé pour le versement des contributions admissibles au Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan, les Canadiens continueront de voir leurs contributions entraîner l'octroi d'un montant identique par le gouvernement du Canada.

« Les répercussions des inondations au Pakistan sont terribles. Notre gouvernement continuera d'aider à répondre aux besoins immédiats des personnes touchées et de chercher à satisfaire aux besoins à long terme en matière de rétablissement des personnes qui ont perdu leurs maisons, leurs fermes et leurs moyens de subsistance », a déclaré la ministre Oda. « J'encourage tous les Canadiens à soutenir les victimes des inondations au Pakistan au cours des trois semaines à venir, en cette période où ils en ont si grand besoin ».

Le gouvernement du Canada a créé le Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan le 22 août. Il versera à ce fonds un montant équivalent au total des dons admissibles versés par les Canadiens à des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés entre le 2 août et la nouvelle date limite du 3 octobre 2010. De plus, les organismes de bienfaisance ont maintenant jusqu'au 18 octobre 2010 pour présenter leur formulaire de déclaration. Le Fonds fournira une aide financière responsable et efficace aux organisations partenaires du développement et aux organisations humanitaires internationales et canadiennes expérimentées qui oeuvrent dans les régions touchées.

Le 2 août, le Canada a versé une contribution initiale de deux millions de dollars afin de fournir de toute urgence de la nourriture, de l'eau, des services d'assainissement, des abris, des denrées non alimentaires et des soins de santé au Pakistan. Le 14 août, la contribution du Canada est passée à 33 millions de dollars, dont 25 millions de dollars affectés par l'ACDI à des partenaires internationaux fournissant une aide humanitaire et à des organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes comme Aide à l'enfance, CARE, OXFAM et la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge. Affaires étrangères et Commerce international Canada, par l'entremise de son Fonds pour la paix et la sécurité mondiales, fournit au gouvernement du Pakistan 8 millions de dollars en équipement pour rétablir les liens avec les communautés isolées par les inondations.

Les 33 millions de dollars en question s'ajoutent à plus de 69 millions de dollars versés par l'ACDI au profit du Pakistan depuis 2009.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la réponse aux inondations au Pakistan, visitez le site Web de l'ACDI.


- 30 -

Information :

Isabelle Bouchard
Cabinet de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Adresse électronique : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca