Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Second anniversary of Haiti's earthquake

January 12, 2012

The January 12, 2010 earthquake in Haiti is a salient reminder of the fragility of life and how years of development work and progress can be wiped out in an instant.

Two years after the earthquake, Canada has shown to the people of Haiti—and the world—that we are there to support the millions of people whose lives were impacted by this tragic event. Canada has delivered humanitarian assistance, helped to rebuild institutions and infrastructure, and supported sustainable development based on the Haitian government's priorities.

Over the past two years, we have witnessed the unprecedented generosity of Canadians as well as the swift collaboration between CIDA, its partners on the ground, and other government departments. Together, we have done our utmost to help the Haitian people in their time of crisis. The Haitian government recognizes that Canada's support has been critically important.

In my trips to Haiti, I have seen our projects achieving significant results. Canada is leading various initiatives, such as training teachers, building health care facilities, providing nutritious daily meals to school children, revitalizing agricultural production, enabling access to microcredit, building infrastructure, and modernizing the civil registry.

To date, more than half of the earthquake debris has been removed. Electricity has been restored in 95 percent of previously serviced communities. And two thirds of displaced persons have resettled into new homes.

Canada is on track to disburse more than $1 billion in Haiti (2006-2012) to implement long-term development and to meet immediate humanitarian and reconstruction needs, which includes Canada's $400-million post-earthquake commitment over two years. Canada has fully earmarked both the $400-million commitment and the $220-million Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund, set up to match eligible donations by Canadians to registered Canadian charities. Through CIDA, the Government of Canada is delivering on its commitments in Haiti.

As we mark the second anniversary of this tragic event, we will maintain our commitment to the people of Haiti, who have shown tremendous courage. Looking forward, Canada—in partnership with the new Haitian government, the Haitian people, and others in the international community—will continue to help rebuild Haiti and deliver on the hope for a better future.

The Honourable Beverley J. Oda
Minister of International Cooperation

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Deuxième anniversaire du séisme en Haïti

Le 12 janvier 2012

Le séisme qui a dévasté Haïti le 12 janvier 2010 nous rappelle la fragilité de la vie et comment des années de travail de développement et de progrès peuvent être balayées en un instant.

Deux ans après le séisme, le Canada a montré à la population haïtienne — et au monde entier — que l'on peut compter sur son appui pour soutenir les millions de personnes dont la vie a été dévastée par ce tragique événement. Le Canada a offert une aide humanitaire, contribué à la reconstruction des institutions et des infrastructures, et soutenu le développement durable, tout en respectant les priorités du gouvernement haïtien.

Au cours des deux dernières années, nous avons été témoins de la générosité sans précédent des Canadiens ainsi que de la collaboration diligente de l'ACDI, de ses partenaires sur le terrain et des autres ministères fédéraux. Ensemble, nous n'avons ménagé aucun effort pour aider la population haïtienne à traverser cette crise. Le gouvernement haïtien reconnaît que l'appui du Canada a été d'une importance capitale.

Au cours de mes voyages en Haïti, j'ai pu constater que nos projets progressaient de façon appréciable. Le Canada mène diverses initiatives, comme la formation d'enseignants, la construction d'établissements de soins de santé, l'offre quotidienne de repas nourrissants à des enfants d'âge scolaire, la revitalisation de la production agricole, l'accès au microcrédit, la construction d'infrastructures et la modernisation du registre civil.

Jusqu'à maintenant, plus de la moitié des débris du séisme ont été enlevés. Le courant a été rétabli dans 95 % des collectivités auparavant desservies, et les deux tiers des personnes déplacées se sont réinstallées dans de nouvelles maisons.

Le Canada est en bonne voie de verser plus de 1 milliard de dollars à Haïti (2006-2012) pour en assurer le développement à long terme et répondre aux besoins immédiats en matière d'aide humanitaire et de reconstruction. Ce montant comprend les 400 millions de dollars qu'il s'est engagé à verser sur une période de deux ans après le séisme. Le Canada a pleinement affecté ces 400 millions de dollars, ainsi que les 220 millions de dollars du Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti, et il a entrepris d'égaler les dons versés par les Canadiens à des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés. Grâce à l'ACDI, le gouvernement du Canada respecte l'engagement qu'il a pris à l'égard d'Haïti.

Alors que nous soulignons le deuxième anniversaire de ce tragique événement, nous maintenons notre engagement envers la population haïtienne qui a fait montre d'un courage remarquable. Dans l'avenir, le Canada, de concert avec le nouveau gouvernement haïtien, la population haïtienne et d'autres intervenants de la communauté internationale, continuera de participer à la reconstruction d'Haïti et de tenir ses promesses pour nourrir l'espoir d'un avenir meilleur.

L'honorable Beverley J. Oda
Ministre de la Coopération internationale