Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Landmines

A World-wide Problem

Approximately every hour, somewhere in the world, someone falls victim to a landmine. That person is not usually a combatant: the most common victim is a civilian, man, woman, or child of the developing world. Apart from leaving thousands dead or injured each year, these indiscriminate and inhumane devices create a climate of fear and pose a barrier to development, cutting off access to arable land, water and fuel, hampering development of useful infrastructure, preventing movement of populations such as returning refugees, and further burdening already-strained health-care systems.

On December 3, 1997, Canada became the first nation to sign the Convention on the Prohibition of the Use, Stockpiling, Production and Transfer of Anti-Personnel Mines and on their Destruction, also known as the Ottawa Convention.

Since then, Canada has taken a leadership role in the struggle to create a world free of landmines, abiding not only by its domestic commitments but also helping developing nations to meet the obligations of the Convention.

Working closely with the Department of National Defence (DND), DFATD builds national and local capacity in the areas of victim assistance, mine clearance and mine-risk education.

In order to achieve this, Canada provides assistance to mine-affected countries through bilateral programs in Afghanistan, Cambodia and Sudan, as well as through multilateral and international institutions such as:

and Canadian NGOs and institutions including Collège Montmorency (in French only).

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Mines terrestres

Un problème mondial

Une mine terrestre fait presque chaque heure une autre victime quelque part dans le monde. Plus souvent qu'autrement, il s'agit non pas d'un combattant, mais d'un civil, soit un homme, une femme ou un enfant du monde en développement. En plus de faire des milliers de morts et de blessés chaque année, ces engins inhumains qui frappent sans discrimination créent un climat de peur et font obstacle au développement. Ils coupent l'accès aux terres arables, à l'eau et aux combustibles, compromettent l'aménagement d'infrastructures utiles, empêchent le mouvement de populations, comme les réfugiés qui tentent de rentrer chez eux, et grèvent encore davantage les systèmes de santé déjà mis à rude épreuve.

Le 3 décembre 1997, le Canada était le premier pays signataire de la Convention sur l'interdiction de l'emploi, du stockage, de la production et du transfert des mines antipersonnel et sur leur destruction, communément appelée la Convention d'Ottawa.

Depuis, le Canada a joué un rôle de premier plan dans la lutte pour créer un monde sans mines, non seulement en restant fidèle à ses propres engagements, mais également en aidant les pays en développement à honorer leurs obligations en conformité avec la Convention.

En collaboration avec ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN), le MAECD renforce les capacités nationales et locales dans les domaines de l'aide aux victimes, du déminage et de la sensibilisation aux dangers des mines.

À cette fin, le Canada fournit une aide aux pays aux prises avec ce fléau par l'intermédiaire de programmes bilatéraux en Afghanistan, au Cambodge et au Soudan et d'institutions multilatérales et internationales, notamment :

ainsi que des organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) et des institutions comme le Collège Montmorency.