Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Peru

Table of Contents

La Libertad kindergarten provides services to 70 children. © ACDI-CIDA/Joshua Kraerner

Overview

Peru is a significant partner in the promotion of democracy, stability, security, and human rights throughout Latin America. Its economy has been among the best performing in the region in recent years, mainly due to strong mineral and hydrocarbons prices. Growth in Peru's gross domestic product slowed from 9.4 percent in 2008 to 2.2 percent in 2009. However, sound macroeconomic fundamentals, adequate fiscal reserves, and a healthy anti-crisis plan have positioned Peru relatively well to weather the global economic crisis. Despite aggregate economic growth, income inequality persists. Some 2.2 million individuals (8 percent of a population of 29.5 million) live on less than US$1.25/day. Women, children, and indigenous people living in rural areas and the highlands are the most vulnerable.

Peru has embarked on an ambitious decentralization reform process and is addressing regional disparities by bringing decision-making and delivery of public services closer to rural populations. This will address social conflict and manage and redistribute revenues (in large part derived from the extractive industries) so they directly target the poor and marginalized through increased health and education services.

Although Peru has made significant strides in education in recent years, the quality of education remains among the lowest in Latin America and the Caribbean, as shown by below-average scores for math and reading (UNESCO 2008). Peru's government has made it a priority to improve education standards, with special attention to reducing inequality by targeting rural areas and disadvantaged populations such as indigenous groups, women, and girls.

Thematic Focus

In 2009, as part of Canada's new aid effectiveness agenda, Peru was selected as a country of focus for international development. The overall goal of Canada's program in Peru is to reduce inequality in educational and economic opportunities for excluded populations in Peru.

Peru provides a framework for donor alignment through its National Policy on International Technical Cooperation (NPITC) for 2006-2011 (in Spanish — PDF, 560 KB, 25 pages), which ties together the national, sectoral, and regional policies that make up the country's development plan. Following an assessment of Peru's key development objectives of human development, economic growth and sustainability, and governance, Canada is responding to Peru's priority needs as expressed in its NPITC.

Children and youth

Canada supports efforts to strengthen the quality and efficiency of basic education, including intercultural education, for Peruvian girls and boys in rural areas and among indigenous populations by enhancing the managerial and technical capacity in education at national, regional and local levels.

Key anticipated results
  • Quality intercultural education for girls and boys
  • Provided access for boys and girls in Grades 1 and 2 to clear learning standards

Economic growth

Canada supports efforts to increase the participation of vulnerable populations in economic development through market-driven skills for employment programs and effective corporate social responsibility initiatives for the sustainable well-being of communities. Canada also supports the Government of Peru's decentralization reform by strengthening the capacity of regional governments to plan and deliver equitable and inclusive public services to their citizens and to sustainably develop the extractive and natural resources sector (especially mining).

Key anticipated results
  • Increased participation of small and medium-sized enterprises in the formal economy through training and access to credit
  • Implemented community-level sustainable development projects with extractive companies, regional and local governments, and non-governmental organizations
  • Enhanced the inclusive delivery, improved quality, and increased accessibility of public services at the regional level with a special emphasis on vulnerable populations—children and youth, women, and rural and indigenous populations
  • Improved management and resolution of social conflict in areas affected by extractive industries

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

Peru adheres to the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness (PDF, 317 KB, 23 pages).

Ongoing efforts are required by donors to continue progress on aid effectiveness in partnership with Peru's International Cooperation Agency (APCI) (Spanish only). Canada is an active member of a number of donor committees, including education; governance; decentralization and modernization of the state; and equality between women and men.

Canada played a key role in creating a joint multidonor initiative in support of Peru's Ombudsman (Defensoría del Pueblo) (Spanish), the key Peruvian organization that addresses human rights issues.

Achievements 2011-2012

Children and youth

  • Improved community monitoring systems in early childhood development, vaccination, nutrition, and development of motor and emotional skills in 35 communities
  • Translated 41 primary school texts into the mother tongues (Quechua, Yine, Awajun and Wampis) of 104,000 indigenous boys and girls
  • Matched more than 1,800 rural teachers serving 37,000 students with mentors to strengthen their capacity to deliver quality basic education
  • Supported a 16-percent decrease in chronic malnutrition among children through support to UNICEF's nutrient supplementation program

Economic growth

  • Increased safety for miners through training programs for 150 regional public servants and 2,000 independent miners on the hazards related to small-scale mining
  • Strengthened management practices for the implementation of economic development projects in 20 rural municipalities through technical assistance on effective municipal investment practices for 1,066 public servants
  • Helped increase the efficiency of more than 1,000 municipalities by creating a web platform that provides information intended to guide management and investment decisions
  • Trained some 1,500 officials and civil society representatives on preventing and managing conflicts linked to natural resources

Governance

  • Provided more than 124,000 Peruvians with information on their legal rights
  • Increased the representation of rural / indigenous women in leadership positions in organizations, communities, local councils, and as justices of the peace, through support to the work of CUSO
  • Increased protection for women through improvements to the national strategy on violence against women, court challenges to combat sexual violence, increased public awareness of gender violence, and recognition of the need for women's rights to be part of the general human rights movement in Peru

Achievements 2010-2011

Children and youth

  • Provided updated skills training to 500 teachers benefiting 13,500 students in La Libertad region
  • Helped distribute textbooks to 103,000 indigenous students and 106 local specialists were trained in intercultural and bilingual education and gender equality

Economic growth

  • Assisted the Ministry of Energy and Mining to adopt new maximum-permissible limits for mining effluents; created an online system for processing environmental impact assessments; and helped develop public-participation guidelines for consultation with the private sector and local communities
  • Helped increase the efficiency of municipalities across Peru through new online tools that have been used by 3,929 registered users, including 916 women
  • Helped 10 municipalities better manage resources from mining and oil/gas royalties
  • Continued to support the Ombudsman's Office, which responded to the concerns of more than 39,000 Peruvians during the year

Achievements 2009-2010

Children and youth (2008-2010)

  • Increased reading comprehension of Grade 2 students—from 3.9 percent in 2008 to 16 percent in 2009—and in mathematics learning outcomes—from 5.3 percent to 15.4 percent over the same period—in La Libertad
  • Trained teachers in the Learning Through Play initiative, which focuses on programs for children from disadvantaged and poor communities, and increases parents' knowledge of early childhood development in remote locations. The trained teachers are now training more than one hundred other teachers.

Economic growth

  • Supported Percan in its development of methodology to identify and prioritize mining legacies, which the Ministry of Energy and Mines approved, helping Peru obtain a $330 million World Bank Development Loan

Post-earthquake

  • Supported CARE's Huancavelica Reconstruction Project, which has built 414 houses in response to the 2007 earthquake and has seen its methodology and technology used in the nationally approved Rural Housing Program

Note: If you cannot access the documents that are provided in an alternate format, refer to the Help page.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Pérou

Table des matières

La garderie La Libertad reçoit jusqu'à 70 enfants. © ACDI-CIDA/Joshua Kraerner

Aperçu

Le Pérou est un important partenaire pour promouvoir la démocratie, la stabilité, la sécurité et les droits de la personne en Amérique latine. Son économie est de celles qui se portent le mieux dans la région ces dernières années, surtout en raison des prix élevés des minéraux et des hydrocarbures. Cependant, le taux de croissance du produit intérieur brut a fléchi, passant de 9,4 % en 2008 à 2,2 % en 2009. Malgré cela, le Pérou est assez bien placé pour traverser le ralentissement économique mondial grâce à de solides paramètres macroéconomiques fondamentaux, à des réserves fiscales suffisantes et à un plan bien conçu pour affronter la crise.

Malgré une croissance générale de l'économie, des inégalités de revenu persistent au Pérou. Environ 2,2 millions de Péruviens (soit 8 % de la population totale de 29,5 millions d'habitants) subsistent avec moins de 1,25 $US par jour. Les femmes, les enfants et les Autochtones habitant les campagnes et les hautes terres sont ceux dont la situation est la plus précaire.

Le Pérou a entrepris un vaste programme de décentralisation et tente de réduire les disparités régionales en rapprochant les centres de décisions et de services publics de la population rurale. Ces mesures permettront d'atténuer les conflits sociaux et de gérer les recettes (provenant en grande partie des activités d'extraction) et leur redistribution de manière à accroître les services de santé et d'éducation pour les personnes pauvres et marginalisées.

Le Pérou a beaucoup progressé dans le domaine de l'éducation ces dernières années. Toutefois, la qualité de l'éducation y est parmi les moins bonnes d'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes, comme en témoignent les résultats inférieurs à la moyenne enregistrés en mathématiques et en lecture (UNESCO, 2008). Le gouvernement a comme priorité de hausser les normes d'éducation et surtout de réduire les disparités à cet égard, principalement en milieu rural et chez les groupes défavorisés comme les Autochtones, les femmes et les filles.

Priorités

En 2009, dans le cadre du nouveau plan d'action pour accroître l'efficacité de l'aide du Canada, le Pérou a été désigné comme l'un des pays ciblés en matière de développement international. Le programme du Canada pour le Pérou a pour but de réduire les inégalités dans l'accès à l'éducation et dans les perspectives économiques pour les groupes de population exclus.

Le Pérou a établi un cadre pour coordonner l'aide des donateurs : il s'agit de sa politique nationale sur la coopération technique internationale pour 2006-2011 (en espagnol — PDF, 561 Ko, 25 pages). Cette politique fusionne les mesures nationales, sectorielles et régionales qui constituent le plan de développement du pays. Le Canada a examiné les principaux objectifs de développement du Pérou en matière de développement humain, de croissance économique et durable et de gouvernance démocratique, et il répond aux besoins prioritaires du pays tels qu'ils sont énoncés dans la politique.

Enfants et jeunes

Le Canada appuie les efforts visant surtout à accroître la qualité et l'efficacité de l'éducation de base — dont l'éducation interculturelle — pour les garçons et les filles en milieu rural et pour les Autochtones. Pour y parvenir, on améliorera la capacité de gestion et les techniques d'enseignement à l'échelle nationale, régionale et locale.

Principaux résultats escomptés
  • Une éducation interculturelle de qualité sera offerte aux filles et aux garçons.
  • Les filles et les garçons de première et de deuxième année pourront s'appuyer sur des normes d'apprentissage clairement définies.

Croissance économique

Le Canada appuie les efforts visant à accroître la participation des groupes vulnérables au développement économique. Pour ce faire, il a recours à des programmes d'acquisition de compétences professionnelles axées sur les besoins du marché ainsi qu'à des initiatives efficaces portant sur la responsabilité sociale des entreprises. À l'appui des mesures de décentralisation du gouvernement du Pérou, le Canada aide les administrations régionales à améliorer leur capacité de planifier et d'offrir des services publics équitables et accessibles à tous et d'exploiter de manière durable les ressources naturelles (surtout les gisements miniers).

Principaux résultats escomptés
  • Accroître la participation des petites et moyennes entreprises dans l'économie structurée grâce à une formation et à l'accès au crédit.
  • Mettre en œuvre des projets de développement durable au niveau communautaire en collaboration avec des entreprises de l'industrie extractive, des administrations régionales et locales ainsi que des organisations non gouvernementales.
  • Améliorer la prestation inclusive, la qualité, et l'accessibilité des services publics au niveau régional, l'accent étant surtout mis sur les populations vulnérables : les enfants et les jeunes, les femmes ainsi que les populations rurales et indigènes.
  • Améliorer la gestion et la résolution des conflits sociaux dans les régions touchées par l'industrie extractive.

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le Pérou adhère à la Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide (PDF, 1.55 Mo, 26 pages).

En collaboration avec l'Agence péruvienne de coopération internationale (en espagnol), les donateurs doivent poursuivre leurs efforts pour rendre l'aide plus efficace. Le Canada participe activement à des comités de donateurs qui s'intéressent à l'éducation, à la gouvernance, à la décentralisation, à la modernisation de l'État et à l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes.

Le Canada a joué un rôle important dans la mise en oeuvre d'une initiative regroupant plusieurs donateurs en vue de fournir un appui au Bureau de l'ombudsman du Pérou (Defensoría del Pueblo) (en espagnol), chargé des questions liées aux droits de la personne.

Réalisations 2011-2012

Enfants et jeunes

  • A amélioré les systèmes de suivi communautaire du développement de la petite enfance, de la vaccination, de la nutrition et du développement des habiletés motrices et émotionnelles dans 35 collectivités.
  • A traduit 41 textes pour les écoles primaires dans la langue maternelle de 104 000 filles et garçons autochtones (quechua, yine, awajún et wampis).
  • A jumelé plus de 1 800 enseignants d'écoles rurales chargés de 37 000 élèves avec des mentors, afin d'améliorer leur capacité à offrir une éducation de base de qualité.
  • A contribué à faire baisser de 16 % la malnutrition chronique chez les enfants, grâce au soutien accordé pour le programme de distribution de suppléments nutritifs de l'UNICEF.

Croissance économique

  • A accru la sécurité des mineurs au moyen de programmes de formation sur les dangers associés aux exploitations minières à petite échelle offerts à 150 fonctionnaires régionaux et à 2 000 mineurs indépendants.
  • A renforcé les pratiques de gestion relatives à la mise en œuvre des projets de développement économique dans 20 municipalités rurales, grâce à la prestation d'une assistance technique sur les pratiques efficaces d'investissement à l'échelon municipal dont 1 066 fonctionnaires ont profité.
  • A contribué à accroître l'efficacité de plus de 1 000 municipalités en créant une plateforme Web qui donne accès à une information permettant d'éclairer les décisions en matière de gestion et d'investissement.
  • A formé quelque 1 500 fonctionnaires et représentants de la société civile sur la prévention et la gestion des conflits à propos des ressources naturelles.

Gouvernance

  • A renseigné plus de 124 000 Péruviens sur leurs droits selon la loi.
  • Grâce au soutien du travail de CUSO, a accru la représentation des femmes autochtones ou issues de milieux ruraux dans les postes de direction des organisations, des collectivités et des conseils locaux, de même que parmi les juges de paix.
  • A renforcé la protection dont bénéficient les femmes par l'amélioration de la stratégie nationale sur la violence subie par ces dernières, des recours judiciaires pour contrer la violence sexuelle, la sensibilisation du public à l'égard de la violence sexiste et la reconnaissance de la nécessité d'inclure les droits des femmes dans les préoccupations du mouvement péruvien général en faveur du respect des droits de la personne.

Réalisations 2010-2011

Enfants et jeunes

  • A offert une formation actualisée axée sur les compétences offerte à 500 enseignants, permettant à 13 500 élèves de la région de La Libertad d'en bénéficier.
  • A contribué à la distribution de manuels scolaires à 103 000 élèves autochtones, et formation de 106 spécialistes locaux sur l'éducation interculturelle et bilingue ainsi que sur l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes.

Croissance économique

  • A soutenu le ministère de l'Énergie et des Mines relativement à l'adoption de nouvelles limites maximales autorisées pour les effluents de mines; création d'un système en ligne pour traiter les études d'impact sur l'environnement; et contribution à l'instauration de lignes directrices à l'égard de la participation du secteur privé et des collectivités locales aux consultations.
  • A contribué à l'accroissement de l'efficacité des municipalités dans l'ensemble du Pérou grâce à de nouveaux outils en ligne qui ont été utilisés par 3 929 usagers inscrits, dont 916 femmes.
  • A offert un soutien à 10 municipalités afin qu'elles gèrent mieux les ressources provenant des redevances minières, pétrolières et gazières.
  • A offert un soutien continu au Bureau de l'ombudsman, qui a répondu aux préoccupations de plus de 39 000 Péruviens au cours de l'année.

Réalisations 2009-2010

Enfants et jeunes (2008-2010)

  • À La Libertad, la compréhension en lecture des élèves de la 2e année a grimpé de 3,9 % en 2008 à 16 % en 2009, et les acquis en mathématiques, de 5,3 % à 15,4 %.
  • On a formé des enseignants à la méthode d'apprentissage par le jeu, utilisée principalement dans les programmes pour les enfants des collectivités défavorisées et pauvres. Cette démarche a également permis d'accroître, dans les régions éloignées, les connaissances des parents à l'égard du développement de la petite enfance. Les professeurs qui ont bénéficié de cette formation enseignent maintenant cette méthode à plus de cent autres enseignants.

Croissance économique

  • L'appui à Percan dans l'éboration d'une méthode servant à déterminer les priorités dans le traitement des vestiges miniers, que le ministère de l'Énergie et des Mines du Pérou a approuvée, a permis au pays d'obtenir un prêt au développement de la Banque mondiale de 330 millions de dollars.

Après le séisme

  • La contribution au projet de reconstruction d'Huancavelica de CARE a permis la construction de 414 maisons à la suite du séisme de 2007. Les méthodes et technologies utilisées ont été reprises dans le Programme national de logement rural.

Note : Si vous ne pouvez accéder aux documents fournis dans un format de rechange, veuillez visiter la page d'aide.