Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Pakistan

Table of Contents

A woman at the Rahman Clinic in Skardu. © ACDI-CIDA/Nancy Durrell McKenna

Overview

Pakistan is the world's sixth most populous country, with 176.7 million inhabitants, 21 percent of whom live on less than US$1.25/day. Although the country's economy has seen relatively strong growth since the late 1990s—close to 6 percent per year—annual average per-capita income remains low at US$770/year. Pakistan continues to struggle with high rates of infant, child, and maternal mortality, as well as with growing insecurity, particularly along the country's porous border with Afghanistan. In the last two years, the country has also suffered severe flooding. The Government of Canada has provided humanitarian assistance through it's response to floods in Pakistan.

Sixty-one percent of Pakistan's population is 24 years old or younger. Without adequate quality public education to support this demographic bulge, Pakistan's youth are vulnerable to both unemployment and poverty.

Pakistan ranks 146 out of 187 countries on the United Nations Development Programme's 2012 human development index. With some of the lowest development indicators in South Asia, its national development objectives are in jeopardy. Pervasive gender discrimination prevents women and girls from accessing basic services and from participating fully in society.

The economic crises of recent years—including high international oil and food prices in 2007 and 2008—along with increased domestic instability, have contributed to a growing budget deficit, inflation and a rise in poverty. Because of the specific challenges that women face, they now form a large percentage of the poor.

As well, there is continuing concern that the inadequacy of Pakistan's education system may make radical alternatives seem attractive to the marginalized.

Pakistan's February 2008 election ended eight years of military rule and opened the door to a new era of democracy. It also decreased political support for religious-based parties. Nonetheless, Pakistan remains unable to take full advantage of the current opportunity to promote and build a viable democracy as it lacks effective governing institutions and a strong, secular civil society. Support for these institutions and organizations is seen as being critical to true democracy.

Thematic Focus

In 2009, as part of Canada's new aid effectiveness agenda, Pakistan was selected as a country of focus for international development.

Pakistan's second Poverty Reduction Strategy Paper (PRSP II) (PDF, 2 MB, 375 pages) was endorsed by the World Bank's board of executive directors on March 26, 2009. Priorities are: macroeconomic stability, protecting the poor and the vulnerable, agricultural productivity, integrated energy development, industrial competitiveness, human development, infrastructure, finance for development, and governance. The strategy has benefited from extensive consultations to take in the perspectives of the poor. While far-reaching in its conception, the PRSP outlines a credible framework within which donors can align their support for poverty reduction.

Children and youth

Canada focuses on supporting efforts to improve the ability of teachers' colleges to deliver their programs effectively and to build the capacities of district education managers. Primary and middle school teacher training programs will benefit from instruction on improved teaching practices and the physical repair and upgrade of training facilities. Canada is deepening its involvement in teacher training and professional development, especially continuous professional development.

In this way, Canada contributes to improving the quality of basic education and to strengthening the poor's access to education, giving equal attention to the needs of girls and boys.

Key anticipated results

  • Improve quality and delivery of teacher training programs to male and female teachers with new knowledge, skills, and competencies at the primary, middle, and secondary school levels.

Economic growth

Canada focuses on supporting efforts to strengthen the foundations for long-term economic growth by providing skills for employment training and enhancing employment conditions for women.

A large component of Canada's support is focused on increasing women's economic empowerment. Beyond providing women with skills for employment, Canada's programs also raise awareness and respect for women's economic rights through public campaigns, social mobilization and training.

More specifically, Canada continues to support the implementation of legislation to improve women's working conditions and to protect workers' rights. National and provincial level data collection and monitoring are being strengthened to track women's contribution to the economy for use in planning how to better integrate women into Pakistan's workforce at all levels.

Key anticipated results

  • Improve labour conditions—policies, legislation, and an enabling environment—for women's formal and informal employment.
  • Improve employment conditions and income-earning opportunities for women.

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

Pakistan maintains a high level of ownership and control over the formulation of national development policies and over its relations with the donor community. However, rising extremism within and beyond its borders has compromised the rule of law, especially in its border regions with Afghanistan, and the ability of the fledgling civilian government to exercise sovereignty effectively.

Donor harmonization in Pakistan is improving, partly because of successful coordination around emergency assistance requirements as a result of the 2005 South Asia earthquake, the 2008 national elections, and Pakistan's 2009 offensive in the Swat Valley and elsewhere that saw three million people become internally displaced within Pakistan.

Achievements 2011-2012

Children and youth

  • Trained more than 53,000 teachers in modern and innovative teaching techniques, bringing the cumulative total since 2006 to 320,000.
  • Supported the provision of stipends for close to 400,000 girls to keep them in middle school.
  • Delivered 313,851 metric tonnes of iodized salt to protect 78.5 million people, including 2.34 million newborns, from iodine deficiency.
  • Supported efforts to increase treatment of tuberculosis by using mobile phones and financial incentives, to help a network of private clinics serving poor communities in Karachi find twice as many people with tuberculosis in 2011 compared to the previous year.

Economic growth

  • Supported the training of more than 23,000 aspiring women entrepreneurs in basic financial literacy.
  • Reached more than 20,000 women through projects that increased incomes and financial decision-making power in the dairy, embellished fabric, glass bangle, and seedling sectors.

Achievements 2010-2011

Children and youth

  • Provided textbooks to 98 percent of all public school pupils in Punjab and helped provide stipends to more than 90 percent of girls in Grades 6-10 to encourage school attendance.
  • Helped 2,000 girls enrol in new middle school classes taught by 125 newly qualified female teachers in Balochistan province.
  • Helped train more than 120,000 teachers and education professionals and strengthened the planning systems at the District Education Offices in Multan and Lodhran districts.

Economic growth

  • Reached more than 17,000 women through projects that improved value-added chains in the dairy, embellished fabric, glass bangle, and seedling sectors, helping to increase incomes up to 117 percent, depending on the sector.
  • Helped establish the first-ever women's community organizations in the Federally Administered Tribal Areas.

Achievements 2009-2010

Children and youth

  • Supported the training of more than 120,000 teachers and education professionals, almost half of whom are women, in subjects such as learner-centred teaching, classroom management, and subject content.
  • Trained staff of the national Curriculum Wing in professional skills such as developing curriculum frameworks and evaluating textbooks.
  • Developed and piloted a system of participatory planning in two districts of Punjab, connecting senior district-level decision-makers and community representatives.
  • Developed and piloted an improved model of teaching in two districts of Punjab.

Economic growth

  • Provided some 5,500 women with skills in entrepreneurship and business management in support of their own financial independence, through the Women's Employment Concerns and Working Conditions Project. More than half of these women use these skills to earn a living.
  • Supported more than 85 different initiatives, including providing technical assistance for 130 industrial training centres for women, through the recently completed Program for Advancement of Gender Equality Fund.

Note: Documents provided in an alternate format

If you cannot access the documents that are provided in an alternate format, refer to the Help page.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Pakistan

Table des matières

Une femme dans la clinique Rahman, à Skardu. © ACDI-CIDA/Nancy Durrell McKenna

Aperçu

Le Pakistan occupe le sixième rang des pays les plus peuplés du monde. Il compte plus de 176,7 millions d'habitants, dont 21 % gagnent moins de 1,25 $US par jour. Le revenu annuel moyen par habitant reste bas (770 $US), bien que l'économie ait affiché une croissance relativement élevée depuis la fin des années 1990, soit près de 6 % par année. Le Pakistan lutte toujours contre des taux de mortalité infantile, juvénile et maternelle élevés et contre une insécurité croissante, notamment le long de sa frontière poreuse avec l'Afghanistan. Au cours des deux dernières années, le pays a été éprouvé par de graves inondations. Le gouvernement du Canada a fourni de l'assistance humanitaire en réponse aux inondations au Pakistan.

Soixante et un pour cent des Pakistanais ont moins de 24 ans. Sans une éducation publique de qualité pour soutenir cette explosion démographique, les jeunes sont exposés au chômage et à la pauvreté.

En 2012, le Pakistan occupait le 146e rang sur 187 pays pour ce qui est de l'indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. Ses indicateurs de développement sont parmi les plus bas de l'Asie du Sud et ses objectifs de développement national sont menacés. En raison de l'omniprésence d'une discrimination fondée sur le sexe, les femmes et les filles n'ont pas accès aux services de base et ne peuvent participer pleinement à la vie en société.

À cause de la crise économique des dernières années, des prix élevés du pétrole et des aliments en 2007 et en 2008 et d'une instabilité intérieure accrue, le Pakistan est aux prises avec un déficit budgétaire croissant, avec l'inflation et avec l'augmentation de la pauvreté. En raison des difficultés particulières auxquelles elles sont confrontées, les femmes forment maintenant une grande proportion de la population pauvre.

De plus, on craint toujours que les personnes marginalisées optent pour des solutions de rechange radicales au système d'éducation pakistanais inadéquat.

Les élections tenues au Pakistan en février 2008 ont mis fin à huit ans de gouvernement militaire et ont ouvert la voie à une nouvelle ère de démocratie. Depuis ces élections, l'appui accordé aux partis politiques religieux a également diminué. Néanmoins, le Pakistan demeure incapable de profiter pleinement de la possibilité actuelle de promouvoir et de bâtir une démocratie viable, car il n'est pas doté d'une société civile forte et laïque et manque d'institutions gouvernementales efficaces. Le soutien de tels organismes et institutions est considéré comme indispensable à une démocratie véritable.

Priorités

En 2009, dans le cadre du nouveau plan d'action pour accroître l'efficacité de l'aide du Canada, le Pakistan a été désigné comme l'un des pays ciblés en matière de développement international.

Le 26 mars 2009, le Conseil des administrateurs de la Banque Mondiale a appuyé le deuxième cadre stratégique de lutte contre la pauvreté (PDF, en anglais, 2 Mo, 375 pages) du Pakistan. Ce cadre est axé sur la stabilité macroéconomique, la protection des personnes pauvres et vulnérables, la productivité agricole, le développement intégré de l'énergie, la compétitivité industrielle, le développement humain, les infrastructures, le financement du développement et la gouvernance. De vastes consultations ont été menées pour que la stratégie tienne compte du point de vue des pauvres. Ce document d'envergure expose les grandes lignes d'un cadre crédible grâce auquel les donateurs peuvent harmoniser leur aide afin de réduire la pauvreté.

Enfants et jeunes

Le Canada s'emploie à appuyer les efforts visant le renforcement des capacités des collèges d'enseignants pour qu'ils puissent exécuter leurs programmes avec efficacité, et sur le renforcement des capacités des gestionnaires de l'éducation des districts. Les enseignants des écoles primaires et intermédiaires bénéficieront d'une formation sur les pratiques d'enseignement améliorées et profiteront de la réfection et de la rénovation des établissements de formation. Le Canada renforce son rôle dans la formation et le perfectionnement professionnel des enseignants, notamment pour ce qui est du perfectionnement professionnel continu.

De cette façon, le Canada contribue à améliorer la qualité de l'éducation de base et l'accès des pauvres à l'éducation, tout en tenant compte des besoins des filles autant que de ceux des garçons.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Amélioration de la qualité et de l'exécution des programmes de formation des enseignantes et des enseignants, afin qu'ils puissent mettre en pratique de nouvelles connaissances, compétences et aptitudes dans les écoles primaires, intermédiaires et secondaires.

Croissance économique

Le Canada s'emploie à appuyer les efforts de renforcement des bases de la croissance économique à long terme en améliorant les conditions de travail des femmes et en leur offrant une formation professionnelle.

Une grande partie de l'aide du Canada est axée sur le renforcement de l'autonomie économique des femmes. Le Canada leur permet d'acquérir des compétences pour l'emploi et fait mieux connaître et respecter leurs droits économiques grâce à des campagnes publiques, à la mobilisation sociale et à la formation.

Plus précisément, le Canada continue à promouvoir l'adoption de lois pour améliorer les conditions de travail des femmes et pour défendre les droits des travailleuses. L'amélioration de la collecte et du suivi des données nationales et provinciales sur la contribution économique des femmes permettra de déterminer la meilleure façon d'intégrer ces dernières à la main-d'oeuvre, et ce, à tous les niveaux.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Meilleures conditions de travail des femmes (politiques, lois et environnement favorable) dans les secteurs structuré et non structuré.
  • Les femmes bénéficieront de meilleures conditions de travail et de possibilités d'emploi lucratif.

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le Pakistan prend grandement en charge et contrôle de près l'élaboration de ses politiques de développement nationales et ses relations avec les donateurs. Toutefois, la montée de l'extrémisme à l'intérieur et à l'extérieur de ses frontières a compromis la primauté du droit, surtout dans les régions qui bordent l'Afghanistan, ainsi que la capacité du gouvernement civil naissant d'exercer sa souveraineté de façon efficace.

L'harmonisation de l'aide des donateurs au Pakistan s'améliore, notamment grâce à la coordination réussie des besoins en aide d'urgence à la suite du séisme qui a frappé l'Asie du Sud en 2005, des élections nationales en 2008, et de l'offensive du Pakistan dans la vallée de Swat et ailleurs, en 2009, qui a causé le déplacement de trois millions de personnes à l'intérieur du pays.

Réalisations 2011-2012

Enfants et jeunes

  • A offert à plus de 53 000 enseignants une formation sur des techniques d'enseignement modernes et novatrices, ce qui porte à 320 000 le nombre total d'enseignants formés depuis 2006.
  • A appuyé l'octroi d'allocations à près de 400 000 filles afin qu'elles puissent continuer de fréquenter une école intermédiaire.
  • A acheminé 313 851 tonnes métriques de sel iodé afin de protéger 78,5 millions de personnes, y compris 2,34 millions de nouveau-nés, contre une carence en iode.
  • A soutenu les efforts déployés pour augmenter le traitement de la tuberculose grâce à des cellulaires et à des incitatifs financiers qui ont aidé un réseau de cliniques privées desservant des collectivités pauvres à Karachi à trouver deux fois plus de personnes atteintes de la tuberculose en 2011 par opposition à l'année précédente.

Croissance économique

  • A contribué à offrir à plus de 23 000 futures entrepreneures une éducation financière de base.
  • A touché plus de 20 000 femmes dans le cadre de projets ayant permis d'accroître les revenus et le pouvoir de décision financière dans les secteurs des produits laitiers, des tissus d'ornement, des bracelets de verre et des semis.

Réalisations 2010-2011

Enfants et jeunes

  • A distribué des manuels scolaires à 98 % des élèves fréquentant l'école publique au Punjab, et contribution au versement d'allocations à plus de 90 % des filles de la sixième à la dixième année afin de les encourager à rester sur les bancs d'école.
  • A contribué à l'inscription d'un groupe de 2 000 filles à de nouveaux cours de niveau intermédiaire donnés par 125 nouvelles enseignantes qualifiées dans la province de Balochistan.
  • A contribué à la formation de plus de 120 000 enseignants et professionnels de l'éducation et au renforcement des systèmes de planification des bureaux d'éducation des districts de Multan et de Lodhran.

Croissance économique

  • A sensibilisé plus de 17 000 femmes par l'entremise de projets qui ont permis d'améliorer les chaînes à valeur ajoutée dans les secteurs des produits laitiers, des tissus d'ornement, des bracelets de verre et des semis, ce qui a contribué à une hausse des revenus pouvant atteindre 117 %, selon le secteur.
  • A contribué à la mise sur pied des toutes premières organisations communautaires de femmes dans les zones tribales sous administration fédérale.

Réalisations 2009-2010

Enfants et jeunes

  • Plus de 120 000 enseignants et professionnels de l'éducation, dont près de la moitié sont des femmes, ont reçu une formation entre autres sur l'enseignement centré sur l'apprenant, la gestion de classe et les matières d'enseignement.
  • Le personnel de la section du programme national d'enseignement a bénéficié de perfectionnement professionnel axé notamment sur l'élaboration de cadres de programmes et sur l'évaluation des manuels scolaires.
  • Un système de planification participatif a été élaboré et piloté dans deux districts du Panjab, pour mettre en lien les décideurs du district et les représentants de la collectivité.
  • Un nouveau modèle amélioré d'enseignement a été élaboré et mis à l'essai dans deux districts du Panjab.

Croissance économique

  • Quelque 5 500 femmes ont pu acquérir des compétences en entreprenariat et en gestion d'entreprise, en soutien à leur propre indépendance financière, par l'entremise d'un projet sur les difficultés liées à l'emploi et les conditions de travail des femmes. Plus de la moitié de ces femmes utilisent ces nouvelles compétences pour gagner leur vie.

Note : documents fournis dans un format de rechange

Si vous ne pouvez accéder aux documents fournis dans un format de rechange, veuillez visiter la page d'aide.