Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria

Table of Contents

© The Global Fund/Guy Stubbs

Overview

The Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria was created in 2002 to dramatically increase resources to fight three of the world's most devastating diseases: HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, and malaria. The Global Fund invests in large-scale prevention, treatment, and care programs and supports national health systems and health workers in the world's poorest regions.

The Global Fund  provides grants to fund services that deliver results for the people who need them the most. An estimated 8.7 million lives have been saved so far through Global Fund support.

Since its creation, the Global Fund has disbursed more than $22 billion for grants in 151 countries. It is now the largest funding mechanism for HIV/AIDS, malaria, and tuberculosis. The Global Fund takes a country-led approach, with national governments and local organizations leading program design and implementation. Canada has supported the Global Fund since its inception and has consistently been a strong voice and active member of the Global Fund Board.

In December 2013, Minister Paradis announced a $650 million commitment for the 2014–2016 period, bringing Canada’s total commitment to the Global Fund to more than $2.1 billion since its inception in 2002. This most recent pledge is helping to safeguard the substantial achievements already made through Global Fund grants and is expanding prevention, care, and treatment programs for those most vulnerable to these three diseases.

Together, HIV, tuberculosis, and malaria cause an estimated 3.7 million deaths per year—the vast majority occurring among people who live in poverty—while there are proven and effective interventions for preventing and treating these diseases.

Canada's support of the Global Fund is an essential part of its efforts to reach three of the eight Millennium Development Goals (MDGs):

Thematic Focus

The Global Fund's mandate aligns closely with two of Canada's priority themes for international development: securing the future of children and youth and stimulating sustainable economic growth.

Children and youth

Children and youth are affected significantly by the three diseases. Malaria is one of the leading killers of children worldwide, with 86 percent of all malaria deaths occurring among children younger than age five, equivalent to approximately 570,000 deaths per year. In the area of HIV/AIDS, it is estimated that 260,000 children worldwide became newly infected with HIV in 2012, including many babies born with the virus who will die before age two if they do not receive treatment. The effect of tuberculosis on children is also pronounced, with an estimated 10 million orphan children in 2010, as a result of tuberculosis deaths among parents.

By focusing on these diseases, the Global Fund is a key multilateral partner for Canada in its efforts to secure a future for children and youth. Reducing the spread of these diseases and providing appropriate care and treatment will significantly improve the lives of children and youth.

Economic growth

HIV/AIDS and tuberculosis influence economic growth. Studies prove that HIVAIDS slows economic activity, widens economic inequality, causes severe financial strain on affected households, and places the physical and emotional well-being of orphaned children at risk. Tuberculosis (TB) most often strikes poor adults in their most productive years, and causes economic losses of about 20 to 30 percent per year. Persons living with HIV/AIDS are increasingly vulnerable to TB infection, with TB being the cause of death for one in four HIV-related deaths. By ensuring access to treatment, prevention, and care, Canada's support to the Global Fund  is reducing the economic impact of these diseases, helping developing countries grow their economies, and providing new opportunities for their citizens.

Canada's Strategy for Working with the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria

Canada's international development work with the Global Fund focuses on three strategic objectives:

  1. Improving alignment with recipient country policies and processes. This includes:
    • Aligning the Global Fund's programs with national monitoring and evaluation systems to reduce the burden on recipient countries
    • Ensuring that the voices of the implementing partners are heard so that on-the-ground knowledge is adequately integrated into decision-making

    Canada will also explore alignment and harmonization issues in its country programs to generate lessons learned and best practices.

  2. Improving the efficiency and effectiveness of the Global Fund's governance, policies, and processes. This includes:
    • Encouraging policies and processes to standardize costs for drugs, commodities, and services
    • Strengthening financial management
    • Closely following audits and investigations

    By using resources more effectively, both the Global Fund and the recipient countries will reduce unnecessary costs and free up resources to fund more programs, ultimately increasing impact.

  3. Simplifying granting mechanisms and procedures to save time and money for both the Global Fund and recipient countries.

Achievements

With the support of Canada and other international donors, the Global Fund has saved an estimated 8.7 million lives since its inception in 2002.

Other results achieved since 2002, through the support of Canada and other donors, include:

HIV

  • 6.1 million people are receiving life-saving anti-retroviral treatment for HIV/AIDS
  • 4.2 billion condoms were distributed
  • 300 million HIV counselling and testing sessions were conducted
  • 6.9 million children orphaned by, or vulnerable to, AIDS were provided with basic care and support services
  • 2.4 million HIV-positive pregnant women received antiretroviral drugs to prevent HIV transmission to infants

Tuberculosis

  • 11.2 million new cases of infectious tuberculosis were detected and treated
  • 64,000 multidrug resistant cases of tuberculosis were treated

Malaria

  • 360 million insecticide-treated mosquito nets were distributed to protect families from transmission
  • 340 million malaria drug treatments were provided

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme

Table des matières

© The Global Fund/Guy Stubbs

Aperçu

Le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme a été instauré en 2002 dans le but d'accroître considérablement les ressources pour combattre trois des maladies les plus dévastatrices au monde : le VIH/sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme. Le Fonds mondial investit dans des programmes de prévention, de traitement et de soins à grande échelle, et appuie les systèmes de santé nationaux et les travailleurs de la santé dans les régions les plus pauvres.

Le Fonds mondial accorde des subventions pour assurer des services aux personnes qui en ont le plus besoin. On estime qu'environ 8,7 millions de vies ont été sauvées jusqu'à maintenant grâce à l'appui du Fonds mondial.

Depuis sa création, le Fonds mondial a décaissé plus de 22 milliards de dollars en subventions dans 151 pays. Il est maintenant le plus grand mécanisme de financement en ce qui concerne le VIH/sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme. Le Fonds mondial a recours à des approches par pays, où les gouvernements nationaux et des organisations locales dirigent la conception et la mise en œuvre des programmes.

En décembre 2013, le ministre Paradis a annoncé un engagement de 650 millions de dollars au cours de la période 2014-2016, ce qui porte l’engagement total du Canada à 2,1 milliards de dollars depuis la création du Fonds mondial en 2002. Cet engagement aidera à maintenir les progrès substantiels réalisés grâce au Fonds mondial et permettra d'élargir les programmes de prévention, de traitement et de soins pour les personnes les plus vulnérables à ces trois maladies.

Ensemble, le VIH, la tuberculose et le paludisme sont responsables de quelque 3,7 millions de décès par année, surtout chez les personnes qui vivent dans la pauvreté, bien qu'il existe des interventions efficaces et éprouvées pour prévenir et soigner ces maladies.

L'appui du Canada au Fonds mondial est une part essentielle de ses efforts pour atteindre trois des huit Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD) :

Priorités

Le mandat du Fonds mondial correspond étroitement à deux des thèmes prioritaires du Canada en matière de développement international : assurer l'avenir des enfants et des jeunes et favoriser une croissance économique durable.

Enfants et jeunes

Les enfants et les jeunes sont fortement touchés par les trois maladies. Le paludisme est l’une des premières causes de mortalité chez les enfants partout dans le monde; 86 % des personnes qui meurent des suites du paludisme sont des enfants de moins de cinq ans, ce qui représente environ 570 000 décès par année. Pour ce qui est du VIH/sida, on estime que 260 000 enfants dans le monde entier ont été nouvellement infectés par le VIH en 2012, y compris de nombreux bébés qui sont nés avec le virus et qui mourront avant l'âge de deux ans s'ils ne reçoivent pas un traitement. Par ailleurs, les effets de la tuberculose chez les enfants sont prononcés; quelque 10 millions d'enfants sont devenus orphelins en 2010, leurs parents ayant été emportés par la tuberculose.

Puisqu'il s'occupe surtout de ces maladies qui frappent les enfants et les jeunes, le Fonds mondial est un partenaire multilatéral clé du Canada dans ses efforts d'assurer l'avenir des enfants et des jeunes. La réduction de la propagation de ces maladies et la prestation de soins appropriés améliorera grandement leur sort.

Croissance économique

Le VIH/sida et la tuberculose influencent la croissance économique. Des études démontrent que le VIH/sida freine l'activité économique, augmente les inégalités économiques, cause des pressions financières graves sur les ménages touchés et menace la santé et le bien-être physique et émotionnel des orphelins. La tuberculose frappe le plus souvent les adultes pauvres dans leurs années les plus productives, causant ainsi des pertes économiques d'environ 20 à 30 % par année. Les gens qui vivent avec le VIH deviennent de plus en plus vulnérables à la tuberculose, qui cause un décès sur quatre lié au sida. L'appui du Canada aux efforts du Fonds mondial pour assurer l'accès à la prévention, au traitement et aux soins réduit les répercussions économiques de ces maladies et aide les pays en développement à faire croître leur économie de même qu'à fournir de nouvelles possibilités à leurs citoyens.

Stratégie de collaboration avec le Fonds mondial

Dans le cadre de sa collaboration avec le Fonds mondial, le Canada met l'accent sur les trois objectifs stratégiques suivants :

  1. Améliorer l'harmonisation avec les politiques et les processus des pays bénéficiaires. Ceci comprend :
    • Harmoniser les programmes du Fonds mondial aux systèmes nationaux de suivi et d'évaluation pour réduire le fardeau des pays bénéficiaires.
    • S'assurer de tenir compte des avis des partenaires qui sont chargés de la mise en œuvre afin que les connaissances à propos du terrain soient correctement intégrées aux prises de décisions.

    Le Canada étudiera aussi les questions d'harmonisation dans ses programmes-pays pour en tirer des leçons et cerner les meilleures pratiques.

  2. Améliorer l'efficacité de la gouvernance, des politiques et des processus du Fonds mondial. Ceci comprend  :
    • Encourager la normalisation des prix des médicaments, des produits de base et des services dans les politiques et les processus.
    • Renforcer la gestion financière.
    • Surveiller de près les vérifications et les études.

    En utilisant les ressources de manière plus efficace, le Fonds mondial et les pays bénéficiaires pourront réduire les frais inutiles et libérer des ressources pour financer d'autres programmes, et au final, en augmenter l'impact.

  3. Simplifier les mécanismes et les procédures d'octroi de subventions afin d'économiser du temps et de l'argent à la fois pour le Fonds mondial et pour les pays bénéficiaires.

Réalisations

Grâce au soutien du Canada et d'autres donateurs internationaux, le Fonds mondial a permis de sauver environ 8,7 millions de vies depuis sa création en 2002.

Voici d’autres exemples de résultats obtenus, depuis 2002, grâce au soutien du Canada et des autres donateurs :

VIH

  • 6,1 millions de personnes reçoivent un traitement antirétroviral d’importance vitale
  • 4,2 milliards de préservatifs ont été distribués
  • 300 millions de séances de consultation et de dépistage ont été menées
  • 6,9 millions d'orphelins et d'enfants rendus vulnérables par le sida ont reçu des soins primaires et de l'appui
  • 2,4 millions de femmes enceintes séropositives ont reçu un traitement antirétroviral pour empêcher la transmission du VIH de la mère à l’enfant

Tuberculose

  • 11,2 millions de cas de tuberculose infectieuse ont été dépistés et traités
  • 64 000 cas de tuberculose multirésistante aux médicaments ont été traités

Paludisme

  • 360 millions de moustiquaires imprégnées d'insecticide ont été distribuées pour protéger les familles
  • 340 millions de traitements antipaludiques ont été fournis