Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Government of Canada Emergency Relief Supplies Arrive in Pakistan

August 19, 2010

Ottawa (Ontario)A shipment of Canadian supplies has arrived in Pakistan, bringing 1,000 all-weather tents, 7,060 jerry cans, 1,000 tarps and 3,840 mosquito nets in support of ongoing emergency relief operations by the International Federation of Red Cross and the Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) and the Pakistan Red Crescent Society (PRCS).

"Canada was one of the first countries to respond to this devastating flood, and our relief efforts are helping save the lives of thousands of people," said the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation. "Canadians can be extremely proud of the ongoing work we are doing to help alleviate the suffering created by this humanitarian disaster."

The relief supplies, which arrived in Pakistan on August 17, have been transported to Mardan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, for distribution to flood-ravaged areas. Canada's contribution will help meet priority needs, which include food, water and sanitation, emergency medical care and shelter, essential household goods, and logistics and coordination efforts.

The flooding in Pakistan has worsened considerably since the monsoon rains began. On August 14, the Government of Canada announced that it was increasing its response to up to $33 million to respond to the most urgent needs of people hit hardest by the floods.

The shipment is part of the Government of Canada's response to the humanitarian crisis caused by the worst flooding in at least 80 years in Pakistan, which has left millions in need of emergency assistance.

"Canada continues to monitor the situation closely and our total contribution of $33 million will go a long way to meeting the needs of the affected populations," added Minister Oda.

Canada's contribution builds on more than $69 million in CIDA funding for Pakistan since 2009. This includes bilateral aid programming, as well as $37 million for humanitarian assistance, for initiatives such as food assistance, emergency shelter, water and sanitation facilities, and basic health care for conflict-affected people in Pakistan.

Images of the arrival of the supplies are available.

- 30 -


Information:

Isabelle Bouchard
Director of Communications
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency
Telephone: 819-953-6534
E-mail: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Les fournitures de secours d'urgence du gouvernement du Canada arrivent au Pakistan

Le 19 août 2010

Ottawa (Ontario) — Les fournitures de secours d'urgence expédiées par le gouvernement du Canada sont arrivées au Pakistan. Ce sont 1 000 tentes toutes saisons, 7 060 jerricanes, 1 000 bâches et 3 840 moustiquaires qui viennent soutenir les opérations de secours d'urgence assurées sur place par la Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (IFRC) et la Société de la Croix-Rouge du Pakistan (PRCS).

« Le Canada a été l'un des premiers pays à réagir face à ces inondations tragiques et nos efforts permettent de sauver la vie de milliers de personnes », a déclaré l'Honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale. « Les Canadiens et Canadiennes peuvent être très fiers du travail soutenu que nous accomplissons pour alléger la souffrance entraînée par cette catastrophe pour l'humanité. »

Les fournitures, qui sont arrivées en terre pakistanaise le 17 août, ont été transportées à Mardan, dans la province de Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, où elles seront réacheminées jusqu'aux secteurs inondés. L'aide du Canada contribuera à répondre aux besoins prioritaires, entre autres en ce qui concerne la nourriture, l'approvisionnement en eau, les services d'assainissement, les soins de santé et abris d'urgence, les articles ménagers essentiels, la logistique et la coordination des efforts.

La situation au Pakistan s'est aggravée considérablement depuis le début de la mousson. Le 14 août, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu'il accordait une aide additionnelle jusqu'à concurrence de 33 millions de dollars pour répondre aux besoins les plus urgents des populations touchées par les inondations au Pakistan.

Cette aide s'inscrit dans la réponse du Canada face à la crise humanitaire causée par les pires inondations à survenir au Pakistan depuis 80 ans au moins. Des millions de personnes ont besoin d'aide de toute urgence.

« Le Canada continue de suivre la situation de près. Sa contribution totale, qui s'élève à 33 millions de dollars, aidera grandement à répondre aux besoins des populations touchées », a ajouté la ministre Oda.

L'aide annoncée par le Canada s'ajoute au financement de plus de 69 millions de dollars que l'ACDI accorde au Pakistan depuis 2009. Cette somme comporte la programmation bilatérale, ainsi que 37 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire, entre autres pour des projets liés à l'aide alimentaire, aux abris d'urgence, à l'approvisionnement en eau, aux services d'assainissement et aux soins de santé de base menés en faveur des personnes touchées par les conflits au Pakistan.

Des photos de l'arrivée du matériel sont disponibles.


- 30 -

Renseignements :

Isabelle Bouchard
Directrice des communications
Cabinet de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca