Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Government of Canada Announces Matching Fund for Pakistan Flood Relief

August 22, 2010

Ottawa (Ontario)—The Honourable John Baird, Leader of the Government in the House of Commons, on behalf of the Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, today announced that the Government of Canada has established a Pakistan Flood Relief Fund.

"Canadians have shown that they are always ready to help those in need," said Minister Baird. "In order to support their generosity, our Government will match their contributions dollar for dollar."

For every eligible donation by individual Canadians to Canadian registered charities, Canada will contribute an equivalent amount to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund. The equivalent contribution will support continuing humanitarian assistance, early recovery, and reconstruction in Pakistan through projects undertaken by the many organizations and non-governmental organizations responding to the floods in Pakistan.

The Government of Canada will use the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund to provide assistance through Canadian and international humanitarian and development organizations, according to established channels and procedures. The Pakistan Flood Relief Fund is separate from the funds raised by charities and will be administered separately by the Government of Canada.

"The Government of Canada will contribute an equivalent amount to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund for every eligible donation by individual Canadians to Canadian registered charities between August 2 and September 12," said Minister Oda. "This fund will provide effective and accountable financial support to experienced Canadian and international humanitarian and development partner organizations working on humanitarian assistance, early recovery, and reconstruction efforts in the affected areas."

The flooding situation in Pakistan continues to worsen. The devastation left by the floods is now compounded by health risks, food shortages, the destruction of infrastructure, and the displacement of people.

On Saturday, August 14, the Government of Canada pledged an increase to up to $33 million in its response to floods in Pakistan. The Pakistan Flood Relief Fund announced today represents additional funds. With this commitment, the Government of Canada is encouraging Canadians to continue to do their part.

Detailed information on the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund is available on CIDA's website.


- 30 -

Information:

Michael Bailey
Director of Parliamentary Affairs
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238

Jessica Fletcher
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
E-mail: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca


Backgrounder

Details on Pakistan Flood Relief Fund

Heavy monsoon rains in Pakistan, which began on July 21, 2010, have caused the worst flooding in at least 80 years, killing more than 1,500 individuals and leaving millions of others in need of emergency assistance. In response to this humanitarian crisis, and to enable an even greater response on behalf of Canadians, the Government of Canada has created the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund. For every eligible dollar donated by individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities for assistance to the Pakistan relief efforts, Canada will contribute one dollar to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund. Then CIDA will allocate these funds to experienced Canadian and international humanitarian and development organizations for humanitarian assistance, early recovery, and reconstruction efforts that benefit the people in Pakistan most affected by the floods.

Donating and fundraising criteria

For every eligible donation by individual Canadians to registered Canadian charities responding to the Pakistan floods, the Government of Canada will contribute an equivalent amount to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund. The Government of Canada contribution will support continuing humanitarian assistance, early recovery, and reconstruction efforts in Pakistan through projects undertaken by the many organizations and non-governmental organizations (NGOs) responding to the floods in Pakistan.

The Government of Canada will use the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund to provide assistance through Canadian and international humanitarian and development organizations, as per established channels and procedures.

Please note that the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund is separate from the funds raised by charities and will be administered separately by the Government of Canada. This means that an organization declaring donations raised will not receive equivalent funds from the Government.

The Government of Canada has not placed a dollar limit on the amount of funds it would provide through the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund.
To be counted for this purpose, the donation must comply with all of the conditions below. It must be:
  • Monetary, up to $100,000
  • Made by an individual Canadian
  • Made to a registered Canadian charity that is receiving donations in response to the July-August flooding in Pakistan
  • Specifically earmarked by such organizations for the purpose of responding to the floods
  • Made between August 2 and September 12, 2010
Some registered Canadian charities will be collecting funds for the disaster response and some will not. If you want your donation to be matched by a corresponding contribution from the Government of Canada to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund, you should ensure that:
  • Your donation complies with the conditions set out above
  • The charity in question intends to use the funds for floods relief efforts in Pakistan
  • It will declare to CIDA the amount of eligible funds it has raised
Both tax-receipted and non tax-receipted donations are eligible to be counted toward the size of the Fund. A donation can be made in cash or by cheque, money order, credit card, or wire transfer. Please note that original donations made by cheque must be issued from a personal bank account (that of the Canadian individual) and not a corporate bank account.

More information on the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund is available on CIDA's website.

Eligible donations

Eligible donations will:
  • Include amounts from a fundraising event undertaken to raise money from individuals in response to the July-August floods in Pakistan. This fundraising may be undertaken by schools, faith-based organizations, clubs, social groups, businesses, incorporated entities, or charitable organizations
  • Exclude any donations by corporations, governments, businesses, partnerships, schools, incorporated or non-incorporated entities, and unions from their existing resources that were not raised from individuals specifically in response to the July-August floods in Pakistan
  • Not be double-counted (that is, donations collected by a registered Canadian charity and given to another such organization should be declared only once to CIDA)
  • Exclude donations that were made by corporations, governments, incorporated entities, charitable organizations, unions, or government bodies (provincial, territorial, or municipal) to augment an amount raised in a fundraising activity or event

Additional information for registered Canadian charities

Declaration form

To ensure that donations collected by registered Canadian charities in response to the floods will be taken into account in determining the size of the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund, the charities concerned are required to complete and send in the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund Declaration Form to CIDA, attesting to the amount of eligible donations received. This form will be available on CIDA's website shortly.

This form must be received by CIDA on or before September 27, 2010, in order to be taken into account in determining the size of the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund.

Guidelines for submitting proposals to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund

The Pakistan Flood Relief Fund will fund experienced Canadian and international humanitarian and development organizations with significant in-country capacity to deliver humanitarian, early recovery, and reconstruction assistance in Pakistan.

NGOs interested in applying for funding should first ensure that they meet the minimum institutional eligibility requirements. For projects related to early recovery and reconstruction, CIDA will be assessing needs, priorities, and programming modalities in coming weeks, and will be providing further guidance to prospective NGOs interested in applying for funding on its website.

Registered Canadian charities fundraising for the Pakistan floods response will not have privileged access to the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund. Allocation decisions will be based on CIDA's humanitarian and development assistance guidelines and the ability of Canadian and international humanitarian and development organizations to access the affected populations and deliver timely, effective, and appropriate humanitarian assistance, early recovery, and reconstruction activities.

For further information on the Pakistan Flood Relief Fund, please contact CIDA's Public Inquiries Unit:

Toll free: 1-800-230-6349
(Toll free for the hearing and speech impaired only: 1-800-331-5018)
Email: info@acdi-cida.gc.ca


Note: If you cannot access the documents that are provided in an alternate format, refer to the Help page.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le gouvernement du Canada annonce la création d'un fonds de contrepartie pour venir en aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan

Le 22 août 2010

Ottawa (Ontario) — L'honorable John Baird, leader du gouvernement à la Chambre des communes, a annoncé aujourd'hui, au nom de l'honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, que le gouvernement du Canada a établi un Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan.

« Les Canadiens ont toujours été disposés à venir en aide aux gens dans le besoin, a déclaré le ministre Baird. Afin de soutenir leur générosité, notre gouvernement versera une contribution équivalente à leurs contributions. »

Le Canada versera au Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan un montant équivalent aux dons admissibles faits, à titre de particulier, par les Canadiens à des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés. Cette contribution servira à soutenir l'aide humanitaire continue, le redressement rapide, et la reconstruction par l'intermédiaire de projets entrepris par les nombreuses organisations et ONG à l'œuvre en réponse aux inondations au Pakistan.

Le gouvernement du Canada se servira du Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan pour prêter assistance par l'intermédiaire d'organismes canadiens et internationaux spécialisés dans l'aide humanitaire et le développement, conformément aux procédures et aux mécanismes établis. Le Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan est un fonds distinct de l'argent collecté par les organismes de bienfaisance; il sera administré séparément par le gouvernement du Canada.

« Le gouvernement du Canada versera au Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan un montant équivalent aux contributions faites par des individus canadiens à des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés entre le 2 août et le 12 septembre, a ajouté la ministre Oda. Ce Fonds accordera une aide financière efficace et responsable à des organismes partenaires canadiens et internationaux d'aide humanitaire et de développement chevronnés qui œuvrent à l'aide humanitaire, au redressement et à la reconstruction dans les zones touchées. »

La situation continue de se détériorer au Pakistan par suite des inondations. La dévastation qu'elles ont causée est aggravée par les risques sanitaires, les pénuries alimentaires, la destruction des infrastructures, le déplacement des populations.

Le samedi 14 août, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu'il accordait une aide financière additionnelle jusqu'à concurrence de 33 millions de dollars aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan. La création du Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan, annoncée aujourd'hui, représente un apport de fonds additionnels. Par cet engagement de fonds, le gouvernement du Canada encourage les Canadiens à faire leur part.

On trouvera des renseignements détaillés sur le Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan sur le site Web de l'ACDI.

- 30 -


Renseignements :

Michael Bailey
Directeur des Affaires parlementaires
Bureau de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone: 819-953-6238

Jessica Fletcher
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca


Fiche d'information

Détails concernant le fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan

Au Pakistan, les pluies torrentielles de la mousson, qui ont débuté le 21 juillet dernier, ont causé des inondations comme on n'en avait pas vu depuis au moins 80 ans. Plus de 1 500 personnes ont péri et des millions de sinistrés sont en attente d'une aide d'urgence. En réponse à cette crise humanitaire et pour stimuler les dons faits par les Canadiens, le gouvernement du Canada a créé le Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan. Pour chaque dollar admissible versé par les Canadiens aux organismes caritatifs canadiens enregistrés et destiné aux secours au Pakistan, le gouvernement du Canada versera un dollar au Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan. L'ACDI remettra ces fonds à des organisations canadiennes et internationales ayant de l'expérience dans l'aide humanitaire et le développement. Ces organismes emploieront les fonds pour fournir de l'aide humanitaire aux populations du Pakistan les plus touchées par les inondations et pour entreprendre le redressement rapide et la reconstruction.

Critères concernant les dons et la collecte de fonds

Le gouvernement du Canada versera au Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan un montant équivalent à chaque don admissible fait, à titre de particulier, par les Canadiens à des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés qui viendront en aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan. La contribution du gouvernement du Canada servira à soutenir l'aide humanitaire continue, le redressement rapide et la reconstruction par l'intermédiaire de projets entrepris par les nombreuses organisations et ONG à l'œuvre au Pakistan.

Le gouvernement du Canada se servira du Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan pour prêter assistance par l'intermédiaire d'organismes canadiens et internationaux spécialisés dans l'aide humanitaire et le développement, conformément aux procédures et aux mécanismes établis.

Veuillez noter que le Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan est un fonds distinct de l'argent collecté par les organismes de bienfaisance ; il sera administré séparément par le gouvernement du Canada. Cela signifie qu'une organisation déclarant les dons qu'elle a reçus ne recevra pas une contribution équivalente du gouvernement.

Le gouvernement du Canada n'a pas établi de limite au montant des fonds qu'il versera dans le Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan.
Pour être admissible, le don doit remplir toutes les conditions indiquées ci-après. Ce doit être un don :
  • d'une valeur monétaire maximale de 100 000 dollars;
  • fait par un Canadien à titre de particulier;
  • versé à un organisme de bienfaisance canadien enregistré qui accepte des dons pour l'aide aux victimes des inondations survenues en juillet et août au Pakistan;
  • que l'organisme réserve spécifiquement à l'aide aux victimes des inondations;
  • qui est fait entre le 2 août et le 12 septembre 2010.
Certains organismes de bienfaisance canadiens ne collecteront pas d'argent pour l'aide aux sinistrés du Pakistan. Si vous souhaitez que le gouvernement du Canada verse une contribution équivalente à votre don au Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan, vous devez vous assurer :
  • que votre don soit conforme aux conditions susmentionnées;
  • que l'organisme de bienfaisance en question entende affecter les fonds pour venir en aide aux sinistrés du Pakistan;
  • qu'il déclare à l'ACDI le montant des dons admissibles qu'il aura reçus.
Les dons, qu'ils soient ou non assortis d'un reçu d'impôt, seront comptabilisés dans le Fonds d'aide. Un don peut être fait en argent ou par chèque, mandat, carte de crédit ou virement télégraphique. Les dons initiaux que font les particuliers canadiens par chèque doivent être émis de leur compte bancaire personnel, et non du compte bancaire d'une société.
Pour obtenir davantage d'information sur le Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan, veuillez vous rendre sur le site Web de l'ACDI.

Dons admissibles

Les dons admissibles :
  • incluront les montants d'une levée de fonds entreprise auprès de particuliers suite aux inondations survenues en juillet et en août au Pakistan. Cette levée de fonds peut être organisée par des établissements scolaires, des organisations confessionnelles, des clubs, des groupes sociaux, des commerces, des entités constituées en personne morale ou des organismes de bienfaisance;
  • excluront tout don fait par des personnes morales, des gouvernements, des commerces, des sociétés de personnes, des établissements scolaires, des entités constituées en personne morale ou non et des syndicats, à même leurs ressources existantes, qui n'a pas été collecté auprès de particuliers suite aux inondations survenues en juillet et en août au Pakistan;
  • ne doivent pas être comptés en double (c.-à-d. que les dons recueillis par un organisme de bienfaisance canadien reconnu et donnés à une autre organisation semblable ne doivent être déclarés qu'une fois à l'ACDI);
  • excluront les dons faits par des personnes morales, des gouvernements, des entités constituées en personne morale, des organismes de bienfaisance, des syndicats ou des organismes gouvernementaux (provinciaux, territoriaux ou municipaux) pour augmenter un montant collecté lors d'une activité ou d'une campagne de financement.

Renseignements supplémentaires à l'intention des organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés

Formulaire de déclaration

Pour garantir que les dons collectés suite aux inondations par les organismes de bienfaisance canadiens en question seront pris en considération dans le calcul total du Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan, les organismes caritatifs concernés doivent remplir et envoyer le Formulaire de déclaration du Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan à l'ACDI, confirmant le montant des dons admissibles reçus. Le formulaire sera disponible sur le site de l'ACDI sous peu.

Ce formulaire doit être reçu par l'ACDI au plus tard le 27 septembre 2010 afin que les dons soient pris en considération dans le calcul total du Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan.

Directives pour la présentation de demandes pour le Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan

Le Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan permettra de financer les organisations canadiennes et internationales d'expérience spécialisées dans l'aide humanitaire et le développement qui ont une solide capacité sur place pour apporter l'aide humanitaire, le redressement rapide et la reconstruction nécessaires au Pakistan.

Les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) qui souhaitent présenter une demande pour obtenir du financement doivent, tout d'abord, s'assurer qu'elles respectent les exigences minimales en matière d'admissibilité des établissements. Pour les projets concernant le redressement rapide et la reconstruction, l'ACDI évaluera les besoins, les priorités et les modalités de programmation dans les semaines qui viennent. Elle affichera bientôt des directives sur son site Web à l'intention des ONG qui souhaitent faire une demande de financement.

Les organismes de bienfaisance qui recueillent des fonds pour les sinistrés des inondations au Pakistan n'ont pas un accès privilégié au Fonds d'aide. Les décisions relatives à l'affectation des fonds seront prises conformément aux lignes directrices en matière d'aide humanitaire et de développement de l'ACDI et en fonction de la capacité des organismes canadiens et internationaux spécialisés dans l'aide humanitaire et le développement de pouvoir se rendre sur les lieux auprès de la population, d'apporter une aide humanitaire appropriée, efficace et en temps voulu et de mener à bien des activités de redressement rapide et de reconstruction.

Pour en savoir plus sur le Fonds d'aide aux victimes des inondations au Pakistan, veuillez communiquer avec le Service des renseignements au public de l'ACDI :

Sans frais : 1-800-230-6349
(Numéro sans frais réservé aux malentendants et aux personnes atteintes de troubles de la parole : 1-800-331-5018)
Courriel : info@acdi-cida.gc.ca


Note : Si vous ne pouvez accéder aux documents fournis dans un format de rechange, veuillez visiter la page d'aide.