Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Canada Helps Haitian Municipalities Rebuild

November 17, 2010

Ottawa, Ontario—The Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, today announced Canada's support to assist five severely earthquake-affected municipalities in Haiti to better recover from the impact of the January earthquake. The project will be implemented by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities, and includes participation from the City of Montréal and the Union of Quebec Municipalities.

"The five Haitian municipalities targeted by this initiative are among those that suffered the worst of the devastation wrought by the January earthquake," said Minister Oda. "There is a pressing need to rapidly move ahead with reconstruction and rebuild their institutional capacity to restore essential services to their citizens. I am proud that Canadian municipalities will help Haitian communities to better provide services such as the management of land, local roads and bridges, small ports, water and sanitation infrastructure, marketplaces, and garbage collection, among other functions. These are essential to stimulate the economy and meet the real needs of the population, including those of women and children."

The five Haitian municipalities targeted by this initiative are Port-au-Prince, Léogâne, Gressier, Petit-Goâve and Grand-Goâve. The project was designed in close collaboration with these Haitian municipalities and is based on the needs expressed by them and their constituents.

The Federation of Canadian Municipalities will lead the project overall and focus its own contribution on institutional strengthening in four municipalities, and the City of Montréal will focus on institutional strengthening in Port-au-Prince. The Union of Quebec Municipalities will contribute its expertise in strategic planning, local governance, environmental management, economic development, and gender equality. It will also provide technical assistance to Haiti's municipal associations and the Ministry of the Interior and Local Authorities.

This project is aligned with Haiti's Action Plan for National Recovery and Development. The Government of Canada will provide more than $7.2 million over three years for this project. This funding is part of Canada's $400-million commitment for the recovery and reconstruction of Haiti and is an initiative under the Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund.

- 30 -

Information:

Jessica Fletcher
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-9528

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
Email: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le Canada appuie des municipalités haïtiennes dans leurs efforts de reconstruction

Le 17 novembre 2010

Ottawa (Ontario) — L'honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, a annoncé aujourd'hui que le Canada aidera cinq municipalités durement touchées par le séisme qui a frappé Haïti en janvier dernier. La Fédération canadienne des municipalités mettra en oeuvre le projet, auquel participeront aussi la Ville de Montréal et l'Union des municipalités du Québec.

« Les cinq municipalités haïtiennes visées par ce projet sont parmi celles qui ont subi le plus de dommages à la suite du séisme de janvier. Il faut aller rapidement de l'avant avec les travaux de reconstruction, et renforcer sans tarder les capacités institutionnelles de ces municipalités afin qu'elles puissent fournir de nouveau des services essentiels à la population », a déclaré la ministre Oda. « Je suis fière du fait que des municipalités canadiennes aideront des collectivités haïtiennes à fournir de meilleurs services dans divers domaines, dont la gestion des terres, les routes et les ponts, les petits ports, les installations d'approvisionnement en eau et d'assainissement, les marchés et la collecte des ordures. Ces services sont essentiels pour stimuler l'économie et répondre aux besoins de la population, dont ceux des femmes et des enfants. »

Le projet vise les municipalités de Port-au-Prince, de Léogâne, de Gressier, de Petit-Goâve et de Grand-Goâve. Il a été conçu en étroite collaboration avec ces dernières, en fonction de leurs besoins et de ceux de leurs citoyens.

La Fédération canadienne des municipalités dirigera le projet et concentrera ses efforts sur le renforcement institutionnel dans quatre municipalités. Pour sa part, la Ville de Montréal visera le renforcement institutionnel à Port-au-Prince. L'Union des municipalités du Québec partagera son savoir-faire en matière de planification stratégique, de gouvernance locale, de gestion de l'environnement, de développement économique et d'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes. Elle fournira également une assistance technique à des associations municipales haïtiennes, de même qu'au ministère de l'Intérieur et aux autorités locales.

Le projet est conforme au Plan d'action pour la reconstruction et le développement d'Haïti. Le gouvernement du Canada y consacrera plus de 7,2 millions de dollars sur trois ans. Ce financement est tiré de la contribution de 400 millions de dollars promise par le Canada pour le redressement et la reconstruction d'Haïti, et s'inscrit dans le cadre du Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti.

- 30 -

Renseignements :

Jessica Fletcher
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca