Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Government of Canada Announces Initial Urgent Humanitarian Assistance to Haiti

January 13, 2010

OTTAWA—The Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, today announced that the Government of Canada will immediately provide up to $5 million for urgent humanitarian assistance to Haitians affected by the catastrophic earthquake on January 12th.This will help provide emergency shelter, medical services, food, relief items, water and sanitation services, as well as protection.

"Our government is deeply concerned about the impact of the earthquake and we want to ensure that the immediate basic needs of the Haitian people are met quickly and effectively," said Minister Oda. "In the face of so much devastation, we will continue to work closely with local authorities, international organizations and UN agencies to help bring relief to those affected and provide support as people rebuild their lives and communities."

The Government of Canada will monitor the situation closely, and will work in partnership with the Haitian government and partners on the ground to establish what further response will be appropriate.

Haiti is the largest recipient of Canadian development assistance in the Americas. It is currently the 2nd largest development program of the Canadian International Development Agency.

— 30 —

Information:

Jessica Fletcher
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
E-mail: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le gouvernement du Canada annonce une aide humanitaire initiale d’urgence à Haïti

Le 13 janvier 2010

OTTAWA — La ministre de la Coopération internationale Beverley J. Oda a annoncé aujourd'hui que le gouvernement du Canada fournira immédiatement jusqu'à 5 millions de dollars d'aide humanitaire d'urgence aux Haïtiens affectés par le séisme catastrophique survenu le 12 janvier. Cette aide comprend des abris d'urgence, des services médicaux, de l'eau, des services d'assainissement, des denrées alimentaires, des articles de secours ainsi que des mesures de protection.

« Notre gouvernement se préoccupe sérieusement de l'incidence du tremblement de terre et nous voulons nous assurer de répondre vite et bien aux besoins immédiats des Haïtiens, a déclaré la ministre Oda. Devant pareille dévastation, nous continuerons de travailler en étroite collaboration avec les autorités locales, les organisations internationales et les organismes des Nations Unies pour aider à acheminer les secours aux victimes et soutenir les Haïtiens dans la reconstruction de leurs vies et de leurs collectivités. »

Le gouvernement du Canada suivra la situation de près et travaillera en partenariat avec le gouvernement haïtien et des collaborateurs sur le terrain pour déterminer quelles seront les interventions futures.

Haïti est le principal pays bénéficiaire de l'aide canadienne au développement dans les Amériques. Le programme de soutien à Haïti est présentement le deuxième programme en importance de l'ACDI.

— 30 —

Information :

Jessica Fletcher
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la Ministre de la coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca