Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Government of Canada Increases Humanitarian Assistance for Haitians Affected by the Devastating Earthquake

January 19, 2010

OTTAWA—The Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, announced today that Canada would provide an additional $80 million in humanitarian assistance for Haiti. Today's announcement brings Canada's total response to a potential $135 million and involves contributions to the United Nations (UN) and the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) Appeals, together with contributions to Canadian non-governmental organizations providing services to earthquake-affected Haitians. Priorities for the Canadian funding include the provision of emergency food, water and sanitation, medical treatment, shelter, and protection for the vulnerable.

"Millions of people are struggling to overcome the impacts of the devastating earthquake in Haiti. Through its contributions to vital United Nations partners such as the World Food Programme and UNICEF, the IFRC, and NGO partners, our government will help support Haitians as they rebuild their lives and communities," said Minister Oda. "We are committed to playing a significant role in responding to the impact of this disaster, not only in these early days of rescue and relief operations, but also in addressing longer-term recovery and reconstruction needs."

Canada's $60 million response to the United Nations appeal will fund essential necessities and basic services provided on the ground by UN agencies. This includes $39 million to the World Food Programme and $15 million to UNICEF for interventions in the areas of health, nutrition, protection, and water and sanitation services. The remainder of Canada's contribution to the Appeal will be targeted at essential services provided by the World Health Organization/Pan American Health Organization, the United Nations Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, the International Organization for Migration, the United Nations Population Fund, and the United Nations Department of Safety and Security.

The Government is making a major contribution of $8.5 million in response to the IFRC's appeal for the provision of humanitarian assistance. The IFRC is helping to meet the emergency needs of an estimated 300,000 people affected by the Haiti earthquake.

Canada is also providing an additional $11.5 million in support of further critical disaster relief efforts by Canadian non-governmental organizations. This support will enable organizations such as CARE, Médecins du Monde, Save the Children, Oxfam Quebec, the Canadian Red Cross Society, the Centre for International Studies and Cooperation (CECI), and World Vision to assist more than half a million people affected by the earthquake.

Today's announcement comes in addition to the initial $5 million for immediate humanitarian assistance announced on January 13 and to the Haiti Earthquake Relief Fund that will allow to match, dollar-for-dollar, the generosity of Canadian for a total of up to $50 million.

— 30 —

Information:

Jessica Fletcher
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
E-mail: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Backgrounders

January 19, 2010

Disbursement of Canada's Initial $5 Million for Humanitarian Assistance

On 13 January, Minister Oda announced that the Government of Canada would immediately provide an initial $5 million contribution for emergency shelter, medical services, food, relief items, water and sanitation services, and protection services in response to the earthquake in Haiti. All of this funding has been allocated on urgent priority actions.

First, in response to the International Federation of Red Cross (IFRC)'s Appeal for Haiti, CIDA is providing $2 million to the IFRC for vital emergency assistance to the most affected populations. The funding is being used to provide essential services, temporary shelter, restoration of water and sanitation facilities, and medical care for 10,000 families.

Second, CIDA has provided $1.7 milliontodeliver and transport urgently needed relief supplies to crisis-afflicted Haitians.

Third, CIDA has provided $800,000 for an emergency field hospital in Haiti, as well as 10 Canadian medical professionals. The emergency field hospital is a Norwegian and Canadian Red Cross co-funded facility, which will provide essential surgical and medical care for up to 300 people per day. The hospital includes customized modules such as surgery, first aid and triage, a ward of 70 beds, a community health unit, and a psychosocial support unit. The hospital is currently deployed in Port-au-Prince and is operational.

Finally, CIDA provided $500,000 in additional funds to CANADEM to deploy 10 Canadian humanitarian experts to humanitarian partners, such as the United Nations' Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA), UNICEF, the World Food Programme, and other UN agencies.

Canada's Response to the UN, IFRC and NGOs Appeals for Haiti

The Honourable Beverley Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, announced today an additional $80 million in humanitarian assistance for Haiti in response to various appeals.

United Nations Appeal

The Government of Canada, through the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), is providing $60 million to UN agencies in response to the United Nations Appeal for humanitarian assistance for the people of Haiti. The funding will be disbursed as follows:

  • $39 million to the World Food Programme: $33 million for emergency food aid for an estimated 2 million people and $6 million for essential air transportation and logistical support.
  • $15 million to the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) for humanitarian assistance through interventions in the areas of health, nutrition, protection, and water and sanitation services for women and children.
  • $1.5 million to the World Health Organization/Pan American Health Organization for rapid assessments of health needs, detection of disease, reactivation of primary health care services and psycho-social support, and availability of medical supplies in hospitals.
  • $750,000 to the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs for coordination of the international, and local humanitarian activities on the ground to ensure an efficient and effective response to humanitarian needs.
  • $3 million to the International Organization for Migration for the provision of basic shelter to support the displaced population.
  • $500,000 to the United Nations Population Fund for multi-sectoral services, such as social and health support for women and girls.
  • $250,000 to the United Nations Department of Safety and Security for the provision of coordinated safety and security services for the overall UN and non-governmental organization response to the earthquake in Haiti.

International Federation of the Red Cross (IFRC) Appeal

The Government of Canada, through the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), is providing $8.5 million in response to the IFRC appeal to provide for essential humanitarian assistance. This funding will help meet the emergency needs of an estimated 300,000 people affected by the Haiti earthquake. It will support activities such as the provision of basic water, sanitation and health services. The IFRC will also conduct rapid emergency needs, which will allow it to meet the needs of the most affected population.

Appeals by non-governmental organizations

The Government of Canada, through the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), is providing $11.5 million in response to appeals by the following Canadian non-governmental organizations:

  • $1.5 million to CARE to meet the immediate needs of an estimated 25,000 people through the provision of emergency safe water, hygiene kits, basic shelter and non-food items. CARE will focus its activities on supporting women and children as well as vulnerable households.
  • $1 million to Médecins du Monde to meet the immediate needs of up to 400,000 people in Cité Soleil, which is one area particularly affected by the earthquake. Médecins du Monde will provide critical basic health services for wounded or sick populations and provide psychological support for populations affected by post traumatic stress syndrome.
  • $2.1 million to Save the Children Canada for lifesaving health and protection needs of approximately 10,000 families. This will include the provision of safe drinking water, basic hygiene kits and child friendly spaces.
  • $1 million to Oxfam Quebec for the provision of basic water and sanitation, shelter and non-food items (such as blankets and mosquito nets) to meet the emergency needs of an estimated 8,000 families. These activities will be implemented in the most affected areas of Port-au-Prince as well as in surrounding areas.
  • An additional $2 million to the Canadian Red Cross Society for expanding the activities of the field hospital which the Norwegian and Canadian Red Cross have jointly deployed. This additional funding will provide for increased support in the form of materials such as an ambulance, hospital tents, surgical kits, additional hospital beds and sterilization kits. The mobile hospital will provide safe medical and surgical interventions over the next 6 months, reaching an estimated 18,000 patients.
  • $900,000 to CECI (Centre d'études et de coopération internationale) for the distribution of survival kits that are comprised of non-food items such as kitchen items, hygiene, water purification tablets, temporary shelter etc.to individuals and families displaced by the earthquake.
  • $1.5 million to World Vision to meet the immediate, life-saving needs of earthquake-affected people in the Lower Petionville and Canape Vert neighbourhoods of Port-au-Prince. In coordination with other humanitarian organizations, World Vision will provide emergency shelter, non-food item distribution, water and sanitation, and protection for vulnerable segments of society, particularly children.
  • $1.5 million for the Canadian Red Cross Society for the procurement, delivery and transport of urgently needed relief supplies to crisis-affected Haitians.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le gouvernement du Canada accroît l'aide humanitaire destinée aux Haïtiens touchés par un tremblement de terre dévastateur

Le 19 janvier 2010

OTTAWA — L'honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, a annoncé aujourd'hui que le Canada versera une somme supplémentaire de 80 millions de dollars d'aide humanitaire pour Haïti. L'annonce d'aujourd'hui porte l'aide totale accordée par le Canada à un montant potentiel de 135 millions de dollars. Cette aide comprend des contributions en réponse aux appels lancés par les Nations Unies (ONU) et la Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (IFRC), ainsi que des contributions à des organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes qui offrent des services aux Haïtiens touchés par le tremblement de terre. L'aide financière fournie par le Canada ira en priorité aux activités suivantes : aide alimentaire d'urgence, services d'approvisionnement en eau et d'assainissement, soins médicaux, abris et protection des personnes vulnérables.

« Des millions de personnes se démènent pour faire face aux conséquences du séisme dévastateur en Haïti. Les contributions accordées par notre gouvernement à ses partenaires vitaux des Nations Unies, tels que le Programme alimentaire mondial et l'UNICEF, à l'IFRC et à des ONG aideront les Haïtiens à refaire leur vie et à rebâtir leurs collectivités, a indiqué la ministre Oda. Nous sommes déterminés à jouer un rôle de premier plan en ce qui a trait à l'intervention suivant cette catastrophe, non seulement pendant les opérations de sauvetage et de secours des premiers jours, mais aussi pendant les activités de rétablissement et de reconstruction à long terme. »

Le financement de 60 millions de dollars versé par le Canada en réponse à l'appel lancé par les Nations Unies permettra de payer les articles de première nécessité et les services de base fournis par les organismes de l'ONU sur le terrain. La contribution canadienne comprend 39 millions de dollars au Programme alimentaire mondial et 15 millions de dollars à l'UNICEF pour la réalisation d'interventions dans les domaines de la santé, de la nutrition, de la protection et des services d'approvisionnement en eau et d'assainissement. Le reste de la contribution du Canada ciblera des services essentiels fournis par l'Organisation mondiale de la santé/Organisation panaméricaine de la santé, le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires des Nations Unies, l'Organisation internationale pour les migrations, le Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population et le Département de la sûreté et de la sécurité des Nations Unies.

Le gouvernement versera la somme considérable de 8,5 millions de dollars en réponse à l'appel lancé par l'IFRC pour la prestation d'une aide humanitaire. L'IFRC aide à répondre aux besoins pressants d'environ 300 000 personnes touchées par le tremblement de terre en Haïti.

Le Canada consentira aussi une somme supplémentaire de 11,5 millions de dollars pour appuyer les activités essentielles de secours en cas de catastrophe exécutées par des organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes. Ce financement permettra à des organisations comme CARE, Médecins du Monde, Aide à l'enfance — Canada, Oxfam Québec, la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge, le Centre d'étude et de coopération internationale (CECI) et Vision mondiale d'aider plus d'un demi-million de personnes touchées par le tremblement de terre.

Les fonds annoncés aujourd'hui s'ajoutent au montant initial de cinq millions de dollars d'aide humanitaire immédiate accordée le 13 janvier et au Fonds d'aide aux victimes du séisme en Haïti au titre duquel le gouvernement accordera une somme équivalente aux contributions versées généreusement par les Canadiens, jusqu'à concurrence de 50 millions de dollars.

— 30 —

Renseignements :

Jessica Fletcher
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Fiches d'information

Le 19 janvier 2010

Versement initial par le Canada de 5 millions de dollars en aide humanitaire

Le 13 janvier, la ministre Oda a annoncé que le gouvernement du Canada accorderait immédiatement un montant initial de 5 millions de dollars pour fournir des abris d'urgence, des services médicaux, de la nourriture, des éléments de première nécessité, de l'eau, des services d'assainissement et de la protection aux victimes du séisme qui a frappé Haïti. Tout ce financement a déjà été utilisé pour des mesures prioritaires urgentes.

Tout d'abord, en réponse à l'appel lancé par la Fédération internationale de la Croix-Rouge (FICR) pour Haïti, l'ACDI a versé 2 millions de dollars à la FICR afin qu'elle puisse offrir des secours d'urgence aux populations les plus touchées. Ces fonds permettront de fournir des services essentiels, des abris temporaires, des installations d'approvisionnement en eau et d'assainissement restaurées et des soins médicaux à plus de 10 000 familles.

De plus, l'ACDI a accordé 1,7 million de dollars pour la prestation et l'envoi rapide de fournitures d'urgence aux Haïtiens touchés par la catastrophe.

L'ACDI a par ailleurs donné 800 000 dollars pour l'envoi d'un hôpital de campagne et de 10 professionnels de la santé canadiens en Haïti. L'hôpital mobile est une installation cofinancée par les sociétés canadienne et norvégienne de la Croix-Rouge et qui peut fournir des soins chirurgicaux et médicaux essentiels à un maximum de 300 personnes par jour. Il est muni comme des modules de chirurgie, de premiers soins et de triage, une aile contenant 70 lits, un service de santé communautaire et un service de soutien psychosocial. L'hôpital, pleinement opérationnel, est actuellement déployé à Port-au-Prince.

Enfin, l'ACDI a affecté 500 000 dollars en fonds supplémentaires à CANADEM afin de déployer 10 spécialistes canadiens en aide humanitaire chez des partenaires humanitaires tels que le Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires (BCAH) des Nations Unies, l'UNICEF, le Programme alimentaire mondial et d'autres organismes des Nations Unies.

Réponse du Canada aux appels lancés par l'ONU, l'IFRC et les ONG pour Haïti

L'honorable Beverley Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, a annoncé aujourd'hui une aide humanitaire supplémentaire de 80 millions de dollars pour Haïti en réponse aux divers appels lancés.

Appel lancé par les Nations Unies

Le gouvernement du Canada, par l'entremise de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), versera la somme de 60 millions de dollars aux organismes de l'ONU en réponse à l'appel d'aide humanitaire des Nations Unies pour les populations d'Haïti. Les fonds seront distribués de la façon suivante :

  • 39 millions de dollars au Programme alimentaire mondial : 33 millions de dollars pour l'apport d'une aide alimentaire d'urgence à environ deux millions de personnes et 6 millions de dollars pour la prestation de services de transport aérien et de soutien logistique essentiels.
  • 15 millions de dollars au Fonds des Nations Unies pour l'enfance (UNICEF) pour la prestation d'une aide humanitaire ciblant des interventions dans les domaines de la santé, de la nutrition, de la protection et des services d'approvisionnement en eau et d'assainissement à l'intention des femmes et des enfants.
  • 1,5 million de dollars à l'Organisation mondiale de la santé/Organisation panaméricaine de la santé pour l'évaluation rapide des besoins en matière de santé, le dépistage des maladies, le rétablissement des services de soins de santé primaires et de soutien psychosocial et l'approvisionnement des hôpitaux en fournitures médicales.
  • 750 000 $ au Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires pour la coordination des activités d'aide humanitaire internationales et locales sur le terrain afin de répondre efficacement aux besoins humanitaires.
  • 3 millions de dollars à l'Organisation internationale pour les migrations pour la fourniture d'abris de base aux populations déplacées.
  • 500 000 $ au Fonds des Nations Unies pour la population pour la prestation de services multisectoriels, tels qu'un soutien social et un appui à la santé, à l'intention des femmes et des filles.
  • 250 000 $ au Département de la sûreté et de la sécurité des Nations Unies pour la prestation de services coordonnés de sûreté et de sécurité pour l'ensemble des organismes de l'ONU et des organisations non gouvernementales qui sont intervenus en Haïti après le séisme.

Appel lancé par la Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge (IFRC)

Le gouvernement du Canada, par l'entremise de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), versera la somme de 8,5 millions de dollars en réponse à l'appel lancé par l'IFRC pour la prestation d'une aide humanitaire essentielle. Ce financement aidera à répondre aux besoins pressants d'environ 300 000 personnes touchées par le séisme en Haïti. Il appuiera des activités comme la prestation de services essentiels d'approvisionnement en eau, d'assainissement et de santé. L'IFRC effectuera aussi une évaluation rapide des besoins pressants, ce qui lui permettra de répondre aux besoins des populations les plus éprouvées.

Appels lancés par des organisations non gouvernementales

Le gouvernement du Canada, par l'entremise de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), versera la somme de 11,5 millions de dollars en réponse aux appels lancés par les organisations non gouvernementales canadiennes suivantes :

  • 1,5 million de dollars à CARE pour répondre aux besoins immédiats d'environ 25 000 personnes en leur fournissant un approvisionnement en eau potable d'urgence, des trousses d'articles d'hygiène, des abris de base et des articles non alimentaires. Les activités de CARE mettront l'accent sur le soutien des femmes et des enfants ainsi que des ménages vulnérables.
  • 1 million de dollars à Médecins du Monde pour répondre aux besoins immédiats d'environ 400 000 personnes à Cité Soleil, un quartier durement éprouvé par le tremblement de terre. Médecins du Monde fournira des services de santé de base essentiels aux personnes blessées et malades et un soutien psychologique aux personnes atteintes du syndrome de stress post-traumatique.
  • 2,1 millions de dollars à Aide à l'enfance - Canada pour répondre aux besoins cruciaux en matière de santé et de protection d'environ 10 000 familles. L'organisation fournira notamment de l'eau potable, des trousses d'articles d'hygiène de base et des aires destinées aux enfants.
  • 1 million de dollars à Oxfam Québec pour la prestation de services d'approvisionnement en eau et d'assainissement de base et pour la fourniture d'abris et d'articles non alimentaires, tels que des couvertures et des moustiquaires, pour répondre aux besoins pressants d'environ 8 000 familles. Ces activités seront effectuées dans les quartiers les plus touchés de Port-au-Prince et dans les alentours.
  • Une somme supplémentaire de 2 millions de dollars à la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge pour l'élargissement des activités de l'hôpital de campagne qu'elle a déployé de concert avec la Société norvégienne de la Croix-Rouge. Ce financement additionnel permettra de fournir un soutien accru, notamment une ambulance, des tentes-hôpitaux, des trousses de chirurgie, d'autres lits d'hôpitaux et des trousses de stérilisation. Au cours des six prochains mois, l'hôpital de campagne offrira des services sécuritaires d'intervention médicale et de chirurgie à environ 18 000 patients.
  • 900 000 $ au Centre d'étude et de coopération internationale (CECI) pour la distribution de trousses de survie contenant des articles non alimentaires, tels que des articles de cuisine, des articles d'hygiène, des comprimés pour purifier l'eau et des abris temporaires, à des individus et à des familles déplacés par suite du séisme.
  • 1,5 million de dollars à Vision mondiale pour répondre aux besoins cruciaux et immédiats des personnes touchées par le tremblement de terre dans les quartiers de Pétionville et de Canapé Vert de Port-au-Prince. En coordination avec d'autres organisations humanitaires, Vision mondiale fournira des abris d'urgence, des articles non alimentaires, des services d'approvisionnement en eau et d'assainissement et des services de protection des populations vulnérables de la société, en particulier les enfants.
  • 1,5 million de dollars à la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge pour l'approvisionnement, le transport et la livraison de matériel de secours d'urgence pour les Haïtiens touchés par cette tragédie.