Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Government of Canada Announces Additional Funding for Humanitarian Assistance and Key Projects to Support Haiti Action Plan

April 8, 2010

Port-au-Prince—The Honourable Beverley J. Oda, Minister of International Cooperation, today announced details of Canadian participation in Haitian government's Action Plan, including support for hospital construction, police training and support for various humanitarian assistance programs.

Minister Oda visits a camp in Léogane, administered by Lucy Batchelor from Save the Children. © ACDI-CIDA
Minister Oda visits a camp in Léogane, administered by Lucy Batchelor from Save the Children.

"In witnessing the devastation and the needs of the Haitian people after the earthquake, Canada's commitments and pledge to Haiti will play a big part in meeting its needs. Today's announcements show that Canada is actively supporting the Government of Haiti and its Action Plan," said Minister Oda. "I am proud that Canada is responding to Haiti's immediate needs, as well as helping to build the future of a new Haiti through the construction of a new hospital and police academy."

Minister Oda committed Canada to supporting the construction of a Provincial Hospital in Gonaives as she co-signed a $20 million Memorandum of Understanding with Haitian Prime Minister Jean-Max Bellerive. This hospital is a high priority for the Government of Haiti and Canada's contribution represents an important step in rebuilding the city of Gonaives' main health services, in-line with the Haitian Government's Action Plan.

"Canadians are making a real difference in Haiti and today's announcement is further testimony of Canada's strong commitment to the special relationship between our two countries," said Haitian Prime Minister Bellerive. "The Government of Haiti is grateful for Canada's support and efforts in responding to various social needs and improving the situation of the most vulnerable people of my country."

In addition, Minister Oda announced that Canada is allocating $65.15 million to the Canadian Red Cross Society and the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies, as well as to UN and non-governmental organizations for humanitarian assistance. These funds are part of the $220 million fund that the Government of Canada established to match, dollar-for-dollar, donations by individual Canadians to eligible Canadian charitable organizations.

"Through our matching fund, the Government is matching, dollar for dollar, the amount raised by individual Canadians through fundraising efforts large and small, across the country," Minister Oda said. "The humanitarian assistance will help address transitional shelter and rubble removal, water and sanitation, child protection and emergency education, and logistics and coordination of the international response to improve the quality of life of those most in need."

Minister Oda also announced funding for the National Police Academy in the city of Ganthier, near the capital city of Port-au-Prince. This $18.1 million project will build the infrastructure and provide the equipment needed to train Haitian National Police inspectors and commissioners.

Alongside the construction project, Canada is also committing $16.5 million to the initial training and professional development of Haitian National Police (HNP) senior officers. Inspectors and commissioners will receive management training, enabling the HNP to become more capable of ensuring the safety of the Haitian people.

During her visit to Haiti, Minister Oda met with President René Préval, Prime Minister Bellerive and other members of the Haitian Government, as well as with representatives of the international community. The Canadian Minister of International Cooperation had the opportunity to express Canada's commitment to support the Haitian Government's Action Plan for National Recovery and Development.

"The Government of Canada will be there for Haitians and Canada will actively participate in the reconstruction and development of their country," said Minister Oda. Canada's efforts will be accountable, transparent, and guided by Haiti's priorities, based on the Action Plan Haiti that was presented at the International Conference on Haiti in New York on March 31.

— 30 —

Information:

Jessica Fletcher
Press Secretary
Office of the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
E-mail: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Gaëlle Delaquis
Cultural and Public Affairs Officer
Canadian Embassy in Haïti
Telephone: + 509-3702-9916
E-mail: gaelle.delaquis@international.gc.ca

Backgrounder

Humanitarian Assistance

Minister Oda announced that Canada is allocating $65.15 million to the Canadian Red Cross Society and the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies, as well as to UN and non-governmental organizations for humanitarian assistance. She also announced key construction projects—the reconstruction of the Gonaives hospital and the National Police Academy, including a training program for the Haitian National Police.

The following organizations are being supported:

  • Red Cross Movement
    • $40.92 million to the Canadian Red Cross Society and the International Federation of the Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) to meet the transitional shelter needs of 15,000 vulnerable families in Jacmel, Léogane and Port-au-Prince.
  • United Nations Agencies
    • $6.58 million to the United Nations Development Program (UNDP) to play a critical role in developing a centralized site in Haiti to receive and process massive amounts of debris resulting from the Haiti earthquake, which are estimated to be at 1.4 million tonnes for Léogane, 300,000 tonnes for Jacmel and 700,000 tonnes for Petit Goave.
    • $4 million to the World Food Programme (WFP) for providing essential air transportation and logistical support to deliver humanitarian efforts and implement emergency relief activities in areas otherwise inaccessible.
    • $750,000 to the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) to play a lead role in coordinating for the international and local humanitarian activities to help ensure an efficient and effective response to humanitarian needs;
  • Non-Governmental Organizations
    • $2 million to Oxfam Quebec for the provision of basic water and sanitation services and non-food items (eg: blankets, hygiene kits, soap and mosquito nets) to meet the emergency needs of an estimated 70,000 vulnerable people affected by the earthquake;
    • $4.1 million to Save the Children Canada for child protection and education to meet the needs of an estimated 42,560 vulnerable people;
    • $6.8 million to World Vision to provide non-food items, such as hygiene kits and mosquito nets and to provide semi-temporary shelters to meet the need of more than 55,000 affected people.

Reconstruction and development

Responding to the Haitian Government's strategy priorities of health and security, Minister Oda and Prime Minister Bellerive signed a $20 million Memorandum of Understanding for the construction of the Provincial Hospital in Gonaives. Canada's contribution represents an important step in rebuilding the city of Gonaives' main health services in a safer area in-line with the Haitian Government's Action Plan.

Minister Oda also announced the National Police Academy project in the city of Ganthier, near the capital city of Port-au-Prince. This $18.1 million project will build the infrastructure, provide materials, equipment, tools and training of technical and maintenance personnel at the National Police Academy (NPA), as well as refurbish the access road and by-passes leading to the site, consistent with the Haitian Government's Action Plan.

Alongside the construction project, Canada committed $16.5 million to the initial training and professional development of Haitian National Police senior officers. Inspectors and commissioners will participate in quality-training programs, enabling the HNP to become more reliable and capable of ensuring the safety of the Haitian people.

Canada's commitment

Canada has been a long time supporter of Haiti and the Government of Canada will continue to be there for Haitians, actively participating in the reconstruction and development of their country.

Before Haiti's devastating earthquake, Canada was already committing $555 million from 2006 to 2011 to support development in Haiti, making Canada Haiti's second largest bilateral donor. In the days that followed the earthquake, Canada immediately provided an additional $85 million in emergency humanitarian assistance.

Over and above these amounts, Canada pledged $400 million on March 31, 2010 at the International Donors' Conference in New York for additional humanitarian, reconstruction and development efforts in Haiti over the next two years.

A post-disaster needs assessment, involving the Government of Haiti, was completed by the international community. It identified the immediate needs and the longer term priorities that were discussed at the UN International Donors' Conference. The results of this assessment will be incorporated into the Haitian Government's Action Plan for National Recovery and Development. The Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) will establish its reconstruction priorities based on the Haitian Government's Action Plan.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le gouvernement du Canada accorde des fonds additionnels afin d'accroître l'aide humanitaire et de financer des projets clés en appui au plan d'action d'Haïti

Le 8 avril 2010

Port-au-Prince (Haïti) — L'honorable Beverley J. Oda, ministre de la Coopération internationale, a annoncé aujourd'hui les détails de la participation du Canada au plan d'action du gouvernement haïtien, y compris son soutien à la construction d'un hôpital, à la formation de la police ainsi qu'à divers programmes d'aide humanitaire.

La ministre Oda visite un camp à Léogâne, géré par Lucy Batchelor, de l'organisme Aide à l'enfance © ACDI-CIDA
La ministre Oda visite un camp à Léogâne, géré par Lucy Batchelor, de l'organisme Aide à l'enfance.

« Étant donné la dévastation en Haïti et les besoins de la population à la suite du séisme, les engagements pris par le gouvernement du Canada à l'égard de ce pays contribueront grandement à aider les Haïtiens. L'annonce d'aujourd'hui démontre que le Canada appuie activement le gouvernement haïtien et son plan d'action. Je suis fière que le Canada mette tout en oeuvre pour répondre aux besoins criants des Haïtiens, en plus de participer à la reconstruction d'une nouvelle Haïti grâce à la construction d'un nouvel hôpital et d'une académie de police », a déclaré la ministre Oda.

La ministre Oda a confirmé le soutien du Canada à la construction d'un hôpital provincial aux Gonaïves en cosignant un protocole d'entente totalisant 20 millions de dollars avec le premier ministre haïtien, Jean-Max Bellerive. Cet hôpital est hautement prioritaire pour le gouvernement d'Haïti, et la contribution du Canada constitue une étape importante vers le rétablissement des services de santé essentiels aux Gonaïves, conformément au plan d'action du gouvernement haïtien.

Le premier ministre d'Haïti, M. Jean-Max Bellerive, a ajouté : « Les Canadiens jouent un rôle essentiel en Haïti, et les engagements annoncés aujourd'hui témoignent de l'importance pour le gouvernement canadien de maintenir le lien profond qui unit nos pays. Le gouvernement d'Haïti est reconnaissant envers le Canada pour son soutien et ses efforts en vue de répondre aux divers besoins des Haïtiens et d'améliorer le sort des groupes les plus vulnérables. »

De plus, la ministre Oda a annoncé que le Canada ferait don de 65,15 millions de dollars à la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge, à la Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge ainsi qu'à des organisations non gouvernementales d'aide humanitaire. Cette somme fait partie du fonds de 220 millions de dollars que le gouvernement du Canada a établi pour égaler de façon intégrale les dons des particuliers canadiens à des organismes de bienfaisance canadiens enregistrés.

« Par l'entremise de ce fonds, le gouvernement du Canada verse un dollar pour chaque dollar recueilli auprès des particuliers canadiens dans le cadre de levées de fonds tenues partout au pays, peu importe leurs montants, a déclaré la ministre Oda. L'aide humanitaire servira à construire des logements temporaires, à enlever les décombres, à fournir de l'eau potable et des services d'assainissement, à protéger les enfants et à offrir des services d'urgence en éducation, en plus de faciliter la logistique et la coordination de l'intervention internationale pour améliorer la qualité de vie des personnes les plus vulnérables. »

La ministre Oda a aussi annoncé l'octroi d'un financement pour l'Académie nationale de police, qui sera située dans la ville de Ganthier, à proximité de la capitale Port-au-Prince. Ce projet, dont le budget s'élève à 18,1 millions de dollars, comprend non seulement la mise sur pied des infrastructures, mais aussi la fourniture de l'équipement nécessaire pour former les enquêteurs et les commissaires de la Police nationale d'Haïti.

Parallèlement à ce volet axé sur la construction, le Canada s'est engagé à verser 16,5 millions de dollars pour la formation initiale et le perfectionnement des hauts fonctionnaires de la Police nationale d'Haïti. De leur côté, les enquêteurs et les commissaires bénéficieront d'une formation en gestion, ce qui permettra à la Police nationale d'accroître sa capacité à assurer la sécurité du peuple haïtien.

Durant son séjour en Haïti, la ministre Oda a rencontré le président René Préval, le premier ministre Bellerive et d'autres membres du gouvernement haïtien, ainsi que des représentants de la communauté internationale. Elle a eu l'occasion d'expliquer les engagements du Canada pour appuyer le plan d'action national du gouvernement d'Haïti en matière de redressement et de développement.

« Le gouvernement du Canada fera sa part pour aider les Haïtiens et il participera activement aux efforts de reconstruction et de développement de leur pays », a affirmé la ministre Oda. L'aide consentie par le Canada respectera les principes de responsabilité et de transparence, en plus d'être orientée vers les priorités des Haïtiens telles qu'elles sont énoncées dans le plan d'action national d'Haïti, qui a été présenté à la Conférence internationale des donateurs, à New York, le 31 mars dernier.

— 30 —

Renseignements :

Jessica Fletcher
Attachée de presse
Cabinet de la ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Gaëlle Delaquis
Chargée des Affaires publiques et culturelles
Ambassade du Canada en Haïti
Téléphone : + 509-3702-9916
Courriel : gaelle.delaquis@international.gc.ca

Fiche d'information

Aide humanitaire

La ministre Oda a annoncé que le Canada fournira 65,15 millions de dollars à la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge et à la Fédération internationale des sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, ainsi qu'à des organismes des Nations Unies et à des organisations non gouvernementales pour appuyer des activités d'aide humanitaire. Elle a également annoncé la mise en place d'importants projets, soit la construction de l'hôpital des Gonaïves et de l'Académie nationale de police ainsi que la création d'un programme de formation à l'intention de la Police nationale haïtienne.

Les fonds seront attribués aux organismes suivants :

  • Croix-Rouge
    • Une somme de 40,92 millions de dollars sera versée à la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge et à la Fédération internationale des sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge pour fournir des logements temporaires à 15 000 familles dans le besoin à Jacmel, à Léogâne et à Port-au-Prince.
  • Organismes des Nations Unies
    • Une somme de 6,58 millions de dollars sera accordée au Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement afin qu'il puisse jouer un rôle essentiel dans la mise en place d'un site centralisé à Haïti, destiné à recevoir et à traiter d'énormes quantités de débris laissés par le séisme. On estime que ces débris totalisent 1,4 million de tonnes à Léogâne, 300 000 tonnes à Jacmel et 700 000 tonnes à Petit-Goâve.
    • Un montant de 4 millions de dollars sera versé au Programme alimentaire mondial afin de fournir du transport aérien et du soutien logistique essentiels pour permettre aux secours d'atteindre les endroits autrement inaccessibles et d'y réaliser des activités humanitaires.
    • Un total de 750 000 dollars sera accordé au Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires des Nations Unies afin qu'il puisse jouer un rôle prépondérant dans la coordination des activités de secours internationales et locales en vue d'assurer une réponse efficace aux besoins humanitaires.
  • Organisations non gouvernementales
    • Un total de 2 millions de dollars sera attribué à Oxfam-Québec pour fournir des services d'approvisionnement en eau et d'assainissement de base ainsi que des articles non alimentaires (comme des couvertures, des trousses d'hygiènes, du savon et des moustiquaires) afin de répondre aux besoins urgents d'environ 70 000 personnes vulnérables touchées par le séisme.
    • Une somme de 4,1 millions de dollars sera accordée à Aide à l'enfance-Canada pour offrir des services de protection et d'éducation afin de répondre aux besoins d'environ 42 560 enfants vulnérables.
    • Un total de 6,8 millions de dollars sera versé à Vision mondiale pour fournir des articles non alimentaires (comme des trousses d'hygiène et des moustiquaires) et des abris semi-permanents afin de répondre aux besoins de plus de 55 000 personnes.

Reconstruction et développement

En réponse aux priorités stratégiques établies par le gouvernement haïtien en matière de santé et de sécurité, la ministre Oda et le premier ministre Bellerive ont signé un protocole d'entente de 20 millions de dollars pour la construction d'un hôpital provincial aux Gonaïves. La contribution du Canada représente une étape importante vers le rétablissement des services de santé essentiels aux Gonaïves, le tout dans un emplacement plus sûr, conformément au plan d'action du gouvernement haïtien.

La ministre Oda a également annoncé la construction de l'Académie nationale de police à Ganthier, une ville près de la capitale Port-au-Prince. Ce projet de 18,1 millions de dollars permettra de construire les infrastructures, de fournir le matériel, l'équipement, les outils et la formation nécessaires au personnel technique et au personnel d'entretien, ainsi que de remettre en état la route d'accès et les viaducs qui mènent au site, conformément au plan d'action du gouvernement haïtien.

Parallèlement à ce projet de construction, le Canada s'est engagé à verser 16,5 millions de dollars pour la formation initiale et le perfectionnement des cadres de la Police nationale haïtienne. Les inspecteurs et les commissaires participeront à des programmes de formation de qualité, ce qui permettra à la Police nationale haïtienne d'accroître sa fiabilité et sa capacité à assurer la sécurité de la population haïtienne.

Engagement du Canada

Le Canada offre un soutien de longue date à Haïti. Le gouvernement du Canada continuera à aider le peuple haïtien en participant activement à la reconstruction et au développement de son pays.

Avant le séisme dévastateur qui a frappé Haïti, le Canada avait déjà engagé 555 millions de dollars de 2006 à 2011 pour y soutenir le développement, ce qui en faisait le deuxième plus important donateur d'aide bilatérale dans ce pays. Dans les jours suivant le séisme, le Canada a immédiatement offert 85 millions de dollars additionnels en aide humanitaire d'urgence.

En outre, lors de la Conférence internationale des donateurs tenue à New York le 31 mars dernier, le Canada a promis 400 millions de dollars additionnels pour les activités de secours, de redressement et de reconstruction en Haïti au cours des deux prochaines années.

Une évaluation des besoins après la catastrophe a été réalisée par la communauté internationale, en collaboration le gouvernement haïtien. Elle a permis de cerner les besoins immédiats et les priorités à plus long terme qui ont fait l'objet de discussions à la Conférence internationale des donateurs. Les résultats seront intégrés au plan d'action du gouvernement d'Haïti pour la reconstruction et le développement, sur lequel se fondera l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) pour établir les priorités dans ses projets de reconstruction.