Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Results-based Management Policy Statement 2008


Last update: August 8, 2008

Prepared by Performance Management Division, Strategic Policy and Performance Branch, Canadian International Development Agency
1. Objectives
2. Policy Statement
3. Context
4. Scope
5. Principles
6. Definitions 7. References

1. Objectives

  • to reiterate the importance of basic results-based management (RBM) principles for CIDA;
  • to adjust the context for the RBM Policy Statement in response to evolving national and international environments since 1996; and
  • to better align the RBM vocabulary used at CIDA with Treasury Board Secretariat of Canada and international standards.


2. Policy Statement

RBM is integral to the Agency's management philosophy and practice. CIDA focuses on results to ensure that it employs management practices that optimize value for money and the prudent use of its human and financial resources. CIDA will report on its results in order to inform Parliament and Canadians of its development achievements.


3. Context

CIDA has been managing for development results for more than thirty years. In recent years, this pursuit of development results has been deepened and accelerated by a number of important CIDA, Government of Canada, and international initiatives, most notably:
  • An important consensus on key development results emerged after some forty years of collective experience, leading to the adoption of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).
  • The 2005 Paris Declaration is an international agreement to emphasize partner-country ownership as well as mutual accountability,
  • Linked to the Management Accountability Framework, the Treasury Board Secretariat issued its Management, Resources and Results Structure (MRRS) policy in April 2005 to improve efficiency and effectiveness in the use of Canadian government resources. In 2007 the MRRS introduced mandatory Performance Measurement Frameworks, which are applied at CIDA at the program level.
  • The Government of Canada introduced in 2006 the Federal Accountability Act, which provides specific measures to help strengthen accountability, and increase transparency and oversight in government operations.
  • Budgets 2007 and 2008 highlighted the importance of better delivering and demonstrating development results (including the aid effectiveness agenda).
  • CIDA launched the Transformation for Results Initiative on June 2007 in order to place the Agency among the world's most effective and accountable development agencies. The initiative aims to further strengthen the focus, efficiency, and accountability of Canada's international development assistance efforts.


4. Scope

This RBM policy is the underpinning of sound corporate, program, and project planning, implementation, monitoring, and evaluation, as well as the Agency's reporting to Parliament and to the Canadian public, and internationally on its development achievements.

5. Principles

Accountability
CIDA will provide a work environment in which accountability includes delivering on results, and will ensure that RBM is featured in Performance Management Agreements of its executives. CIDA will foster accountability in its activities through all programming mechanisms, including those involving national and international partners. CIDA recognizes that it contributes to the efforts of others and thus shares accountability with its developing-country partners, and the rest of the global development community, for achieving development results and progress on the MDGs, and meeting other international commitments.

Simplicity
The RBM approach implemented by CIDA will be easy to understand by its staff and stakeholders.

Realistic implementation
CIDA will implement RBM on an iterative basis, refining approaches as it learns from experience, and adapting realistically to circumstances (including necessary capacity building in some developing-country partners). CIDA will support its staff in implementing RBM by providing appropriate guidelines and training, which will be updated regularly on the basis of lessons learned.

Broad Application
CIDA will identify expected results, performance indicators (quantitative and qualitative), baselines and targets for its programs and projects. It will develop cost-effective means to monitor and measure results, and learn from the best practices of the international community.

Partnership
CIDA will identify, in collaboration with its partners, its respective roles and responsibilities. CIDA will share the responsibility for achieving results at the program and project levels with its partners in Canada and in developing countries. CIDA will work with its partners to ensure a common understanding of the principles and vocabulary of RBM.

Transparency
CIDA's implementation of RBM will lead to better reporting on more clearly identified development results to Parliament, the Canadian public, country partners, and the international donor community.


6. Definitions

6.1 What is results-based management?

RBM is a life-cycle approach to management that integrates strategy, people, resources, processes, and measurements to improve decision making, transparency, and accountability. RBM is essential for CIDA's senior management to exercise sound stewardship in compliance with government-wide performance and accountability standards. The approach focuses on achieving outcomes, implementing performance measurement, learning, and adapting, as well as reporting performance. RBM means:
  • defining realistic expected results based on appropriate analyses;
  • clearly identifying program beneficiaries and designing programs to meet their needs;
  • monitoring progress toward results and resources consumed with the use of appropriate indicators;
  • identifying and managing risks while bearing in mind the expected results and necessary resources;
  • increasing knowledge by learning lessons and integrating them into decisions; and
  • reporting on the results achieved and resources involved.


6.2 Common results-based management vocabulary

Results chain (logic model): A depiction of the causal or logical relationships between the inputs, activities, outputs, and outcomes of a a given policy, program, or initiative.

Results Chain Components
Results Chain Components
  • Result: A describable or measurable change in state that is derived from a cause-and-effect relationship. Results are defined as outcomes, which are further qualified as immediate, intermediate, or ultimate.
  • Development results: Reflect the actual changes in the state of human development that are attributable, at least in part, to a CIDA activity.
  • Inputs: The financial, human, material, and information resources used to produce outputs through activities and accomplish outcomes.
  • Activities: Actions taken or work performed through which inputs are mobilized to produce outputs.
  • Outputs: Direct products or services stemming from the activities of an organization, policy, program, or initiative.
  • Immediate outcome (short term): This is a change that is directly attributable to the outputs of an organization, policy, program, or initiative. In terms of time frame and level, these are short-term outcomes, and are usually at the level of an increase in awareness/skills of… or access to… among beneficiaries.
  • Intermediate outcome (medium term): This is a change that is expected to logically occur once one or more immediate outcomes have been achieved. In terms of time frame and level, these are medium-term outcomes, which are usually achieved by the end of a project/program and usually when there is a change of behaviour or practice level among beneficiaries.
  • Ultimate outcome (long term): This is the highest-level change that can be reasonably attributed to a policy, program, or initiative in a causal manner, and is the consequence of one or more intermediate outcomes. An ultimate outcome usually represents the raison d'être of a policy, program, or initiative, and takes the form of a sustainable change of state among beneficiaries.


References

Canada. Canadian International Development Agency. Results-Based Management Policy. Gatineau, 1996.

Canadian International Development Agency. Terms and Conditions for International Development Assistance. Gatineau, 2007.

Canadian International Development Agency. Business Process RoadMap Overview - Version 3.0. Gatineau, 2007.

Federal Accountability Act. Ottawa, 2006.

Treasury Board Secretariat. Management, Resources and Results Structure Policy. Ottawa, April 2005.

Treasury Board Secretariat. Results for Canadians: A Management Framework for the Government of Canada. Ottawa, 2000.

Mayne, J. Best Practices in Results-Based Management: A Review of Experience - A Report for the United Nations Secretariat. New York, 2007.

Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness - Ownership, Harmonisation, Alignment, Results and Mutual Accountability. Paris, 2005.

UN Millennium Development Goals website


Alternate Formats


Note: If you cannot access the alternate format, refer to the Help page.

Results-based Management Policy Statement 2008 (PDF 43 KB, 5 pages)

Versión en español (PDF 45 KB, 6 pages)

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

La gestion axée sur les résultats – Énoncé de principe 2008


Date de dernière révision : 8 août 2008

Préparé par la Direction de la gestion du rendement, Direction générale des politiques stratégiques et du rendement, Agence canadienne de développement international
1. Objectifs
2. Énoncé de principe
3. Contexte
4. Portée
5. Principes
6. Définitions 7. Documents de référence

1. Objectifs

  • réitérer l'importance que l'ACDI accorde aux principes sur la gestion axée sur les résultats (GAR);
  • adapter le contexte de l'énoncé de principe sur la GAR à l'évolution survenue sur les scènes nationale et internationale, depuis 1996;
  • mieux harmoniser le vocabulaire de la GAR employé à l'ACDI avec celui qui est utilisé par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada et avec les normes internationales.


2. Énoncé de principe

La GAR fait partie intégrante des pratiques et de la philosophie de gestion de l'ACDI. Systématiquement, l'Agence veille à utiliser des pratiques de gestion qui optimisent et assurent une utilisation prudente des ressources humaines et financières. L'ACDI communiquera les résultats de ses activités au Parlement et aux Canadiens afin qu'ils soient informés de ses réalisations sur le plan du développement.

3. Contexte

Depuis plus d'une trentaine d'années, l'ACDI gère ses activités de développement en fonction des résultats. Récemment, cette recherche des résultats de développement s'est accentuée et accélérée par suite de la mise en œuvre d'un certain nombre d'importantes initiatives de l'ACDI, du gouvernement du Canada et des organisations internationales, notamment :
  • Un important consensus sur les principaux résultats de développement a émergé après une quarantaine d'années d'expérience collective, menant à l'adoption des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement.
  • La Déclaration de Paris, ratifiée en 2005, est une entente internationale qui met l'accent tant sur la prise en charge par les pays partenaires que sur une responsabilité mutuelle, et qui veut intensifier les efforts d'harmonisation, d'alignement et de gestion de l'aide axée sur les résultats, en les renforçant d'un ensemble d'indicateurs mesurables.
  • Dans le contexte du Cadre de responsabilisation de gestion, le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor a publié sa Politique sur la structure de gestion, des ressources et des résultats (SGRR) en avril 2005. Celle-ci vise à optimiser l'utilisation des ressources du gouvernement canadien. En 2007, la Politique sur la SGRR a rendu obligatoires les cadres de mesure du rendement (CMR) qui sont appliqués à l'ACDI à l'échelle des programmes.
  • Le gouvernement du Canada a adopté en 2006 la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité (LFR) qui prévoit des mesures précises en vue de renforcer la responsabilité et d'accroître la transparence et la supervision des activités gouvernementales.
  • Les budgets 2007 et 2008 ont souligné l'importance d'obtenir de meilleurs résultats de développement (notamment sur le plan de l'efficacité de l'aide internationale).
  • L'ACDI a lancé l'Initiative de transformation axée sur les résultats, en juin 2007, en vue de se positionner parmi les organismes de développement les plus efficaces et les plus responsables à l'échelle internationale. L'initiative vise à accroître la concentration et l'efficacité de l'aide internationale du Canada, ainsi que la responsabilisation à l'égard de cette aide.


4. Portée

La présente politique sert de pilier à la mise en œuvre, au suivi et à l'évaluation efficace de la planification à l'échelle de l'ACDI, des programmes et des projets, ainsi qu'à la présentation de rapports au Parlement, au public canadien et à des organismes internationaux au sujet des réalisations de l'Agence en matière de développement.

5. Principes

Responsabilité
L'ACDI veillera à créer un milieu de travail où l'atteinte des résultats fait partie des responsabilités et s'assurera que la GAR est intégrée aux accords de gestion du rendement de ses cadres dirigeants. Grâce à des mécanismes de programmation, notamment ceux comportant un partenariat national ou international, l'Agence favorisera la responsabilisation à l'égard de toutes ses activités. L'ACDI reconnaît qu'elle contribue aux efforts d'autres organismes et, ainsi, partage, avec ses partenaires des pays en développement et le reste de la communauté mondiale de l'aide au développement, la responsabilité d'atteindre les résultats de développement, de faire des progrès par rapport aux Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement et de respecter d'autres engagements à l'échelle internationale.

Simplicité
La méthode de GAR adoptée à l'ACDI sera facile à comprendre pour le personnel et les intervenants.

Mise en oeuvre réaliste
La mise en œuvre de la GAR à l'ACDI sera continue. Elle sera améliorée au fur et à mesure de l'expérience et adaptée de manière réaliste aux circonstances (sans oublier le renforcement des capacités nécessaires dans certains pays en développement partenaires). L'ACDI appuiera la mise en œuvre de la GAR par ses employés en leur fournissant les lignes directrices et la formation appropriées. Celles-ci seront d'ailleurs mises à jour régulièrement en fonction des leçons retenues.

Application étendue
L'ACDI définira les résultats escomptés, les indicateurs de rendement (quantitatifs et qualitatifs), les données de base et les cibles pour ses programmes et projets. Elle trouvera des moyens rentables de surveiller et de mesurer les résultats et s'inspirera des pratiques exemplaires au sein de la communauté internationale.

Partenariat
En collaboration avec ses partenaires, l'ACDI précisera le rôle et les responsabilités de chacun. En ce qui concerne les résultats des projets et des programmes, elle partagera la responsabilité avec ses partenaires au Canada et dans les pays en développement. Elle travaillera avec eux pour assurer une compréhension commune des principes et du vocabulaire de la gestion axée sur les résultats.

Transparence
L'application de la GAR à l'ACDI permettra de dégager plus clairement les résultats en matière de développement et de mieux les communiquer au Parlement, au public canadien, aux pays partenaires et aux donateurs de la communauté internationale.


6. Définitions

6.1 Qu'est-ce que la gestion axée sur les résultats ?

La GAR est une approche cyclique de gestion qui considère à la fois la stratégie, les personnes, les processus et les mesures, de manière à améliorer la prise de décisions, la transparence et la responsabilité. Elle est essentielle pour permettre à la haute direction de l'ACDI d'exercer une gestion judicieuse, conforme aux normes de rendement et de responsabilisation du gouvernement. Elle mise sur la production des résultats escomptés, la mesure du rendement, l'apprentissage et l'adaptation, de même que la production de rapports sur le rendement. Par GAR, on entend :
  • la définition de résultats escomptés réalistes, fondés sur les analyses appropriées;
  • l'identification précise des bénéficiaires des programmes et l'élaboration de programmes qui répondent à leurs besoins;
  • le suivi, à partir d'indicateurs appropriés, des progrès en fonction des résultats et des ressources utilisées;
  • l'identification et la gestion des risques, tout en tenant compte des résultats escomptés et des ressources requises;
  • l'accroissement des connaissances en tirant des leçons de l'expérience et en les intégrant au processus de décisions;
  • l'établissement de rapports sur les résultats obtenus et les ressources utilisées.

6.2 Terminologie commune de la gestion axée sur les résultats

Chaîne de résultats (modèle logique) : La relation déterminante ou logique entre les intrants, les activités, les extrants et les résultats d'une politique, d'un programme ou d'une initiative donné.

Éléments de la chaîne de résultats

Figure 1 : Éléments de la chaîne des résultats

  • Résultat : Changement descriptible ou mesurable entraîné par une relation de cause à effet. Les résultats peuvent être décrits comme immédiats, intermédiaires ou ultimes.
  • Résultats de développement : Correspondent aux changements réels de l'état du développement humain, attribuables, tout au moins en partie, à une activité de l'ACDI.
  • Intrants : Ressources financières, humaines, matérielles et documentaires utilisées pour produire des extrants, à l'aide d'activités, et atteindre des résultats.
  • Activités : Actions entreprises ou travail mené en vue de produire des extrants. L'activité mobilise des ressources.
  • Extrants : Produits ou services directs provenant des activités d'une organisation, d'une politique, d'un programme ou d'une initiative.
  • Résultat immédiat (court terme) : Changement directement attribuable aux extrants d'une organisation, d'une politique, d'un programme ou d'une initiative. Ce sont des résultats à court terme qui se manifestent généralement par une amélioration de la sensibilisation/connaissance dans un domaine ou de l'accès des bénéficiaires à un service.
  • Résultat intermédiaire (moyen terme) : Changement auquel on s'attend logiquement une fois que l'on a atteint un ou des résultats immédiats. Ce sont des résultats à moyen terme qui sont habituellement atteints à la fin d'un projet ou programme et apparaissent généralement sous la forme d'un changement de comportement ou de pratiques chez les bénéficiaires.
  • Résultat ultime (long terme) : Le plus haut niveau de résultat qui peut être raisonnablement attribué à une organisation, une politique, un programme ou une initiative d'une manière déterminante, et qui est la conséquence d'un ou de plusieurs résultats intermédiaires. Le résultat ultime représente généralement la raison d'être d'une organisation, d'une politique, d'un programme ou d'une initiative et prend la forme d'un changement d'état durable chez les bénéficiaires.



Documents de référence

Canada. Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, Ottawa, 2006.

Canada. Agence canadienne de développement international, La gestion axée sur les résultats à l'ACDI - Énoncé de principe, Gatineau, 1996.

Canada. Agence canadienne de développement international, Modalités et conditions relatives à l'aide internationale au développement, Gatineau, 2007.

Canada. Agence canadienne de développement international, Carte routière des processus opérationnels de l'ACDI - Survol, version 3.0, Gatineau, 2007.

Canada. Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Des résultats pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes : Un cadre de gestion pour le gouvernement du Canada, Ottawa, 2006

Canada. Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, Politique sur la structure de gestion, des ressources et des résultats, Ottawa, avril 2005.

Mayne, John. Best Practices in Results-Based Management: A Review of Experience; rapport présenté au Secrétariat des Nations Unies, New York, 2007

Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide au développement : Appropriation, harmonisation, alignement, résultats et responsabilité mutuelle, Paris, 2005.

Site Web des Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement des Nations Unies


Formats de rechange


Note : Si vous ne pouvez accéder au format de rechange, veuillez visiter la page d'Aide.

La gestion axée sur les résultats - Énoncé de principe 2008 (PDF 48 Ko, 6 pages)

Versión en español (PDF 45 Ko, 6 pages)