Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Key Partners

The Government of Canada supports a number of multilateral development institutions, global initiatives and international humanitarian assistance organizations to fulfill its mandate of helping people living in poverty. Working closely with these partners, CIDA can respond quickly to humanitarian crises and pressing global development challenges. CIDA works to ensure that these institutions and the multilateral system function effectively, deliver strong results and remain viable mechanisms for building consensus on important global issues.

The Government of Canada is committed to making its assistance more effective, more focused and more accountable. This includes multilateral aid. More than one-third of CIDA's official development assistance is channelled through trusted multilateral organizations.

In 2008 and 2009, CIDA undertook a comprehensive review of all its multilateral programming. As a result of this review, CIDA developed institutional strategies for each key multilateral partner for a three-year period. These strategies will ensure that CIDA's funding of multilateral institutions remains focused on the most effective institutions, is aligned with Government of Canada and CIDA priorities, and has clear objectives to make a real difference on the ground.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Partenaires clés

Le gouvernement du Canada soutient plusieurs institutions multilatérales de développement, initiatives mondiales et organisations d'assistance humanitaire internationales afin de remplir son mandat, qui consiste à aider les gens vivant dans la pauvreté. En travaillant en étroite collaboration avec ces partenaires, l'ACDI peut répondre rapidement aux crises humanitaires et à des enjeux de développement pressants à l'échelle planétaire. L'ACDI veille à ce que ces institutions et le système multilatéral fonctionnent efficacement, produisent des résultats solides et demeurent des mécanismes viables permettant d'établir un consensus sur d'importants enjeux mondiaux.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à rendre son soutien, notamment l'aide multilatérale, plus efficace, plus ciblé et plus transparent. Plus du tiers de l'aide publique au développement de l'ACDI est versée par l'entremise d'organisations multilatérales de confiance.

En 2008 et 2009, l'ACDI a effectué un examen exhaustif de l'ensemble de ses programmes multilatéraux. À la suite de cet examen, l'ACDI a élaboré une stratégie institutionnelle triennale pour chacun de ses partenaires multilatéraux clés. Grâce à ces stratégies, le financement accordé par l'ACDI aux institutions multilatérales sera axé sur les institutions les plus efficaces, correspondra aux priorités du gouvernement du Canada et de l'ACDI, et sera assorti d'objectifs clairs afin de changer réellement les choses.