Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Canada is helping Somalis most in need

May 7, 2013

LONDON, U.K. — Somalis and Somali refugees will receive lifesaving humanitarian assistance from Canada, announced Ted Opitz, Member of Parliament for Etobicoke Centre, speaking behalf of the Honourable Julian Fantino, Minister of International Cooperation, while participating in the Conference on Somalia today in London, United Kingdom.

"Canada is lending a helping hand to address the immediate needs of the most vulnerable people in Somalia, as well as of Somali refugees in Kenya," said Mr. Opitz. "Canadian values of compassion and concern for those facing acute malnutrition and displacement are expressed in this urgent assistance."

Humanitarian emergencies caused by conflict affect large numbers of people, cause extensive human suffering, are extremely difficult to resolve, and undermine long-term development efforts. Canada's assistance will help provide food, water, and shelter to those most in need.

"Canada is a compassionate neighbour," said Minister Fantino. "This humanitarian assistance for Somalis represents the best of Canadian values and will help stave off the chronic drought and conflict."

Canada provides humanitarian assistance to the most vulnerable people facing natural disasters and conflicts. Economic Action Plan 2013 reaffirms Canada's commitment to international development investments and humanitarian assistance. The new Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development will maintain the mandate of poverty alleviation and help Canada achieve greater efficiency, accountability, and focus to continue to improve the lives of people in need around the world.

— 30 —

For more information, media should contact:

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Press Secretary to the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238
Email: danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
Email: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Follow us on Twitter: @CIDA_CA


Backgrounder

Canada provides support to Somalis

Canada is providing $3.25 million to assist Somalis facing acute malnutrition and displacement, due to prolonged conflict and widespread food insecurity.

Canada will provide $1 million to the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees to help improve the health, living conditions and protection of internally displaced and other crisis- affected people. These funds will help provide:

  • Emergency shelter to approximately 20,000 internally displaced households;
  • Essential household items to some 90,000 households;
  • Protection and support to internally displaced survivors of sexual and gender based violence; and
  • Support to approximately 100,000 displaced households to voluntarily return to areas of origin.

Canada will also provide $2.25 million to help improve the health and livelihoods of crisis-affected people. These funds will help provide:

  • General food rations and other essential items for up to 120,000 people;
  • Improved access to safe potable water for up to 384,000 people;
  • Medical treatment to some 22,000 children suffering from severe malnutrition; and
  • Agricultural and livestock support for up to 360,000 people.

Humanitarian Situation

An estimated 2.1 million people (or 25 percent of the population) require immediate humanitarian assistance, and a further 1.7 million people remain on the brink of crisis, with all reserves depleted and vulnerable to the slightest shock. Malnutrition rates in many areas of the country remain above the 15 percent emergency threshold. More than 70 percent of the population is without reliable access to safe water. In addition, more than one million Somalis remain internally displaced, and a further one million have sought refuge in neighbouring countries.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le Canada apporte son soutien aux Somaliens dans le besoin

Le 7 mai 2013

LONDRES (Royaume-Uni) — Le Canada offrira une aide humanitaire vitale aux Somaliens et aux réfugiés somaliens, a annoncé le député d'Etobicoke-Centre, Ted Opitz, au nom de l'honorable Julian Fantino, ministre de la Coopération internationale, lors de la Conférence sur la Somalie, qui a eu lieu aujourd'hui à Londres (Royaume-Uni).

« Le Canada tend une main secourable pour répondre aux besoins immédiats des personnes les plus vulnérables en Somalie et des réfugiés somaliens au Kenya, a indiqué M. Opitz. Cette aide d'urgence témoigne des valeurs canadiennes que sont la compassion et la sollicitude à l'égard des personnes aux prises avec la malnutrition aiguë et de celles forcées de se déplacer. »

Les urgences humanitaires attribuables à des conflits touchent de nombreuses personnes, causent de grandes souffrances humaines et sont extrêmement difficiles à résoudre. De plus, elles nuisent aux efforts de développement à long terme. L'aide du Canada permettra d'offrir des vivres, de l'eau et un abri aux personnes les plus démunies.

« Le Canada est un voisin compatissant, a indiqué le ministre Fantino. Cette aide humanitaire destinée aux Somaliens est l'expression des valeurs canadiennes fondamentales. Elle contribuera à atténuer les effets de la sécheresse chronique et du conflit en Somalie. »

Le Canada offre une aide humanitaire aux personnes les plus vulnérables victimes de catastrophes naturelles et de conflits. Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 réitère l'engagement du Canada à l'égard de l'aide humanitaire et des investissements en développement international. Le nouveau ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement conservera le mandat de réduction de la pauvreté et permettra au Canada de rendre l'aide plus efficace, davantage transparente et mieux ciblée afin de continuer d'améliorer le sort des personnes démunies à l'échelle internationale.

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias sont priés de communiquer avec :

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Attaché de presse du ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238
Courriel : danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @ACDI_CA


Fiche d'information

Le Canada apporte son soutien aux Somaliens

Le Canada verse 3,25 millions de dollars pour venir en aide aux Somaliens aux prises avec la malnutrition aiguë et forcés de se déplacer en raison du conflit prolongé et de l'insécurité alimentaire généralisée.

Le Canada consentira un million de dollars au Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés pour aider à améliorer la santé, les conditions de vie et la protection des personnes déplacées à l'intérieur du territoire et des autres personnes touchées par la crise. Ce soutien permettra de fournir ce qui suit :

  • des abris d'urgence à environ 20 000 ménages déplacés à l'intérieur du territoire;
  • des articles ménagers essentiels à quelque 90 000 ménages;
  • une protection et un soutien à des survivants de violence sexiste et sexuelle qui sont déplacés à l'intérieur du territoire;
  • un soutien à près de 100 000 ménages déplacés pour qu'ils retournent volontairement dans leur région d'origine.

Le Canada versera également 2,25 millions de dollars pour aider à améliorer la santé et les moyens de subsistance de personnes touchées par le conflit, en fournissant ce qui suit :

  • des rations alimentaires générales et d'autres articles essentiels à quelque 120 000 victimes de la crise;
  • un meilleur accès à de l'eau potable salubre à environ 384 000 personnes;
  • un traitement médical à au plus 22 000 enfants souffrant de malnutrition aiguë;
  • un soutien agricole et en matière de bétail à au plus 360 000 personnes.

Situation humanitaire

On estime que 2,1 millions de personnes (ou 25 % de la population) ont besoin d'une aide humanitaire immédiate, et que 1,7 million de personnes de plus se trouvent devant l'éventualité d'une crise, ayant très peu de réserves et étant vulnérables au moindre choc. Dans de nombreuses régions du pays, les taux de malnutrition demeurent supérieurs au seuil d'urgence de 15 %. Plus de 70 % de la population n'a pas un accès fiable à une eau salubre. En outre, plus d'un million de Somaliens sont toujours déplacés à l'intérieur du territoire, et un million de plus ont trouvé refuge dans les pays avoisinants.