Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Canada is helping those affected by the earthquake in India

May 28, 2013

Ottawa, Ontario — Canada is a compassionate neighbour and is helping to provide lifesaving assistance to 10,000 people affected by the earthquake that struck the Jammu and Kashmir regions of India, today announced the Honourable Julian Fantino, Minister of International Cooperation.

"After the devastating earthquake, Canada is helping to provide basic relief items to the most vulnerable people in India," said Minister Fantino. "Humanitarian assistance represents the compassion of Canadians and our government remains committed to helping our neighbours in their time of need."

On May 1, 2013, an earthquake with a 5.8 magnitude struck the Jammu and Kashmir regions in India, causing severe damage to thousands of residential houses and government buildings. As of May 5, preliminary government reports confirmed that almost 12,000 houses have been damaged and an equal number of families are in need of temporary shelter.

Canada's support, in response to a request by the International Red Cross and Red Crescent Movement, will help the Indian Red Cross Society to provide much-needed blankets and tents to people affected by the earthquake.

Economic Action Plan 2013 reaffirms Canada's commitment to humanitarian assistance. The new department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development will maintain the mandate of poverty alleviation and help achieve greater efficiency, accountability, and focus to continue to improve the lives of people in need around the world.

— 30 —

For more information, media should contact:

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Press Secretary to the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238
Email: danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
Email: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Follow us on Twitter: @CIDA_CA

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le Canada aide les victimes du tremblement de terre en Inde

Le 28 mai 2013

Ottawa (Ontario) — Le Canada est un voisin compatissant, et il contribue à assurer que les 10 000 personnes touchées par le tremblement de terre, qui s'est produit dans les régions de Jammu-et-Cachemire en Inde, obtiennent une aide humanitaire vitale, a annoncé aujourd'hui l'honorable Julian Fantino, ministre de la Coopération internationale.

« Après le tremblement de terre dévastateur, le Canada envoie des articles de secours de base aux personnes les plus vulnérables en Inde, a déclaré le ministre Fantino. L'aide humanitaire témoigne de la compassion des Canadiens et le gouvernement est toujours prêt à aider ses voisins lorsque le besoin se fait sentir ».

Le 1er mai 2013, un tremblement de terre d'une magnitude de 5,8 a frappé les régions de Jammu-et-Cachemire en Inde, et aurait gravement endommagé des milliers de maisons ainsi que des immeubles gouvernementaux. Le 5 mai, des rapports gouvernementaux préliminaires ont confirmé que près de 12 000 maisons ont subi des dommages et qu'un nombre équivalent de familles ont besoin d'un abri temporaire.

À la suite d'une demande du Mouvement international de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge, le Canada aidera la Croix-Rouge indienne à fournir les couvertures et les tentes dont ont grand besoin les personnes touchées par le séisme.

Le Plan d'action économique 2013 réaffirme l'engagement pris par le Canada à l'égard de l'assistance humanitaire. Le nouveau ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement continuera à assumer le mandat de réduction de la pauvreté et permettra d'apporter une aide plus efficace, plus transparente et mieux ciblée pour continuer à améliorer le sort des populations démunies à l'échelle de la planète.

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias sont priés de communiquer avec :

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Attaché de presse du ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238
Courriel : danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @ACDI_CA