Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Report on Annual Expenditures for Travel, Hospitality and Conferences 2012-2013

As required by the Treasury Board Directive on Travel, Hospitality, Conference and Event Expenditures, this report provides information on the total annual expenditures for each of travel, hospitality and conferences for the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) for the fiscal year ending March 31, 2013.  It also provides the variance explanations from the previous fiscal year in each of these areas.

This information is updated annually and does not contain information withheld under the Access to Information Act or the Privacy Act.

Expenditures on travel, hospitality and conferences incurred by federal departments and agencies are related to supporting departmental mandate and the government's priorities.

Responsibilities

The mandate of CIDA is to manage Canada's aid resources effectively and accountably to achieve meaningful, sustainable development results, and to engage in policy development in Canada and internationally. CIDA's mission is to lead Canada's international effort to help people living in poverty.

CIDA's efforts contribute to ensuring food security, generating sustainable economic growth, giving children and youth a better future, stabilizing fragile countries, and responding to natural disasters.

Travel, hospitality and conference expenditures support the achievement of CIDA's international mandate. 

Total annual expenditures for travel, hospitality and conferences of the Canadian International Development Agency are summarized below:

(in thousands of dollars)
Expenditure Category Expenditures for
the year ending March 31, 2013
Expenditures for
the year ending
March 31, 2012
(restated**)
Variance
Travel - Public Servants 6,697 8,464 (1,767)
Travel - Non-Public Servants 64 67 (3)
International Travel by Ministers and Ministers' Staff* 156 169 (13)
Total Travel 6,917 8,700 (1,783)
Hospitality 230 307 (77)
Conference Fees 38 46 (8)
TOTAL 7,185 9,053 (1,868)

* Includes international travel that is part of a department's program.
**Comparative figure for Travel Non-Public Servants has been corrected to conform to the current year's presentation.

Significant variances compared to the previous fiscal year

Travel:

Compared to the fiscal year 2011-2012, CIDA's travel expenditures by public servants, non-public servants, Minister and Minister's staff have decreased by $1.8 million.  As part of government-wide efforts, CIDA has been working towards reducing costs and more effective management of travel requirements to fulfil its international mandate.

Hospitality and Conference Fees:

Compared to fiscal year 2011-2012, hospitality and conference fees expenditures for CIDA have decreased slightly from the previous year.  Government-wide cost containment measures during the past few years helped to further reduce these costs.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Rapport sur les dépenses annuelles de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences 2012-2013

Comme l'exige la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil, de conférences et d'événements du Conseil du Trésor, le présent rapport fournit de l'information sur les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars  2013.  Il donne également une explication des écarts par rapport à l'exercice précédent dans chacune de ces catégories.

Cette information est mise à jour annuellement et ne contient pas les renseignements non divulgués en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ou de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Les dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences engagées par les ministères et agences fédéraux appuient le mandat ministériel et les priorités gouvernementales.

Responsabilités

Le mandat de l'ACDI est de gérer les ressources que le Canada consacre au développement international de façon efficace et responsable en vue d'obtenir des résultats durables et significatifs, ainsi que de participer à l'élaboration de politiques de développement au Canada et sur la scène internationale. Sa mission est de diriger l'effort international du Canada pour aider les populations qui vivent dans la pauvreté.

Les efforts déployés par l'ACDI contribuent à accroître la sécurité alimentaire, à favoriser une croissance économique durable, à assurer un meilleur avenir aux enfants et aux jeunes, à stabiliser les États fragiles et à intervenir en cas de catastrophe naturelle.

Des dépenses de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences sont encourues par l'ACDI afin de supporter l'atteinte de son mandat international.

Les dépenses annuelles totales de voyages, d'accueil et de conférences de l'Agence canadienne de développement international sont résumées ci-dessous :

(en milliers de dollars)
Catégorie de dépense Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013  Dépenses pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2012
(redressé**)
Écart
Voyages - Fonctionnaires 6 697 8 464 (1 767)
Voyages - Non-Fonctionnaires 64 67 (3)
Voyages internationaux du ministre et du personnel du ministre* 156 169 (13)
Total des dépenses de voyages 6 917 8 700 (1 783)
Accueil 230 307 (77)
Frais de participation aux conférences 38 46 (8)
Total 7 185 9 053 (1 868)

* Comprend les voyages internationaux dans le cadre du programme d'un ministère
** Chiffre comparatif pour Voyages – Non-Fonctionnaires a été corrigé pour se conformer à la présentation de l'exercice courant

Écarts importants par rapport à l'exercice précédent

Voyages

Comparées à l'exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses de voyages des fonctionnaires, des non-fonctionnaires, du ministre et du personnel du ministre de l'ACDI ont diminué de 1,8 millions de dollars. Dans le cadre des efforts faits à l'échelle de l'administration fédérale, l'ACDI a travaillé à être plus efficace dans la gestion de ses frais de voyage pour réduire les coûts tout en s'acquittant de son mandat international.

Accueil et frais de participation aux conférences

Comparées à l'exercice 2011-2012, les dépenses d'accueil et de frais de participation aux conférences de l'ACDI ont légèrement diminué par rapport à l'année précédente.  Les mesures de limitation des coûts à l'échelle de l'administration fédérale en cours depuis quelques années ont aussi contribué à réduire ces dépenses.