Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Harper Government helps Canadian youth gain international development experience

March 13, 2013

Ottawa—Young Canadians will gain international experience in developing countries, with support from the Harper Government. Today, the Honourable Julian Fantino, Minister of International Cooperation, announced the 24 successful organizations selected to deliver internships for Canadian youth.

"Our Government is proud to provide young Canadians with the opportunity to participate in international assistance projects in developing countries," said Minister Fantino. "Canadian youth foster a deep interest and concern for global issues, and this initiative enables them to gain hands-on work experience in Canada's international development, as well as to help them acquire important skills and knowledge for future employment opportunities."

Through the International Youth Internship Program, selected organizations will work with organizations in developing countries to provide youth (age 19-30) with international development experience, skills, and knowledge to help better prepare them for future employment, while advancing Canadian development objectives.

Since 2009, the International Youth Internship Program has enabled more than 1,600 interns to complete successful internships in developing countries.

— 30 —

For more information, media should contact:

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Press Secretary to the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238
Email: danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
Email: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Follow us on Twitter: @CIDA_CA


Backgrounder

Canada's Youth Employment Strategy (YES) provides Canadian youth, aged 19 to 30, with tools and experience they need to launch successful careers. CIDA supports this program through its  International Youth Internship Program (IYIP). IYIP is managed as part of CIDA's Global Citizens Program, which aims to engage Canadians in international development.

The objectives are to:

  • provide eligible youth with international experience, skills and knowledge that will prepare them for future employment;
  • increase employment opportunities by promoting awareness among Canadian organizations of the advantages of integrating young Canadian professionals into their structures and programs;
  • provide opportunities for Canadians to increase their awareness of, deepen their understanding of, and engage in international development; and
  • contribute to the advancement of CIDA's mandate to reduce poverty and increase sustainable development.

This year, interns will be working in various countries, including: Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Belize, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cameroon, Chile, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Jamaica, Kenya, Laos, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mexico, Mozambique, Nepal, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Tanzania, Thailand, Uganda, Ukraine, Vietnam, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Following a call for proposals in 2011, 24 organizations (see list below) were selected to work with institutions and organizations in developing countries, to provide young Canadians with internship opportunities.

African Medical and Research Foundation (AMREF) Canada
The Africa-Canada Health Internship Program takes place in partnership with the African Medical and Research Foundation (AMREF) local offices. The main objective of the project is to support sustainable international health development projects in Africa, while providing Canadian graduates with valuable international development work experience, promoting personal and professional skill development.

Aide internationale à l'enfance (L'AMIE) (in French)
The objective of this project is to assist in the development of sustainable educational activities in cooperation with developing countries. This project, which focuses on basic education approaches and methods aimed at girls and boys, contributes to a key part of CIDA's mandate of reducing poverty. It also contributes to growing local administrative capacity, notably in the areas of project evaluation and governance.

Atlantic Council for International Cooperation (ACIC)
The interns will work in developing countries toward securing the future of children and youth, stimulating sustainable economic growth, and increasing food security. Through this experience, interns develop skills and experience that will assist them in securing employment as well as enabling them to make connections and develop relationships with many Canadian development practitioners.

Lawyers without Borders (LWBC)
The project aims to enable young Canadians to undertake six-month internships with partner organizations across the Americas, in the field of human rights. The project increases access to legal mechanisms for vulnerable populations and is designed to help the interns to acquire international experience as well as skills and knowledge to prepare them for employment in a global, knowledge-based economy.

Canadian Urban Institute (CUI)
Interns help in developing policy solutions linking disaster risk reduction to food security efforts with community livelihood and economic development in various municipalities. Interns will contribute to stimulating regional economic development through a national training program for civil servants, community leaders and entrepreneurs.

Centre de solidarité internationale de Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean
(Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean Centre for International Solidarity)
(in French)
This project aims to assist communities, especially mothers, children,  and youth through women's groups and agricultural producers in the following areas: growing community gardens, improving nutrition, keeping children in school, providing care and assistance to orphans and vulnerable children, and raising awareness about health issues (HIV/AIDS, forced marriages, early pregnancies).

Coady International Institute at St. Francis Xavier University
This project helps to support local partners in the strengthening and enhancement of markets and livelihoods, youth citizenship and entrepreneurship, sustainable agro-ecological farming or asset-based development. Local organizations will benefit from strengthened capacity and exposure to the interns' new ideas and creative energy.

College of New Caledonia
Internships with the College of New Caledonia aim to improve the lives of children and youth at risk by promoting international human rights standards, particularly, the rights of children and youth.

Comité de Solidarité / Trois-Rivières (in French)
This project supports community-based development activities to generate income in targeted communities. Projects will increase food security by strengthening cooperative farming projects, help to secure the future of children and youth by strengthening women's capacity to ensure the safety of their children and the nutritional health of their families, and stimulate sustainable economic growth by building the capacity of cooperatives and community-based organizations, training in management, accounting and organizational analysis.

CUSO International
This project will contribute to three thematic areas of work: Youth Employment and Entrepreneurship, Active Citizenship (with a strong focus on economic development), and Natural Resource Management. These three themes reflect the priority needs of local partners. The interns will provide capacity-building support to local organizations, transferring skills and perspectives to local staff, and providing indirect support to the communities served by the development project. The internship capitalizes on the power of youth-to-youth interaction, enthusiasm and collaboration, providing Canadian interns with meaningful international work experience and a greater understanding of the complex development challenges in seven developing countries.

Développement International Desjardins (DID)
Internships with partner organizations contribute to improved access to financial services for disadvantaged people in the targeted countries, thus increasing food security and promoting sustainable economic growth within the beneficiary communities.

Foundation for International Training (FIT)
Internship assignments are designed to balance the interns' learning and career goals with the development objectives of the partners. This project addresses a critical priority to supporting economic growth that is both sustainable and equitable by improving the employment conditions of vulnerable workers.

Humber College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning
Using a capacity-development model, interns contribute to the development, delivery and support of entrepreneurship training programs delivered by Humber's partners. These programs provide local partners' beneficiaries with entrepreneurship skills that increase opportunities for income generation and employment.

Interagency Coalition on AIDS and Development (ICAD)
Through HIV/AIDS care and support services, as well as awareness-raising activities in developing countries and Canada, interns enhance their understanding of international development issues, including gender equality and health promotion, while improving their employability. This project also supports and strengthens the capacity of HIV/AIDS organizations in developing countries. With the added assistance of interns, the organizations are able to improve their programming and activities.

Journalists for Human Rights (JHR)
The project introduces Canadian interns to media development work overseas, while building their professional profiles at home through public awareness activities. This initiative increases interns' eligibility for employment in the areas of international development, media communications and post-secondary education in Canada and abroad. The project also helps local partners to build effective communications skills through media training and public speaking.

Pueblito Canada Inc.
This project helps to improve access to quality education, particularly for women and girls. The interns will provide transformative education skills and resources to local populations and will challenge basic attitudes about gender and education.

Samaritan's Purse Canada
The project aims to provide sustained clean water access through Biosand Filter implementation and to promote health and sanitation through integrated water, sanitation and hygiene programming. Interns will focus on supporting natural farming and sustainable agriculture as tools to increase food security and stimulate sustainable economic growth in rural communities.

Shastri Indo-Canadian Institute
Internships will focus on securing the future of children and youth and on increasing national food security in India.  Interns will assist the local partner in researching, collecting and compiling data and preparing reports.

United Nations Association in Canada
This project is aimed at providing local organizations with the skills, energy and capacity to deliver improved services. Interns will work with local partners to improve planning, monitoring and evaluation of existing development projects. Interns are exposed to unique job-searching information, critical global issues and activities, multicultural environments and substantive, challenging responsibilities. Internships support the needs expressed by the host community.

Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR) (in French)
This project supports initiatives that provide field experience in the management of different international development projects promoting good governance, health, increasing food security and private sector development. The interns gain concrete skills in the areas of needs assessment for training in medical biology/midwifery, in creation of entrepreneurship training, quality management and conservation of farm products, project management, international education, intercultural communication and gender equality.

The Governors of the University of Calgary
This project will strengthen the implementation of development activities, primarily in the area of children and youth. Internships will contribute to the development objectives of local partners through activities such as designing and improving monitoring and evaluation systems, developing education programs and training opportunities, and strengthening maternal, newborn and child health outcomes. Through these internships, interns become better informed global citizens, facilitating critical engagement with the public on international development issues such as food security, securing the future of children and youth, and sustainable economic growth.

Victoria International Development Education Association (VIDEA)
This project promotes more productive, prosperous, and sustainable livelihoods for marginalized women and men, and brighter and healthier futures for girls and boys in Africa. The project links local partners with Canadian stakeholders to facilitate access to fair trade markets for goods produced by local partners' clients and beneficiaries.

World Renew
This internship project seeks to provide four young Canadians with professional international development experience while they support local partner efforts to strengthen food security, youth, and gender equality programming. Interns gain first-hand experience working alongside staff and local partners in Africa and the Americas.

World Vision Canada
This project aims at building capacity and expertise around sustainable economic development as it relates to microfinance and building female business development capacity and empowerment. The three main themes of this project are: securing the future for children and youth; increasing food security; and stimulating sustainable economic development. Activities include: co-facilitating participatory Child Protection Advocacy processes and support programs; assessing current monitoring tools and developing innovative monitoring and communication tools; assisting the food security team with developing initial participatory assessments in existing crop and livestock practices, land use issues, natural resource management, and opportunities for market-led income generating opportunities; identifying links with other social issues (migration and urbanization, education, health, rural development, etc.) and how they will influence the food crisis in the future; researching the integration of microfinance within long-term development work and its impact on the well-being of children; and exploring potential partnerships between entrepreneur/associations, marketing and financial institutions.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le gouvernement Harper permet à de jeunes Canadiens d'acquérir une expérience en développement international

Le 13 mars 2013

Ottawa ― De jeunes Canadiens pourront acquérir une expérience en développement international grâce à l'appui du gouvernement Harper. L'honorable Julian Fantino, ministre de la Coopération internationale, a fait connaître aujourd'hui les 24 organisations sélectionnées pour offrir des stages à l'intention des jeunes Canadiens.

« Notre gouvernement est fier d'offrir à de jeunes Canadiens l'occasion de participer à des projets d'aide internationale dans des pays en développement, a indiqué le ministre Fantino. Les jeunes du Canada démontrent beaucoup d'intérêt et de préoccupation envers les enjeux mondiaux. En outre, cette initiative leur donne la possibilité de bénéficier d'expérience pratique en développement international et les aide à acquérir d'importantes compétences et connaissances qui leur permettront de saisir toute possibilité d'emploi qui se présentera. »

Au moyen du Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes, les organisations sélectionnées travailleront avec des organisations locales dans les pays en développement afin de permettre aux jeunes de 19 à 30 ans d'acquérir de l'expérience, des compétences et des connaissances en développement international, et ainsi de les aider à mieux préparer leur carrière. Du même coup, le Canada fera progresser ses objectifs en matière de développement.

Depuis 2009, le Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes a accueilli plus de 1 600 jeunes qui ont terminé avec succès des stages dans des pays en développement.

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias sont priés de communiquer avec :

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Attaché de presse du ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238
Courriel : danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @ACDI_CA


Fiche d'information

La Stratégie emploi jeunesse (SEJ) du Canada donne aux jeunes Canadiens, âgés de 19 à 30 ans, les outils et l'expérience dont ils ont besoin pour amorcer leur carrière du bon pied. L'ACDI soutient la SEJ par l'intermédiaire du Programme de stages internationaux pour les jeunes (PSIJ). Le PSIJ est géré dans le cadre du Programme Citoyens du monde de l'ACDI, lequel vise à mobiliser les Canadiens pour qu'ils participent au développement international.

Voici les objectifs du PSIJ :

  • fournir aux jeunes admissibles l'expérience internationale, les compétences et les connaissances qui les prépareront à leur future carrière;
  • offrir aux jeunes plus de possibilités d'emploi en sensibilisant les organisations canadiennes aux avantages d'intégrer de jeunes professionnels dans leurs structures et leurs programmes;
  • permettre aux Canadiens de mieux connaître et comprendre le développement international, et de participer à des activités de développement international;
  • soutenir le mandat de l'ACDI, lequel consiste à réduire la pauvreté, à promouvoir les droits de la personne et à accroître le développement durable.

Cette année, les stagiaires travailleront dans les pays suivants : Afrique du Sud, Antigua-et-Barbuda, Bangladesh, Belize, Bolivie, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cambodge, Cameroun, Chili, Chine, Colombie, Costa Rica, Dominique, Équateur, Éthiopie, Gabon, Ghana, Grenade, Guatemala, Guyana, Haïti, Honduras, Inde, Indonésie, Jamaïque, Kenya, Laos, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mexique, Mozambique, Népal, Nicaragua, Ouganda, Panama, Pérou, Philippines, République dominicaine, Rwanda, Sainte-Lucie, Saint-Vincent-et-les-Grenadines, Sénégal, Sierra Leone, Suriname, Tanzanie, Thaïlande, Ukraine, Vietnam, Zambie et Zimbabwe.

À la suite d'un appel de propositions lancé en 2011, 24 organisations (voir la liste ci-dessous) ont été retenues pour travailler avec les institutions et les organisations dans les pays en développement, afin d'offrir des stages à des jeunes Canadiens.

African Medical and Research Foundation (AMREF) Canada (en anglais)
Le programme de stages en santé Afrique-Canada se déroule en partenariat avec les bureaux locaux de l'African Medical and Research Foundation (AMREF). L'objectif principal est d'appuyer des projets de développement international durable dans le domaine de la santé en Afrique, tout en donnant l'occasion à des jeunes diplômés Canadiens d'acquérir une précieuse expérience de travail dans le développement international à l'étranger, favorisant ainsi le perfectionnement des compétences personnelles et professionnelles.

Aide internationale à l'enfance (L'AMIE)
Ce projet a pour but d'aider des pays en développement à créer des activités éducatives durables. Il met l'accent sur les méthodes d'éducation élémentaires destinées aux filles comme aux garçons, et contribue à une partie essentielle du mandat de l'ACDI qui consiste à réduire la pauvreté. Il contribue aussi à la croissance de la capacité administrative locale, notamment dans les domaines de l'évaluation et de la gérance de projet.

Conseil atlantique pour la coopération internationale (CACI)
Les stagiaires travailleront dans des pays en développement pour assurer un avenir meilleur aux enfants et aux jeunes, stimuler une croissance économique durable et accroître la sécurité alimentaire. Grâce à cette expérience, les stagiaires acquièrent des compétences et des capacités qui les aident à obtenir un emploi. De plus, ils prennent des contacts et établissent des relations avec de nombreux spécialistes canadiens du développement.

Avocats sans frontières
Ce projet a pour but de permettre à de jeunes Canadiens de faire des stages d'une durée de six mois avec des organisations partenaires des Amériques, dans le domaine des droits de la personne. En outre, il offre à des populations vulnérables un accès accru aux mécanismes juridiques. Il est conçu pour aider les stagiaires à acquérir une expérience internationale, ainsi que des compétences et des connaissances afin de les préparer à l'emploi dans une économie mondiale fondée sur le savoir.

Canadian Urban Institute (en anglais)
Les stagiaires aident à préparer des solutions stratégiques qui permettront de faire le lien entre les efforts déployés au chapitre de la réduction des risques de catastrophe et de la sécurité alimentaire et les programmes de moyens de subsistance communautaire et de développement économique local dans diverses municipalités. Les stagiaires contribueront à la stimulation du développement économique régional à l'aide d'un programme de formation national à l'intention des fonctionnaires, des dirigeants locaux et des entrepreneurs.

Centre de solidarité internationale du Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean
Le projet vise à aider des groupes, plus particulièrement les mères, les enfants et les jeunes (par l'intermédiaire de groupes de femmes et de producteurs agricoles), dans les domaines suivants : cultures dans des jardins collectifs, amélioration de l'alimentation, maintien des enfants à l'école, soin et assistance aux orphelins et aux enfants vulnérables, et sensibilisation aux questions de santé (VIH/sida, mariages forcés, mères adolescentes).

Coady International Institute – St. Francis Xavier University (en anglais)
Le projet aide à soutenir des partenaires locaux en renforçant et en améliorant les marchés et les moyens de subsistance, le civisme et l'entrepreneuriat chez les jeunes, les cultures agro‑écologiques durables ou le développement fondé sur les actifs. Les organisations locales en tireront une capacité renforcée et pourront profiter des idées nouvelles et de l'énergie créative des stagiaires.

College of New Caledonia (en anglais)
Les stages qu'offre le College of New Caledonia permettent d'améliorer la vie des enfants et des jeunes à risques en faisant la promotion des normes internationales pour les droits de la personne, en particulier les droits des enfants et des jeunes.

Comité de Solidarité/Trois-Rivières
Le projet soutient des activités de développement locales pour produire des revenus dans les collectivités visées. Ces activités permettront d'accroître la sécurité alimentaire en renforçant des projets d'agriculture coopérative, d'assurer un meilleur avenir aux enfants et aux jeunes en donnant aux femmes la capacité de protéger leurs enfants et de garantir la santé nutritionnelle de leurs familles, et de stimuler une croissance économique durable en développant la capacité des coopératives et des organisations locales, et la formation en gestion, en comptabilité et en analyse organisationnelle.

CUSO International
Le projet soutiendra trois domaines de travail thématiques : emploi des jeunes et entrepreneuriat, civisme actif (en mettant fortement l'accent sur le développement économique), et gestion des ressources naturelles. Ces trois thèmes tiennent compte des besoins prioritaires des partenaires locaux. Les stagiaires appuieront le renforcement des capacités d'organisations locales, transmettront des compétences et des idées au personnel local, et donneront un soutien indirect aux collectivités visées par le projet de développement. Le stage tire parti de la force que génère l'interaction entre les jeunes, de leur enthousiasme et de la collaboration qui les unit, offrant aux stagiaires canadiens une expérience de travail internationale enrichissante et leur permettant de mieux comprendre les difficultés complexes du développement dans sept pays en développement.

Développement international Desjardins
Les stages organisés auprès des organisations partenaires contribuent à faciliter l'accès à des services financiers pour des gens défavorisés dans les pays ciblés. Ainsi, cela permet d'augmenter la sécurité alimentaire et de stimuler une croissance économique durable dans les collectivités en question.

Foundation for International Training (en anglais)
Les affectations des stagiaires sont faites pour maintenir un juste milieu entre les objectifs d'apprentissage et de carrière des stagiaires et les objectifs de développement des partenaires. Le projet porte sur une priorité essentielle, à savoir soutenir une croissance économique qui soit à la fois durable et équitable en améliorant les conditions de travail des travailleurs vulnérables.

Humber College Institute of Technology & Advanced Learning (en anglais)
En se servant d'un modèle de développement des capacités, les stagiaires contribuent à la création, à l'exécution et au soutien de programmes de formation à l'entrepreneuriat enseignés par des partenaires du collège Humber. Ces programmes permettent aux bénéficiaires de l'action des partenaires locaux d'acquérir des compétences en entrepreneuriat qui accroissent les possibilités de création de revenus et d'emplois.

Coalition interagence sida et développement (CISD)
Au moyen de services de soins et de soutien dans le domaine du VIH/sida, ainsi que d'activités de sensibilisation dans des pays en développement et au Canada, les stagiaires améliorent leur compréhension des problèmes du développement international, y compris l'égalité des sexes et la promotion de la santé, tout en améliorant leur employabilité. En outre, le projet soutient et renforce la capacité des organisations luttant contre le VIH/sida dans les pays en développement. Avec l'aide des stagiaires, les organisations peuvent améliorer leurs programmes et leurs activités.

Journalists for Human Rights (en anglais)
Grâce à ce projet, les stagiaires canadiens découvrent le travail de développement effectué par les médias à l'étranger, et renforcent leur profil professionnel au Canada au moyen d'activités de sensibilisation du public. Les stagiaires améliorent leur employabilité dans les domaines du développement international, des communications avec les médias, et de l'éducation postsecondaire au Canada et à l'étranger. De plus, le projet permet aux partenaires locaux d'acquérir de bonnes compétences en communications en suivant une formation sur les médias et l'art de parler en public.

Pueblito Canada Inc. (en anglais)
Le projet contribue à améliorer l'accès à une éducation de qualité, en particulier pour les femmes et les jeunes filles. Les stagiaires transmettront des compétences et donneront des ressources en éducation transformatrice aux populations locales, et remettront en question les mentalités dans les domaines de l'égalité des sexes et de l'éducation.

Samaritan's Purse Canada (en anglais)
Le projet vise à donner un accès durable à de l'eau potable par l'installation de filtres Biosand, et à promouvoir la santé et l'assainissement par l'intermédiaire de programmes intégrés d'alimentation en eau, d'assainissement et d'hygiène. Les stagiaires mettront l'accent sur le soutien des cultures naturelles et de l'agriculture durable en tant qu'outils qui permettent d'augmenter la sécurité alimentaire et de stimuler une croissance économique durable dans les collectivités rurales.

L'Institut indo-canadien Shastri
Les stages mettront l'accent sur l'établissement d'un avenir meilleur pour les enfants et les jeunes, et sur l'accroissement de la sécurité alimentaire nationale en Inde. Les stagiaires aideront le partenaire local à faire de la recherche, à recueillir et à compiler des données, de même qu'à préparer des rapports.

Association canadienne pour les Nations Unies
Le projet a pour but de donner aux organisations locales les aptitudes, l'énergie et les capacités requises pour offrir des services améliorés. Les stagiaires travailleront avec des partenaires locaux pour améliorer la planification, la surveillance et l'évaluation des projets de développement existants. Les stagiaires ont l'occasion de découvrir des renseignements particuliers pour la recherche d'emploi, des activités et des enjeux mondiaux clés, des milieux pluriculturels, et d'assumer des responsabilités importantes et exigeantes. Les stages permettent de répondre aux besoins indiqués par la collectivité d'accueil.

Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières (UQTR)
Le projet appuie des mesures qui donnent de l'expérience sur le terrain dans la gestion de différents projets internationaux de développement, lesquels contribuent à favoriser la bonne gérance et la santé, de même qu'à accroître la sécurité alimentaire et le développement du secteur privé. Les stagiaires acquièrent des compétences concrètes dans les domaines suivants : évaluation des besoins pour la formation de biologistes médicaux et de sages-femmes; élaboration de formation à l'entrepreneuriat; gestion de la qualité et conservation des produits agricoles; gestion de projet; éducation internationale; communication interculturelle; et égalité des sexes.

The Governors of the University of Calgary (en anglais)
Le projet renforcera la mise en œuvre d'activités de développement, principalement celles destinées aux enfants et aux jeunes. Les stages contribueront à l'atteinte des objectifs de développement des partenaires locaux au moyen d'activités comme la conception et l'amélioration des systèmes de surveillance et d'évaluation, la création de programmes d'éducation et de possibilités de formation, et le renforcement des résultats sur le plan de la santé pour les mères, les nouveau-nés et les enfants. Grâce à ces stages, les stagiaires deviennent des citoyens du monde mieux informés, ce qui permet de faciliter la mobilisation critique du public en ce qui concerne les dossiers du développement international comme la sécurité alimentaire, un meilleur avenir pour les enfants et les jeunes, et une croissance économique durable.

Victoria International Development Education Association (VIDEA) (en anglais)
Le projet fait la promotion de moyens de subsistance plus productifs, mieux rémunérés et durables pour les femmes et les hommes marginalisés, et d'un avenir meilleur et plus sain pour les filles et les garçons en Afrique. Le projet met en relation des partenaires locaux avec des intervenants canadiens pour permettre aux marchandises produites par les clients et les bénéficiaires des partenaires locaux d'accéder à des marchés de commerce équitable.

World Renew (en anglais)
Le projet du stage vise à donner à quatre jeunes Canadiens de l'expérience professionnelle en développement international alors qu'ils soutiennent le travail accompli par le partenaire local pour renforcer les programmes axés sur la sécurité alimentaire, les jeunes et l'égalité entre les sexes. Les stagiaires acquièrent une expérience pratique en travaillant avec le personnel et les partenaires locaux en Afrique et dans les Amériques.

Vision Mondiale Canada
Le projet vise à renforcer les capacités et l'expertise dans le domaine du développement économique durable en ce qui concerne la microfinance et l'établissement d'une capacité de développement et d'autonomie pour les femmes entrepreneures. Les trois principaux thèmes du projet sont : assurer un avenir meilleur pour les enfants et les jeunes; augmenter la sécurité alimentaire; et stimuler un développement économique durable. Voici quelques-unes des activités qui seront mises en œuvre : coanimer des processus de participation à la protection et à la défense des enfants et les programmes de soutien connexes; évaluer les outils de surveillance actuels et mettre au point des outils innovateurs de surveillance et de communication; aider l'équipe de la sécurité alimentaire à faire des évaluations participatives initiales des pratiques actuelles utilisées pour les cultures et l'élevage, les problèmes d'utilisation des terres, la gestion des ressources naturelles, et les occasions de créer des revenus grâce au marché; cerner les liens avec d'autres problèmes sociaux (migration et urbanisation, éducation, santé, développement rural, etc.) et préciser comment ils influeront sur la crise alimentaire à l'avenir; faire de la recherche sur l'intégration de la microfinance au travail de développement à long terme et ses retombées sur le bien-être des enfants; et explorer les partenariats possibles entre les entrepreneurs, les associations et les sociétés de marketing et les établissements financiers.