Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Private Sector and Development

Working with the private sector as partners in development

The private sector is the driving force behind economic growth and is essential to achieving meaningful development outcomes that raise people out of poverty and put them on the road to prosperity. It is the primary source of economic growth, job creation, government revenue to finance essential public services, and the goods and services required to improve people's quality of life.

Many developing countries are not fully benefiting from the opportunities that can be generated by a robust private sector. Developing countries often have weak domestic private sectors, and do not have sufficient tools and policies in place to encourage private-sector-led economic growth.

The potential benefits of private financial flows are not being maximized to contribute to economic and social development outcomes. A lack of capital and investment to grow businesses, a lack of private sector ingenuity to provide solutions to specific social and health challenges, and inadequate leveraging of private sector entities by development agencies and partner countries, limit the potential for private sector activity to create opportunities for people most in need.

For these reasons, the Government of Canada is helping developing-country partners create the conditions for strong and sustainable private-sector-led growth through its Sustainable Economic Growth Strategy. The strategy's three paths—building economic foundations, growing businesses, and investing in people—target the main prerequisites to achieving poverty alleviation through private-sector-led sustainable economic growth.

In addition, the Government of Canada is leveraging local, Canadian, international and multinational private sector actors of all sizes as part of its efforts to promote private-sector-led growth in developing countries. Recognizing that private enterprises have an important role to play in achieving lasting development impact, the Government of Canada is committed to strengthening its engagement with private sector actors as partners to help reduce global poverty.

The opportunities for collaboration are compelling. Canada has more than four decades of international development experience in a variety of areas in which the private sector can bring unique skills, resources, innovation and know-how to bear. By working with private sector actors that adhere to responsible business and investment practices, along with non-governmental organizations, multilateral institutions, and partner countries, Canada can contribute to the creation of jobs, mobilize private investment, unlock innovative solutions to intractable development challenges, and deliver products and services that improve the lives of people in poverty.

Private sector partnership opportunities

The Government of Canada will continue to collaborate with local, Canadian and international private sector partners to deploy the most appropriate resources, approaches and expertise in support of poverty alleviation. In pursuing this goal, the Government of Canada's private sector and development approach pursues strong results in the general areas of investment, partnerships and innovation.

Investment for development

Challenge: Capital and expertise to grow businesses and address development needs is lacking.

Action: The Government of Canada supports market-oriented incentives for the private sector to target investments that achieve meaningful development impact. For example, Canada supports investment projects such as the Mennonite Economic Development Associates in Ethiopia which provides working capital and skills training for women entrepreneurs in the textile industry.

Partnerships for development

Challenge: Few international development projects effectively bring together public, private, and civil society entities to improve the lives of people living in poverty and to create shared value (i.e. projects that achieve both business and development objectives).

Action: The Government of Canada encourages multistakeholder partnerships with private sector and non-for-profit organizations that support projects and initiatives demonstrating clear benefits in the Government's development thematic priority areas. These partnerships require private sector actors to share in the costs of delivering a particular project.

For example, the Government of Canada supports the Zinc Alliance for Child Health with Teck and the Micronutrient Initiative to develop and scale up zinc treatment programs to improve nutrition and help save children's lives. The Government also supports the Building Collaboration for Sustainable Economic Growth in Peru project with World Vision Canada and Barrick Gold to leverage the economic impact of mining operations in Peru by increasing income and standard of living for families. This initiative also supports Canada's Corporate Social Responsibility Strategy for the Canadian International Extractive Sector, which seeks to enhance the capacity of developing countries to manage the development of their natural resources to alleviate poverty.

Innovation for development

Challenge: In many developing countries, viable business models that make access to goods and services possible are lacking. The potential of the private sector to apply its ingenuity to approaches and technologies that can improve the delivery of essential public services is not being maximized.

Action: The Government of Canada supports innovations that generate game-changing solutions to international development challenges. This includes supporting innovative approaches, finance instruments, and technologies that encourage private sector actors to create products and services and enhance the delivery of public services in developing countries to improve the lives of people most in need. For example, Canada has a strategic partnership with Grand Challenges Canada to scale up promising innovations in the area of global health, many of which are generated by social entrepreneurs.

The Government of Canada also supports an innovative financing approach in partnership with the GAVI Alliance that brings the public and private sectors together to develop and deliver much-needed vaccines to treat pneumococcal disease—a leading cause of child deaths in developing countries.

Are you a private sector organization interested in working with the Government of Canada in international development?

The Government of Canada encourages private sector organizations to engage in supporting Canada's international development objectives. In order to support engagement and facilitate dialogue an email address has been established. To learn more about Canada's international development priorities, how the Government of Canada is working with the private sector, and to discuss potential collaboration opportunities, please contact privatesector@international.gc.ca.

The Government of Canada's programming processes, including its calls for proposals, are open to all development actors, including the private sector, who can help improve the lives of people living in poverty. For more information on the call for proposals process, see Working with DFATD. The Government of Canada will also be launching new initiatives to engage the private sector in investment, alliances, and innovation for development in the coming months.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le secteur privé et le développement

Collaborer avec le secteur privé en tant que partenaire du développement

Le secteur privé est le moteur de la croissance économique durable et est essentiel pour atteindre des résultats de développement significatifs qui permettent de sortir les gens de la pauvreté et de les mettre sur la voie de la prospérité. Il est la principale source de croissance économique, de création d'emplois et de revenus gouvernementaux pour financier des services publics essentiels, de même que les biens et les services nécessaires pour améliorer la qualité de vie des gens.

Toutefois, de nombreux pays en développement ne profitent pas pleinement des possibilités que peut générer un secteur privé vigoureux. Souvent, les pays en développement ont des secteurs privés intérieurs faibles et ne disposent pas des outils et des politiques nécessaires pour encourager une croissance dirigée par le secteur privé.

Les avantages possibles des apports financiers du secteur privé ne sont pas optimisés de manière à contribuer à l'obtention de résultats au chapitre du développement économique et social. Le manque de capital et d'investissement nécessaires à la croissance des entreprises, le manque d'ingéniosité dans le secteur privé pour réussir à relever des défis sociaux et en matière de santé précis, et la mise à contribution inadéquate des entités du secteur privé par des organismes de développement et des pays partenaires freinent le potentiel des activités dans le secteur privé qui permettent d'offrir des possibilités aux plus démunis.

Voilà pourquoi le gouvernement du Canada aide les partenaires des pays en développement à créer des conditions favorables à une croissance forte et durable dirigée par le secteur privé par l'entremise de sa Stratégie sur la croissance économique durable. La Stratégie privilégie trois domaines d'intervention — établir des assises économiques, favoriser la croissance des entreprises et investir dans le capital humain. Il s'agit des conditions essentielles à l'élimination de la pauvreté et à la réalisation d'une croissance économique durable dans le secteur privé.

En outre, le gouvernement du Canada met à contribution des secteurs privés locaux, canadiens, étrangers et multinationaux de toutes les tailles dans le cadre de ses efforts pour favoriser une croissance dirigée par le secteur privé dans les pays en développement. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît que les entreprises privées ont un rôle important à jouer dans l'atteinte de résultats de développement durables, et il est résolu à renforcer son engagement auprès de ses partenaires du secteur privé pour contribuer à réduire la pauvreté dans le monde.

Les possibilités de collaboration sont éloquentes. En effet, le Canada possède plus de quatre décennies d'expérience en développement international dans divers domaines où le secteur privé peut mettre à profit ses compétences uniques, ses ressources, ses capacités d'innovation et son savoir-faire. En collaborant avec les acteurs du secteur privé, qui respectent les pratiques commerciales et d'investissement responsables, ainsi qu'avec les organisations non gouvernementales, les institutions multilatérales et des pays partenaires, le Canada peut contribuer à la création d'emplois, mobiliser les investissements privés, découvrir des solutions novatrices aux enjeux de développement complexes et offrir des produits et services qui améliorent la vie des pauvres.

Possibilités de partenariats avec le secteur privé

Le gouvernement du Canada continuera de collaborer avec des partenaires locaux, canadiens et étrangers du secteur privé afin de déployer les ressources, les approches et les compétences les plus appropriées pour aider à réduire la pauvreté. Pour y arriver, le gouvernement du Canada utilise une approche qui vise l'obtention de bons résultats dans les secteurs d'intérêt généraux que sont l'investissement, le partenariat et l'innovation.

L'investissement au service du développement

Difficulté : Les pays en développement n'ont pas les compétences et les capitaux nécessaires pour développer des entreprises et répondre aux besoins de développement.

Mesure : Le gouvernement du Canada soutient les encouragements axés sur le marché à l'intention du secteur privé pour cibler les investissements qui ont une incidence significative sur le développement. Par exemple, le Canada soutient des projets d'investissement comme Mennonite Economic Development Associates (MEDA), mis en œuvre en Éthiopie, qui assure les fonds de roulement et une formation axée sur les compétences aux entrepreneures dans l'industrie du textile.

Partenariat pour développement

Difficulté : Peu de projets de développement international réussissent à réunir des entités des secteurs public et privé et de la société civile pour améliorer la vie des gens qui vivent dans la pauvreté et créer une valeur équitable (c'est-à-dire des projets qui permettent d'atteindre des objectifs commerciaux et de développement).

Mesure : Le gouvernement du Canada encourage des partenariats multipartites avec des organisations du secteur privé et du secteur sans but lucratif qui soutiennent des projets et des initiatives démontrant les avantages évidents dans les secteurs prioritaires thématiques en matière de développement du gouvernement. Pour que de tels partenariats se concrétisent, il faut que les acteurs du secteur privé assument une partie des coûts de la prestation d'un projet en particulier.

Par exemple, le gouvernement du Canada soutient l'Alliance du zinc pour la santé de l'enfant (en anglais), un partenariat entre Teck Resources et l'Initiative pour les micronutriments, en vue d'élaborer et d'élargir la portée des programmes de traitement au zinc pour améliorer la nutrition et sauver la vie d'enfants. En outre, le gouvernement soutient le projet Bâtir une collaboration en vue d'un développement économique durable, mis en œuvre avec Vision mondiale Canada et financé conjointement avec Barrick Gold, qui vise à mettre à profit l'impact économique des opérations minières au Pérou par l'augmentation des revenus et du niveau de vie des familles. Cette initiative appuie également la Stratégie de responsabilité sociale des entreprises élaborée par le Canada pour les sociétés extractives canadiennes à l'étranger, qui vise à accroître la capacité des pays en développement à gérer l'exploitation de leurs ressources naturelles dans le but de réduire la pauvreté.

Innovation pour le développement

Difficulté : De nombreux pays en développement n'ont pas de modèles d'entreprises rentables qui rendent possible l'accès aux biens et aux services. Le potentiel du secteur privé à faire preuve d'ingéniosité pour mettre en application des approches et des technologies pouvant améliorer la prestation des services publics essentiels n'est pas optimisé.

Mesure : Le gouvernement du Canada soutient les innovations qui permettent de générer des solutions révolutionnaires aux défis liés au développement international. Il soutient entre autres des approches novatrices, des instruments financiers et des technologies qui encouragent les acteurs du secteur privé à améliorer la prestation de services publics dans les pays en développement pour améliorer la vie des plus démunis. Par exemple, le Canada a établi un partenariat stratégique avec Grands Défis Canada pour élargir la mise en application d'innovations prometteuses dans le domaine de la santé mondiale, nombre de ces innovations étant produites par des entrepreneurs sociaux.

Le gouvernement du Canada soutient également une méthode de financement novatrice, en partenariat avec l'Alliance GAVI, qui réunit les secteurs public et privé pour mettre au point des vaccins indispensables pour traiter l'infection à pneumocoque, l'une des principales causes de mortalité chez les enfants dans les pays en développement.

Votre organisation du secteur privé est intéressée à collaborer avec le gouvernement du Canada?

Le gouvernement du Canada encourage les organisations du secteur privé à appuyer les objectifs du Canada en matière de développement international. Pour favoriser l'engagement et faciliter le dialogue, le gouvernement a élaboré un portail de partenariat avec le secteur privé. Pour en savoir plus sur les priorités du Canada en matière de développement international, sur la collaboration du gouvernement du Canada avec le secteur privé et pour discuter des possibilités de collaboration, veuillez communiquer avec secteurprive@international.gc.ca.

Tous les acteurs du développement, y compris le secteur privé, qui peut améliorer le sort des personnes pauvres, peuvent participer aux processus de programmation du gouvernement du Canada, y compris à ses appels de propositions. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le processus d'appel de propositions, veuillez consulter la page « Travailler avec le MAECD ». Au cours des prochains mois, le gouvernement du Canada lancera également de nouvelles initiatives en vue de mobiliser le secteur privé au profit de l'investissement, de créer des alliances, d'innover et de poursuivre le dialogue sur le développement.