Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

International Financial Institutions

International financial institutions (IFIs) such as the World Bank and the regional development banks (including the African Development Bank, the Asian Development Bank, the Caribbean Development Bank, and the Inter-American Development Bank) provide financial services and focus on country-specific development solutions. The International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) is both an international financial institution and a United Nations agency. It provides financial assistance to rural people living in poverty.

Canada's commitment

Canada plays an active role as a member of the boards of governors of the International Financial Institutions. Through its executive directors, it joins with other member countries to provide policy guidance and approve programs, policies, and projects.

Through DFATD, Canada works closely with the international financial institutions to help developing countries achieve the Millennium Development Goals and combat poverty through promoting sustainable and equitable development.

Overall, international financial institutions provide about $40 billion a year in loans at near-market terms for middle- and upper-income countries and about $15 billion annually, either as grants or as loans on easier terms, to low-income countries.

Typically, Canada contributes 3 to 5 percent of the total operating funds to each of these international financial institutions. DFATD contributes to and also handles the day-to-day relations for Canada with the regional development banks and IFAD, in consultation with Finance Canada. Finance Canada is the lead on Canada's relationship with the World Bank, although DFATD contributes to a number of funds and major projects.

With partners that share the same interests, Canada has been generating a more comprehensive approach to development by the international financial institutions. These institutions are now focusing more on:

  • Results-based management and harmonization with other donors
  • Alignment with country strategies
  • Regional integration of trade and economic growth

Canada is also paying specific attention to its role in post-conflict countries, disaster response, and emerging infectious diseases.

Key Results

Through its contributions to international financial institutions, Canada and other donors have helped:

  • Enrol more than 15 million children in school, in Africa
  • Provide antimalarial treatment for 31.5 million children under the age of five in Africa
  • Train more than one million teachers in Latin America and the Caribbean through the Inter-American Development Bank
  • Provide skills training programs to more than 16,000 individuals in the Caribbean through the Caribbean Development Bank
  • Improve agricultural practices and incomes of more than 350 million small-scale farmers, many of whom are women, through IFAD-funded projects

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Institutions financières internationales

Il existe diverses institutions financières internationales, dont la Banque mondiale et les banques régionales de développement (y compris la Banque africaine de développement, la Banque asiatique de développement, la Banque de développement des Caraïbes et la Banque interaméricaine de développement). En plus de fournir des services financiers, ces institutions axent leur travail sur des solutions de développement propres à chaque pays. Le Fonds international de développement agricole (FIDA), quant à lui, est à la fois une institution financière internationale et un organisme des Nations Unies. Il offre un soutien financier aux habitants pauvres des régions rurales.

Engagement du Canada

Le Canada est un membre actif des conseils d'administration des institutions financières internationales. Par l'entremise de ses administrateurs, il s'associe aux autres pays membres afin d'orienter les politiques et d'approuver les programmes, les politiques et les projets des institutions.

Par l'entremise du MAECD, le Canada travaille de près avec les institutions financières internationales afin d'aider les pays en développement à atteindre les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement et à lutter contre la pauvreté, en favorisant le développement durable et équitable.

Dans l'ensemble, les institutions financières internationales accordent environ 40 milliards de dollars par année à des pays à revenu intermédiaire ou relativement élevé, sous forme de prêts assortis de taux semblables à ceux du marché. Elles accordent aussi environ 15 milliards de dollars par année à des pays à faible revenu, sous forme de subventions ou de prêts consentis à des conditions préférentielles.

La contribution du Canada aux institutions financières internationales couvre généralement de 3 % à 5 % de leurs fonds de fonctionnement. En collaboration avec le ministère des Finances, le MAECD est responsable des relations quotidiennes du Canada avec les banques régionales de développement et le FIDA. Le ministère des Finances est responsable des relations du Canada avec la Banque mondiale; toutefois, le MAECD contribue à un certain nombre de fonds et de projets majeurs de cette institution.

Avec des partenaires qui partagent les mêmes intérêts, le Canada met en place une approche de développement plus globale à l'intention des institutions financières internationales. Dorénavant, ces institutions mettent davantage l'accent sur :

  • la gestion axée sur les résultats et l'harmonisation avec les autres donateurs;
  • l'harmonisation avec les stratégies-pays;
  • l'intégration régionale de la croissance commerciale et économique.

Le Canada porte aussi une attention particulière à son rôle en ce qui a trait aux situations suivantes : pays qui se relèvent d'un conflit, interventions après une catastrophe et maladies infectieuses émergentes.

Résultats

Grâce à leur appui aux institutions financières internationales, le Canada et d'autres donateurs ont aidé à :

  • inscrire plus de 15 millions d'enfants à l'école en Afrique;
  • fournir des traitements antipaludiques à 31,5 millions d'enfants de moins de cinq ans en Afrique;
  • former plus d'un million d'enseignants en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes par l'entremise de la Banque interaméricaine de développement;
  • offrir des programmes de formation axée sur les compétences à plus de 16 000 personnes dans les Caraïbes par l'entremise de la Banque de développement des Caraïbes;
  • améliorer les pratiques agricoles et augmenter les revenus de plus de 350 millions de petits producteurs (dont un grand nombre sont des femmes) par l'entremise de projets financés par le FIDA.