Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Guatemala

Table of Contents

Guatemala: Portrait of a Guatemalan youth. © ACDI-CIDA/David Barbour

Overview

Guatemala faces significant development challenges. Ranking 133 out of 187 on the United Nations Development Programme's 2012 human development index, it is the second poorest country in Central America after Nicaragua. About 14 percent of the people live on less than US$1.25/day; another 26 percent live on less than US$2/day. The country also faces one of the most unequal income distributions in Latin America. More than 70 percent of the land is owned by less than 2 percent of the population.

The progress Guatemala has made toward achieving some of the Millennium Development Goals has been derailed by the recent global economic crisis. Severely affecting Guatemala's exports, the crisis also contributed to a drop in remittances from expatriates abroad. Normally, these remittances account for 10 percent of the gross domestic product. The country's already low tax revenues have fallen further.

Guatemala is also prone to natural disasters such as hurricanes and earthquakes. As well, Guatemala experiences one of the highest murder rates in the world, with an impunity rate of 98 percent.

Agricultural productivity is low in Guatemala and, as such, the country imports basic grains to satisfy national demand. More than half of the population cannot afford to satisfy its basic nutritional needs: the rate of childhood malnutrition in Guatemala is the second highest in the Americas.

Mistrust between Guatemalans and government organizations have persisted since the ending, in 1996, of the country's 36-year civil war. Progress is impeded by economic and political instability as well as by governance-related issues such as corruption and serious challenges to respect human rights and the rule of law.

Thematic Focus

Guatemala's economic reactivation plan and high-level discussions among the donor community have allowed Canada to align its international development program in Guatemala with other donors and respond to Guatemala's priorities.

The goal of Canada’s international development program in Guatemala is to increase food security through agricultural development.

Canada also contributes to human security in Guatemala by supporting the United Nations-mandated International Commission Against Impunity in Guatemala (CICIG), an independent investigative body established to dismantle clandestine security structures and prosecute illegal security organizations in Guatemala. The Commission is training police inspectors, prosecutors and judges and strengthening the capacity of the state and civil society groups to investigate, prosecute and punish criminal activities.

Food security

Canada is helping Guatemala increase food security by improving agricultural productivity, rural competitiveness and rural incomes. Canada is fostering an environment where small-scale farmers in poor rural areas can increase their profits by improving the quality of their maize and beans and the marketing of these staples. To complement these efforts, Canada is helping strengthen the capacities of local government authorities to create and implement agricultural economic development plans and investment strategies.

Selected examples of expected results
  • Some 3,550 vegetable and coffee producers and 14 producers' associations will receive technical assistance and training in marketing to help them commercialize their products
  • Some 152 departmental and municipal employees in the city of Sololá will be trained in rural economic planning, investment and project planning to help strengthen local government
  • A specialized market-intelligence system will be developed to help some 75 farmers' organizations better respond to demand

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

Guatemala adheres to the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness (PDF, 317 KB, 23 pages) and has expressed commitment to poverty reduction and collaboration with donors. The donor community is able to work together to implement aid-effectiveness measures and help Guatemala meet Paris Declaration commitments.

Achievements 2009-2010

Food security

  • Helped train eight horticultural producers associations with 626 members and develop 124 demonstration plots, using 14 different horticultural practices to increase productivity
  • Helped train more than 200 coffee producers in regenerating land with previously limited production capacity
  • Helped triple membership in a key agricultural federation and increased annual income of producers from $39 to about $887 per family
  • Helped increase cardamom export to 20 countries around the world, resulting in a 10 to 20 percent increase in income for the families of cardamom producers

Note: Documents provided in an alternate format

If you cannot access the documents that are provided in an alternate format, refer to the Help page.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Guatemala

Table des matières

Portrait d'un jeune Guatémaltèque. © ACDI-CIDA/Patricio Baeza

Aperçu

Le Guatemala est confronté à d'importants problèmes de développement. En 2012, il occupait le 133e rang sur 187 pays selon l'indice du développement humain établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement. Il est le deuxième pays le plus pauvre en Amérique centrale, après le Nicaragua. Près de 14 % de la population vit avec moins de 1,25 $US par jour, et 26 % vit avec moins de 2 $US par jour. Le Guatemala est l'un des pays d'Amérique latine où la répartition des revenus est la plus inégale. En outre, moins de 2 % de la population détient plus de 70 % des terres.

La récente crise économique mondiale a nui aux progrès du Guatemala à l'égard de certains Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement. La crise a gravement touché les exportations. Elle a aussi fait chuter les transferts de fonds en provenance des Guatémaltèques expatriés à l'étranger. Habituellement, ces transferts de fonds comptent pour 10 % du produit intérieur brut. Les recettes fiscales déjà peu élevées du pays ont diminué encore plus.

Le Guatemala est également exposé aux catastrophes naturelles comme les ouragans et les tremblements de terre. Il affiche aussi l'un des taux d'homicides les plus élevés au monde, ainsi qu'un taux d'impunité de 98 %.

La productivité agricole est faible au Guatemala. Le pays importe donc des céréales de base pour répondre à la demande intérieure. Plus de la moitié de la population ne peut satisfaire ses besoins nutritionnels de base, et le taux de malnutrition chez les enfants est le deuxième plus élevé dans les Amériques.

La méfiance entre les Guatémaltèques et les organisations gouvernementales persiste depuis la fin de la guerre civile, en 1996, guerre qui a duré trente-six ans. Divers facteurs nuisent aux progrès : l'instabilité économique et politique, des problèmes de gouvernance comme la corruption, et de graves manques concernant le respect des droits de la personne et la primauté du droit.

Priorités

En se fondant sur le plan guatémaltèque de reprise économique et des discussions de haut niveau au sein de la communauté des donateurs, le Canada a harmonisé sa programmation de développement international au Guatemala avec celles d'autres donateurs et répond aux besoins prioritaires du pays.

Le but que poursuit le Canada en matière de développement international au Guatemala est d'accroître la sécurité alimentaire au moyen du développement agricole.

Le Canada contribue aussi à renforcer la sécurité en appuyant la Commission internationale contre l'impunité au Guatemala, mandatée par les Nations Unies. Cette commission d'enquête indépendante a été créée pour démanteler les systèmes de sécurité clandestins et entamer des poursuites contre les organismes de sécurité illégaux au Guatemala. La Commission forme des inspecteurs de police, des procureurs et des juges. Elle renforce aussi la capacité des groupes de la société civile et de l'État d'enquêter, d'entamer des poursuites et de punir les auteurs d'activités criminelles.

Sécurité alimentaire

Le Canada aide le Guatemala à renforcer sa sécurité alimentaire en améliorant la productivité agricole et en augmentant la compétitivité des milieux ruraux et des revenus en région rurale. Il favorise la création d'un milieu qui aide les petits exploitants agricoles des régions pauvres à augmenter leurs profits en améliorant la qualité du maïs et des fèves et en commercialisant ces produits de base. Pour consolider ces efforts, le Canada aide à renforcer la capacité des administrations locales d'élaborer et de mettre en application des plans de développement économique et agricole ainsi que des stratégies d'investissements.

Exemples de résultats attendus
  • Quelque 3 550 producteurs de légumes et de café et 14 associations de producteurs recevront une assistance technique et de la formation en commercialisation pour les aider à vendre leurs produits.
  • Quelque 152 employés municipaux et de départements de la ville de Sololá recevront une formation en planification économique rurale, en investissements et en planification de projet pour aider à renforcer les administrations locales.
  • Un système spécialisé d'information commerciale sera mis en place pour aider quelque 75 organisations d'agriculteurs à mieux répondre à la demande.

Vers une aide plus efficace

Le Guatemala adhère à la Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide (PDF, 317 Ko, 23 pages). Il s'est dit résolu à réduire la pauvreté et à collaborer avec les donateurs. Ensemble, ces derniers peuvent mettre en place des mesures visant l'efficacité de l'aide et aider le Guatemala à respecter les engagements pris dans la Déclaration de Paris.

Réalisations 2009-2010

Sécurité alimentaire

  • A aidé à former 626 membres de huit associations de producteurs horticoles, et à établir 124 parcelles de démonstration horticole en fonction de 14 pratiques horticoles différentes afin d'accroître la productivité.
  • A aidé à former plus de 200 producteurs de café sur la régénération de sols qui avaient une capacité de production limitée.
  • A permis de tripler l'adhésion à une fédération agricole de premier plan et a augmenté le revenu annuel des producteurs, qui est passé de 39 $ à 887 $ par famille.
  • A aidé à augmenter les exportations de cardamome dans 20 pays, ce qui a haussé du même coup le revenu des familles productrices de cardamome de 10 % à 20 %.

Note : documents fournis dans un format de rechange

Si vous ne pouvez accéder aux documents fournis dans un format de rechange, veuillez visiter la page d'aide.