Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Tanzania

Table of Contents

Tanzanian women at a meeting. © ACDI-CIDA/Peter Bennette

Overview

Tanzania is a young but stable democracy and it has one of Africa's stronger governance and human rights records. Institutional capacity remains weak but is slowly increasing, particularly in the ministries of Finance, Education, and Health.

Although Tanzania was affected by the global economic downturn, the Tanzanian economy has rebounded and the country's growth outlook is strong. Recent natural gas discoveries have also boosted Tanzania's economic potential, while continued emphasis on sound economic management and good governance will help ensure that Tanzania's economic growth contributes to poverty reduction. Currently, the country ranks 152 out of 187 on the United Nations Development Programme's 2012 Human Development Index.

Tanzania is on track to meet the Millennium Development Goals  (MDGs) related to education, equality between women and men, and health including reducing child mortality and combatting HIV/AIDS, but is off track on reducing income poverty and maternal mortality.

Thematic Focus

In 2009, as part of Canada's new aid effectiveness agenda, Tanzania was selected as a country of focus. Canada supports the achievement of the development outcomes outlined in Tanzania's National Strategy for Growth and Reduction of Poverty II (PDF, 1.43 MB, 170 pages) with which Canada's development focus closely aligns.

In this strategy, Tanzania's goals include:

  • Improving economic growth and reducing income poverty.
  • Improving the quality of life and social well-being of Tanzanians.
  • Promoting good governance and accountability.

Canada's international development efforts in Tanzania contribute to poverty reduction by focusing on improving the lives of children and youth, increasing sustainable economic growth, and strengthening democratic governance in support of this strategy.

Children and youth, including maternal, newborn and child health

Canada's focus on maternal and child health is critical to improving the quality of life and well-being of Tanzanians. Canada supports efforts to increase access to skilled health workers, increase the number of babies born in health facilities, help prevent malaria and tuberculosis, help prevent the spread of HIV/AIDS among youth, and reduce its effects on children and their families. Canada's support to the Government of Tanzania's education efforts aims to boost literacy rates, improve the quality of teaching, increase equitable access to secondary and vocational education, and provide young people with the skills and training to secure jobs.

Key anticipated results

  • Reduce maternal mortality from 454 deaths per 100,000 live births in 2008
  • Reduce under-five mortality from 81 deaths per 1,000 live births in 2010
  • Reduce infant mortality from 51 deaths per 1,000 live births in 2010
  • Immunize millions of children and pregnant women
  • Provide antenatal and delivery care to millions of women
  • Increase enrolment of youth in community-focused HIV/AIDS prevention and care programs
  • Increase access to modern family planning methods for more women
  • Increase the percentage of secondary students graduating from 35 percent

Economic growth

Canada contributes to sustainable economic growth by strengthening the Government of Tanzania's capacity for responsible and sustainable management of the extractive sector, improve the management of public finances, strengthen government transparency and accountability, and improve the environment for businesses to start and grow, including greater access to financial services and credit. Through the Canada-Tanzania G-8 Partnership, announced in June 2013, Canada is bringing together government, the private sector and civil society in Tanzania to enhance transparency and accountability in the growing extractives sector.

Key anticipated results

  • Increase access to financial services and credit by poor Tanzanians
  • Increase domestic tax revenue as a share of GDP
  • Improve governance, transparency and accountability in the extractive sector

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

Tanzania has been a leader in aid effectiveness, showing strong national ownership, high-level commitment to important reform areas, and leadership in coordinating development efforts around the national poverty reduction strategy. The 2006 endorsement of the Joint Assistance Strategy for Tanzania (Microsoft Word format) by the government and donors has led to increased alignment with national priorities and increased use of country systems for program delivery. These efforts have improved harmonization among donors, and reduced transaction costs for the Government of Tanzania.

Significant progress has been made on a division of labour exercise, whereby the government and donors agreed to rationalize sectors of engagement by donors based on Tanzanian priorities. Canada has led donors in important social sectors―education, human resources for health, and HIV/AIDS―as well as on the crosscutting legal reform.

Achievements 2012-2013

Children and youth, including maternal, newborn and child health

  • Contributed to an increase the number of babies delivered by skilled health workers from 46 percent in 2004-2005 to 59 percent in 2012-2013
  • Provided eyesight-restoring surgery to 7,750 Tanzanians and surgery for 2,027 Tanzanians with disabilities
  • Installed walk-in cold rooms (used to store vaccines) at the central Medical Stores Department and in 35 regions, through support to the One UN Program to Improve Maternal Newborn and Child Health, increasing the safe and sufficient storage capacity of vaccines from 15,546 litres in 2009 to 97,144 litres in 2012.
  • Facilitated the successful introduction of two new vaccines (rotavirus and pneumococcal) to significantly reduce child mortality due to diarrhea, pneumonia and other diseases, as a result of improved storage facilities for vaccines
  • Helped increase the number of qualified teachers in primary and secondary schools by 11 percent from 2011-12 to 2012-13, helping reduce class sizes from 64 to 47 pupils per teacher at the primary level and from 50 to 34 students per teacher at the secondary level
  • Helped increase secondary school enrolment from 24 percent in 2008 to 37 percent in 2012
  • Helped increase enrolment in vocational training by 19 percent since last year, with females now representing 47 percent of students

Economic growth

  • Helped increase the number of poor people accessing financial services from financial institutions assisted through the Financial Sector Deepening Trust (FSDT) from 892,626 in June 2011 to 951,404 in June 2012 (a 6.6-percent increase)
  • Helped to nearly double the number of women clients accessing loans in excess of two million Tanzanian Shillings (CAD $1,290) from FSDT-supported microfinance institutions (from 2,763 in 2011 to 5,149 in June 2012)
  • Helped establish credit reference bureau, which will reduce transaction costs and enable formal financial institutions to lend to smaller borrowers
  • Helped the Government of Tanzania achieve compliant status under the Extractives Industry Transparency Initiative (EITI) in December 2012. EITI promotes greater transparency and accountability in the mining industry by ensuring that mining companies publicly report all taxes and royalties and the Government of Tanzania discloses what it receives from companies.
  • Helped the Government of Tanzania develop a new human resources and payroll system, which increased data accuracy from 60 percent in 2009 to 95 percent in 2013

Achievements 2011-2012

Children and youth, including maternal, newborn and child health

  • Improved vaccination coverage from 83 percent in 2011 to 90 percent in 2012, protecting even more children against preventable diseases such as measles, tetanus and diptheria.
  • Through support to the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis and Malaria, helped provide HIV/AIDS treatment to 280,000 people and distribute 23 million insecticide-treated bed nets in Tanzania since 2004 to prevent malaria.
  • Helped 47 percent of women of reproductive age get access to contraception, up from 20 percent in 2004.
  • Helped train 4,900 teachers to help youth prevent or cope with HIV/AIDS infection through support to the Tanzanian Commission for AIDs.
  • Through support to the World Health Organization's Stop TB Partnership, helped improve detection of tuberculosis cases in Mbeya (a poor area in rural Tanzania) by 85 percent in 12 months ― allowing infected individuals to rapidly receive treatment, improve their likelihood of being cured, and reduce the spread of the disease.
  • Helped the Government of Tanzania double enrolment in primary school since 2000 ― in 2011, 94 percent of school-aged children were enrolled in primary school ― and reduce average class sizes from 64 to 49 students in primary school.
  • Helped the Government of Tanzania increase enrolment in technical colleges by 79 percent between 2008 and 2011―from 47,000 students to 84,000 students.
  • Increased the proportion of babies delivered by skilled health workers over five years from 46 percent in 2004–2005 to 51 percent in 2010–2011.
  • Helped the Stop TB Partnership provide adult and pediatric anti-tuberculosis drugs to 110,000 people and increased early tuberculosis case detection by engaging and mentoring community health workers and traditional healers.
  • Boosted secondary school enrolment by 22 percent from 1,466,402 in 2009–2010 to 1,789,547 in 2010–2011.
  • Provided eyesight-restoring surgeries for more than 8,000 young Tanzanians.

Economic growth

  • Helped increase the number of women and youth accessing financial services by 18 percent, from 449,000 in 2010 to 532,000 in 2011, through the Financial Sector Deepening Trust.
  • Improved financial services for small businesses with new mobile money initiatives, including cell phone banking and improved data-sharing among financial institutions to increase access to credit.
  • Supported greater transparency and accountability in the mining industry with the Extractive Industries Transparency Initiative by ensuring that mining companies publicly report all taxes and royalties and that the Government of Tanzania discloses what it receives from companies.
  • Helped the Government of Tanzania improve its public sector management by developing client-service charters, strategic plans and performance appraisals in most of the government's approximately 260 ministries and departments.
  • Helped increase enrolment in technical training colleges by more than 69 percent from 50,173 in 2009–2010 to 85,040 in 2010–2011.

Achievements 2010-2011

Children and youth, including maternal, newborn and child health

  • Helped increase the percentage of mothers giving birth in a health facility attended by trained personnel from 46 percent in 2004 to 50 percent in 2010.
  • Through multidonor support to the national health sector strategy, helped provide primary health care services, including maternal, newborn and child health services, to more than 43 million people through 4,600 local health facilities.
  • Helped increase cold-chain storage capacity for vaccines at the national and regional levels, allowing two new lifesaving childhood vaccines—against rotavirus and pneumococcal disease—to be introduced in the next two years.
  • Provided 13 districts with needed vaccines, medicines and health equipment and supplies.
  • Helped contribute to a 46-percent increase in secondary school enrolment and a 13-percent increase in primary school teachers between 2008 and 2011.

Economic growth

  • Helped increase credit for microenterprises, small and medium-sized enterprises, and poor people from $115 million in 2009 to $190 million in 2010.

Note: Documents provided in an alternate format

If you cannot access the documents that are provided in an alternate format, refer to the Help page.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Tanzanie

Table des matières

Des Tanzaniennes assistent à une réunion. © ACDI-CIDA/Peter Bennette

Aperçu

La Tanzanie est une démocratie jeune, mais stable. Elle affiche l'un des meilleurs bilans parmi les pays d'Afrique en matière de gouvernance et de respect des droits de la personne. La capacité de ses institutions est encore limitée, mais elle s'accroît petit à petit, surtout au sein des ministères des Finances, de l'Éducation et de la Santé.

La Tanzanie a subi les effets du ralentissement économique mondial, mais son économie a rebondi et la croissance du pays s'annonce bonne. La découverte récente de gisements de gaz naturel a aussi accru substantiellement le potentiel économique de la Tanzanie, tandis que les efforts continus en matière de saine gestion économique et de bonne gouvernance aideront à s'assurer que la croissance économique du pays contribue à réduire la pauvreté. À l'heure actuelle, le pays occupe le 152e rang sur 187 pays pour ce qui est de l'Indice de développement humain 2012 établi par le Programme des Nations Unies pour le développement.

La Tanzanie est en voie d'atteindre les Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD) concernant l'éducation, l'égalité entre les femmes et les hommes, et la santé, y compris en ce qui a trait à la réduction de la mortalité infantile et la lutte contre le VIH/sida. Elle n'est toutefois pas en voie d'atteindre les objectifs de réduction de la pauvreté et de réduction de la mortalité maternelle.

Priorités

En 2009, dans le cadre du nouveau plan d'action pour accroître l'efficacité de l'aide du Canada, la Tanzanie a été désignée comme l'un des pays ciblés. Le Canada aide la Tanzanie à atteindre les objectifs de développement énoncés dans sa National Strategy for Growth and Reduction of Poverty II (en anglais — PDF, 1,43 Mo, 170 pages), stratégie avec laquelle s'harmonisent étroitement les priorités de développement du Canada.

Selon cette stratégie, les objectifs de la Tanzanie incluent les suivantes :

  • Accélérer la croissance économique et réduire la pauvreté.
  • Améliorer la qualité de vie et le bien-être social des Tanzaniens.
  • Favoriser une saine gouvernance et la responsabilisation.

Les efforts de développement international du Canada en Tanzanie contribuent à réduire la pauvreté en cherchant avant tout à améliorer la vie des enfants et des jeunes, à soutenir une croissance économique durable et à renforcer la gouvernance démocratique appuyant cette stratégie.

Enfants et jeunes, y compris la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants

L'attention particulière que le Canada accorde à la santé des mères et des enfants est essentielle à l'amélioration de la qualité de vie et du bien-être des Tanzaniens. Le Canada participe aux efforts ayant pour but de permettre à la population d'avoir un meilleur accès à des travailleurs de la santé qualifiés, d'augmenter le nombre de bébés qui naissent dans des établissements de santé, de prévenir le paludisme et la tuberculose, et de contribuer à prévenir la propagation du VIH/sida chez les jeunes, tout en atténuant les répercussions de cette maladie chez les enfants et leurs familles. Le Canada appuie les efforts du gouvernement de la Tanzanie dans le domaine de l'éducation, afin d'accroître les taux d'alphabétisation, d'améliorer la qualité de l'enseignement, d'augmenter l'accès équitable à l'éducation secondaire et à la formation professionnelle, et de fournir de la formation aux jeunes pour les amener à acquérir des compétences afin qu'ils obtiennent un emploi.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Le taux de mortalité maternelle de 454 décès pour 100 000 naissances vivantes, en 2008, sera réduit.
  • Le taux de mortalité des enfants de moins de cinq ans de 81 décès pour 1 000 naissances vivantes, en 2010, sera réduit.
  • Le taux de mortalité des bébés de 51 décès pour 1 000 naissances vivantes, en 2010, sera réduit.
  • Des millions d'enfants et de femmes enceintes seront vaccinés.
  • Des soins de santé prénatals et liés à l'accouchement seront fournis à des millions de femmes.
  • Davantage de jeunes s'inscriront à des programmes communautaires de prévention et de traitement du VIH/sida.
  • Les méthodes modernes de planification familiale seront accessibles et un plus grand nombre de femmes y auront recours.
  • Le pourcentage d'élèves du secondaire qui terminent leurs études sera accru; il s'établit actuellement à 35 %.

Croissance économique

Le Canada favorise une croissance économique durable en renforçant la capacité du gouvernement de la Tanzanie de gérer de façon responsable et durable le secteur de l'extraction, de rehausser sa gestion des finances publiques, de renforcer la transparence et la responsabilisation du gouvernement, et d'améliorer l'environnement des affaires pour le démarrage et le développement des entreprises, y compris par un accès plus facile à du crédit et à des services financiers. Grâce au partenariat du G8 entre le Canada et la Tanzanie, annoncé en juin 2013, le Canada rapproche le gouvernement, le secteur privé et la société civile de la Tanzanie afin d'accroître la transparence et la responsabilisation du secteur de l'extraction, lequel est en plein essor.

Principaux résultats escomptés

  • Les Tanzaniens démunis auront un meilleur accès à des services financiers et à du crédit.
  • La part du PIB attribuable aux recettes fiscales sera accrue.
  • La gouvernance, la transparence et la responsabilisation du secteur de l'extraction seront rehaussées.

Vers une aide plus efficace

La Tanzanie est un chef de file sur le plan de l'efficacité de l'aide. Sa prise en charge à l'échelle nationale est solide. Elle joue un rôle de haut niveau dans les principaux domaines de réforme. Elle est aussi au premier plan de la coordination des efforts de développement liés à sa stratégie nationale de réduction de la pauvreté. L'adhésion du gouvernement et des donateurs à la stratégie d'aide conjointe à la Tanzanie (en anglais), en 2006, a débouché sur une meilleure concordance des activités et des priorités nationales, de même que sur un recours accru aux systèmes nationaux pour réaliser le programme. Ces efforts ont entraîné une meilleure harmonisation de l'aide des donateurs et réduit les coûts de transaction du gouvernement de la Tanzanie.

D'importants progrès ont été réalisés au chapitre de la répartition du travail, un exercice par lequel le gouvernement et les donateurs se sont entendus pour répartir les secteurs de mobilisation par donateur, en fonction des priorités de la Tanzanie. Le Canada a été le donateur principal dans d'importants secteurs à caractère social ― éducation, ressources humaines en santé, et VIH/sida ― de même que pour la réforme de la justice, un enjeu transversal.

Réalisations 2012-2013

Enfants et jeunes, y compris la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants

  • A permis d'accroître la proportion de bébés nés avec l'aide de travailleurs de la santé qualifiés, la faisant passer de 46 % en 2004-2005 à 59 % en 2012‑2013.
  • A offert des chirurgies pour redonner la vue à 7 750 Tanzaniens et des chirurgies à 2 027 Tanzaniens ayant un handicap.
  • A installé des chambres froides (servant à entreposer des vaccins) au dépôt central de produits médicaux et dans 35 régions, grâce à l'appui du programme unique des Nations Unies pour améliorer la santé des mères, des nouveau‑nés et des enfants, ce qui a permis d'accroître la capacité d'entreposage sécuritaire de vaccins, de 15 546 litres en 2009 à 97 144 litres en 2012.
  • A facilité l'introduction de deux nouveaux vaccins (contre les rotavirus et les infections pneumococciques) afin de réduire substantiellement la mortalité infantile causée par la diarrhée, la pneumonie et d'autres maladies, grâce à l'amélioration des installations d'entreposage des vaccins.
  • A contribué à l'augmentation de 11 % du nombre d'enseignants qualifiés dans les écoles primaires et secondaires, de 2011‑2012 à 2012‑2013, ce qui a permis de faire passer le nombre d'enfants dans les classes de 64 à 47 élèves par enseignant au niveau primaire, et de 50 à 34 élèves par enseignant au niveau secondaire.
  • A contribué à accroître le taux d'inscription au secondaire, de 24 % en 2008 à 37 % en 2012.
  • A aidé à accroître le taux d'inscription en formation professionnelle de 19 % depuis l'an dernier; les femmes représentent maintenant 47 % des élèves.

Croissance économique

  • A permis d'accroître le nombre de personnes démunies se prévalant de services financiers auprès des institutions financières, grâce au Programme de renforcement du secteur financier (PRSF); ce nombre est passé de 892 626 en juin 2011 à 951 404 en juin 2012 (une augmentation de 6,6 %).
  • A contribué à presque doubler le nombre de femmes qui ont obtenu des prêts de plus de deux millions de shillings tanzaniens (1 290 $ CA) auprès d'institutions de microfinance appuyées par le PRSF (ce nombre est passé de 2 763 en 2011 à 5 149 en juin 2012).
  • A aidé à mettre sur pied le bureau d'évaluation du crédit, qui réduira les frais de transaction et permettra aux institutions financières officielles de prêter à de plus petits emprunteurs.
  • A aidé le gouvernement de la Tanzanie à obtenir le statut de « conforme » en vertu de l'Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives (ITIE), en décembre 2012. L'ITIE favorise une plus grande transparence et responsabilisation de l'industrie minière en assurant que les sociétés minières fassent un rapport public de tous les impôts et redevances et que le gouvernement de la Tanzanie indique ce qu'il reçoit des entreprises.
  • A aidé le gouvernement de la Tanzanie à mettre en place un nouveau système de ressources humaines et de rémunération; ce système a permis d'accroître l'exactitude des données, laquelle est passée de 60 % en 2009 à 95 % en 2013.

Réalisations 2011-2012

Enfants et jeunes, y compris la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants

  • A amélioré la couverture vaccinale de 83 % en 2011 à 90 % en 2012, ce qui a permis de protéger encore plus d'enfants contre les maladies évitables comme la rougeole, le tétanos et la diphtérie.
  • En appuyant le Fonds mondial de lutte contre le sida, la tuberculose et le paludisme, a aidé à administrer un traitement contre le VIH/sida à 280 000 personnes et à distribuer, depuis 2004, 23 millions de moustiquaires imprégnées d'insecticide en Tanzanie pour prévenir le paludisme.
  • A aidé 47 % des femmes en âge de procréer à obtenir des moyens de contraception, comparativement à 20 % en 2004.
  • A aidé à former 4 900 enseignants pour aider les jeunes en ce qui a trait à la prévention du VIH/sida et à la façon de vivre avec la maladie, grâce au soutien à la Commission de la Tanzanie sur le sida.
  • En appuyant le Partenariat Halte à la tuberculose de l'Organisation mondiale de la Santé, a contribué à améliorer la détection des cas de tuberculose en Mbeya (une région pauvre de la Tanzanie rurale) de 85 % en 12 mois, ce qui a permis aux personnes affectées de recevoir des traitements rapidement, d'améliorer leurs chances de guérison et de réduire la propagation de la maladie.
  • A aidé le gouvernement de la Tanzanie à doubler l'inscription à l'école primaire depuis 2000. En 2011, 94 % des enfants en âge d'aller à l'école étaient inscrits à l'école primaire, et les classes ont été réduites, passant de 64 à 49 élèves.
  • A aidé le gouvernement de la Tanzanie à accroître de 79 % l'inscription à des collèges techniques, de 2008 à 2011 (de 47 000 à 84 000 étudiants).
  • A contribué à accroître la proportion de bébés nés avec l'aide de travailleurs de la santé qualifiés sur une période de cinq ans, la faisant passer de 46 % en 2004-2005 à 51 % en 2010-2011.
  • A aidé le partenariat Halte à la tuberculose à fournir des médicaments antituberculeux pour adultes et enfants à 110 000 personnes et a accru le dépistage précoce des cas de tuberculose en mobilisant et en encadrant des travailleurs de la santé communautaire et des guérisseurs traditionnels.
  • A accru de 22 % le taux d'inscription à l'école secondaire, le faisant passer de 1 466 402 élèves en 2009-2010 à 1 789 547 élèves en 2010-2011.
  • A offert des chirurgies pour redonner la vue à plus de 8 000 jeunes Tanzaniens.

Croissance économique

  • A aidé à augmenter le nombre de femmes et de jeunes ayant accès à des services financiers de 18 %, soit de 449 000 en 2010 à 532 000 en 2011, grâce au Programme de renforcement du secteur financier.
  • A amélioré les services financiers pour les petites entreprises, grâce à de nouvelles initiatives financières mobiles, y compris les services financiers par téléphone cellulaire et un partage amélioré des données parmi les institutions financières afin d'augmenter l'accès au crédit.
  • A favorisé une plus grande transparence et responsabilisation de l'industrie minière au moyen de l'Initiative pour la transparence dans les industries extractives, en veillant à ce que les sociétés minières fassent un rapport public de tous les impôts et redevances et que le gouvernement de la Tanzanie indique ce qu'il reçoit des entreprises.
  • A aidé le gouvernement de la Tanzanie à améliorer la gestion de son secteur public en créant des chartes de service à la clientèle, des plans stratégiques et des évaluations de rendement dans environ 260 ministères et départements du gouvernement.
  • A contribué à accroître de plus de 69 % le taux d'inscription dans les collèges de formation technique, le faisant passer de 50 173 personnes inscrites en 2009-2010 à 85 040 en 2010‑2011.

Réalisations 2010-2011

Enfants et jeunes, y compris la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants

  • A contribué à augmenter le pourcentage des mères qui accouchent dans un établissement de santé avec l'assistance d'un personnel qualifié, le faisant passer de 46 % (2004) à 50 % (2010).
  • A contribué à la prestation de services de soins de santé primaires, y compris des soins de santé aux mères, aux nouveau-nés et aux enfants, à plus de 43 millions de personnes dans 4 600 établissements de santé locaux, grâce à un appui provenant de multiples donateurs à la stratégie nationale dans le secteur de la santé.
  • A contribué au renforcement des capacités de conservation des vaccins dans la chaîne du froid à l'échelle nationale et régionale; cela permettra la distribution de deux nouveaux vaccins essentiels pour les enfants ― contre les rotavirus et les infections pneumococciques ― au cours des deux prochaines années.
  • A fourni des vaccins, des médicaments ainsi que du matériel et des fournitures de santé nécessaires dans 13 districts.
  • A contribué à l'augmentation de 46 % du nombre d'inscriptions à l'école secondaire et de 13 % du nombre d'enseignants dans les écoles primaires, de 2008 à 2011.

Croissance économique

  • A contribué à l'élargissement de l'accès au crédit des microentreprises, des petites et moyennes entreprises et des pauvres; ces crédits sont passés de 115 millions de dollars en 2009 à 190 millions de dollars en 2010.

Note : documents fournis dans un format de rechange

Si vous ne pouvez accéder aux documents fournis dans un format de rechange, veuillez visiter la page d'aide.