Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Pan-Africa Regional Program

Table of Contents

© ACDI-CIDA/Pierre St-Jacques

Overview

More than 800 million people live in the 47 countries of Sub-Saharan Africa. These people face some of the world's greatest social, economic and environmental challenges: one in two lives on less than US$1/day, their life expectancy is less than 50 years, and more than 70 percent do not have access to safe drinking water and basic sanitation services.

Regional cooperation and integration are necessary to meet the transboundary development challenges of sub-Saharan Africa, such as food security, sustainable economic growth, the fight against communicable diseases, and the management of common natural resources. Most African economies are small and fragmented. Fifteen countries are landlocked and share borders with an average of four countries. Economic integration will create larger regional markets and increase trade.

The African Union (AU) brings together African leaders who are committed to a united Africa with strong social and economic development, more accountable public institutions, healthier citizens and sustainable natural resources. Their vision, articulated in the AU's New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD) program, can only be achieved through extensive regional cooperation and integration.

In recent years, and in line with the AU/NEPAD's vision, a growing number of African countries have developed more participatory governance structures. Many have seen improved economic growth and are on track to meeting several Millennium Development Goals, such as universal primary school enrolment and greater equality between women and men.

Although African economies were hit hard by the last global economic crisis, they proved more resilient than expected. Recent forecasts for Africa anticipate a real gross domestic product growth of 4.5 percent in 2010 and 5.2 percent in 2011.

As part of the Government of Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012, CIDA is restructuring and streamlining its operations and, as of April 2012, will no longer support new projects under the Central Africa Regional Program, the Southern and Eastern Africa Regional Program, and the West Africa Regional Program. Regional institutions across Africa will remain eligible for Canadian assistance through a consolidated and more modest Pan-Africa Regional Program.

Thematic Focus

The goal of CIDA's Pan-African regional program is to help the African Union achieve its vision of regional integration and socio-economic growth. CIDA focuses on strengthening the capacity of a selected number of regional institutions to stimulate economic growth and increase food security. CIDA's program is closely aligned with the African Union/NEPAD's priorities.

Economic growth

CIDA focuses on strengthening the enabling environment and coordinating mechanisms needed for regional integration. This includes:

  • Improving infrastructure services
  • Increasing incomes and employment
  • Making institutions more accountable and more transparent in decision making
Selected examples of expected results
  • Three regional economic communities (spanning 41 countries) will strengthen the capacity of their trade units to promote trade within, and among, their regions
  • Eight Nile Basin countries will establish regional water basin management frameworks helping to create a regulatory environment which fosters basin-wide production, marketing and trade
  • Twenty-three francophone countries will increase the accountability of their supreme audit institutions improving the environment for business development and trade

Food security

CIDA focuses on increasing agricultural productivity. This includes building the capacity of African regional bodies to develop and share new research and technologies to increase crop yields and the nutritional value of staple crops. CIDA works closely with NEPAD's Comprehensive Africa Agriculture Development Programme (CAADP) to build long-term African agricultural capacity. One of the CAADP's goals is to increase annual agricultural production by 6 percent in each country.

Selected examples of expected results
  • Twelve African national research institutions will work together to share knowledge and experience across the region
  • More than 16.5 million households will use improved disease- and drought-resistant bean varieties and new farming techniques

Progress on Aid Effectiveness

In line with the Paris Declaration on Aid Effectiveness (PDF, 317 KB, 23 pages) CIDA works closely with the African Union to support African regional priorities and strengthen local ownership. Donors, including CIDA, are finding ways to better coordinate and harmonize their efforts in support of regional institutions, using multi-donor pooled funds and improved coordination in the field.

Canada was the first bilateral donor to develop a Pan-Africa program and has been instrumental in establishing effective regional continental initiatives such as the Nile Basin Initiative.

Achievements 2009-2010

Economic growth

  • Trained more than 300 individuals in three regional economic communities (spanning 41 countries) in global and regional trade negotiation and trade facilitation to advance Africa's ability to successfully access markets
  • Helped small and medium-sized enterprises working in the leather, mango, cashew nut, palm oil and coffee sectors gain increased access to market intelligence and links to overseas markets
  • Improved the capacity of three North African ministries and agencies in charge of water, environment and agriculture to use satellite imagery, data management techniques and decision support tools
  • Increased parliamentary budget oversight capacity and accountability in seven African parliaments through training
  • Helped increase the accountability of supreme audit institutions in 23 Francophone countries by improving their capacities to undertake performance, environmental and financial verification, manage information systems and projects and evaluate debt management systems

Food security

  • Helped complete state-of-the-art biosciences facilities and made them accessible to African scientists and students across the continent for collaborative agricultural research
  • Helped almost 4 million farming households—58 percent of which are headed by women—access nutritionally enhanced and drought-resistant bean seed varieties in eleven countries
  • Developed and disseminated more than 660 demand-driven agricultural technologies and innovations to more than 8,000 farmers

Note: If you cannot access the documents that are provided in an alternate format, refer to the Help page.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Programme régional panafricain

Table des matières

© ACDI-CIDA/Pierre St-Jacques

Aperçu

Plus de 800 millions de personnes vivent dans les 47 pays qui composent l'Afrique subsaharienne. Ces personnes doivent surmonter certains des plus grands défis sociaux, économiques et environnementaux du monde : une personne sur deux y vit avec moins d'un dollar américain par jour, l'espérance de vie est inférieure à 50 ans, et plus de 70 % de la population n'a pas accès à de l'eau potable ou à des services d'assainissement de base.

La coopération et l'intégration régionales sont nécessaires pour relever les défis de développement transfrontaliers que doit affronter l'Afrique subsaharienne, comme la sécurité alimentaire, la croissance économique durable, la lutte contre les maladies transmissibles et la gestion des ressources naturelles courantes. La plupart des économies africaines sont petites et fragmentées. Quinze pays sont enclavés et partagent leurs frontières avec quatre pays en moyenne. L'intégration économique créera des marchés régionaux plus vastes et accroîtra le commerce.

L'Union africaine (UA) réunit des dirigeants africains qui se sont engagés envers une Afrique unie qui préconise un développement social et économique fort, des institutions publiques responsables, des citoyens en meilleure santé et des ressources naturelles durables. Leur vision, qui est expliquée dans le programme du Nouveau partenariat pour le développement de l'Afrique (NEPAD) de l'UA, peut uniquement être réalisée grâce à une coopération et à une intégration régionales à grande échelle.

Dans les dernières années, et conformément à la vision du NEPAD de l'UA, un nombre croissant de pays africains ont élaboré des structures de gouvernance plus participative. Plusieurs d'entre eux ont connu une amélioration de leur croissance économique et sont en bonne voie de respecter plusieurs Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement, tels que l'inscription universelle des enfants à l'école primaire et une plus grande égalité entre les femmes et les hommes.

Même si les économies africaines ont été durement touchées par la dernière crise économique mondiale, elles ont été plus résilientes que prévu. Des prévisions récentes pour l'Afrique anticipent une croissance réelle du produit intérieur brut de 4,5 % en 2010 et de 5,2 % en 2011.

Dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique 2012 du gouvernement du Canada, l'ACDI restructure et simplifie ses opérations. Depuis avril 2012, aucun appui n'est rendu disponible pour de nouveaux projets dans le cadre du Programme régional pour l'Afrique centrale, du Programme régional pour l'Afrique australe et de l'Est et du Programme régional pour l'Afrique de l'Ouest. Les institutions régionales africaines demeureront admissibles à l'aide canadienne par l'intermédiaire d'un Programme régional panafricain regroupé et plus modeste.

Priorités

Le programme régional panafricain de l'ACDI vise à aider l'UA à réaliser sa vision d'intégration et de croissance socio-économique régionales. Ce programme préconise le renforcement de la capacité d'un nombre d'institutions régionales choisies afin de stimuler la croissance et d'accroître la sécurité alimentaire. Il est étroitement aligné sur les priorités du NEPAD de l'UA.

Croissance économique

L'ACDI consacre ses efforts au renforcement d'un environnement favorable et à la coordination des mécanismes nécessaires pour l'intégration régionale. Ces efforts comprennent :

  • Améliorer les services d'infrastructure
  • Augmenter les revenus et les emplois
  • Rendre les institutions plus responsables et plus transparentes dans leurs prises de décisions
Exemples de résultats escomptés
  • Un ensemble de trois collectivités économiques régionales (regroupant 41 pays) renforceront la capacité de leur équipe chargée du commerce, dans le but de faire la promotion du commerce au sein de leur région et entre les régions.
  • Un total de huit pays du bassin du Nil établiront des cadres régionaux de gestion du bassin pour aider à créer un milieu réglementaire qui favorisera la production, la commercialisation et le commerce à la grandeur du bassin.
  • Vingt-trois pays francophones augmenteront la responsabilisation de leur institution supérieure de vérification financière, améliorant ainsi l'environnement pour le développement des entreprises et du commerce.

Sécurité alimentaire

L'ACDI se concentre sur l'accroissement de la production agricole. Dans ce but, les organisations africaines régionales renforceront leur capacité de mener de nouvelles recherches et de concevoir de nouvelles technologies et de les partager pour augmenter le rendement des cultures et la valeur nutritionnelle des cultures alimentaires de base. L'ACDI travaille étroitement avec le Programme détaillé de développement de l'agriculture africaine (PDDAA) du NEPAD afin de renforcer la capacité agricole de l'Afrique à long terme. L'un des objectifs du PDDAA est d'augmenter la production agricole annuelle de 6 % dans chaque pays.

Exemples de résultats escomptés
  • Douze institutions de recherche nationales de l'Afrique travailleront ensemble pour partager les connaissances et l'expérience dans toute la région.
  • Plus de 16,5 millions de ménages utiliseront des variétés de fèves plus résistantes aux maladies et à la sécheresse et de nouvelles techniques agricoles.

Vers une aide plus efficace

Conformément à la Déclaration de Paris sur l'efficacité de l'aide (PDF, 317 Ko, 26 pages) l'ACDI travaille de près avec l'Union africaine pour soutenir les priorités régionales africaines et renforcer la prise en charge locale. Les donateurs, y compris l'ACDI, trouvent des façons de mieux coordonner et d'harmoniser leurs efforts en soutien aux institutions régionales, à l'aide de fonds multidonateurs mis en commun et de l'amélioration de la coordination sur le terrain.

Le Canada a été le premier donateur bilatéral à concevoir un programme panafricain et il a fortement influencé l'établissement d'initiatives régionales continentales efficaces, telles que l'Initiative du bassin du Nil.

Réalisations 2009-2010

Croissance économique

  • A formé plus de 300 personnes de trois collectivités économiques régionales (regroupant 41 pays) sur les processus de négociations commerciales mondiales et régionales et sur la facilitation du commerce afin d'améliorer la capacité de l'Afrique à accéder aux marchés.
  • A aidé des petites et moyennes entreprises qui œuvrent dans les secteurs du cuir, des mangues, des cajous, de l'huile de palme et du café à avoir davantage accès aux analyses de marché et aux marchés d'outremer.
  • A amélioré la capacité de trois ministères et organismes nord-africains responsables de l'eau, de l'environnement et de l'agriculture à utiliser l'imagerie par satellite, les techniques de gestion des données et les outils d'aide à la prise de décisions.
  • A contribué au renforcement des capacités de responsabilisation et de surveillance budgétaire des parlements au moyen de la formation, dans sept parlements africains choisis.
  • A contribué au renforcement de la responsabilité des institutions supérieures de contrôle financier dans 23 pays francophones en améliorant leurs capacités d'entreprendre des vérifications du rendement, de l'environnement et des finances, de gérer les systèmes et les projets d'information et d'évaluer les systèmes de gestion de la dette.

Sécurité alimentaire

  • A aidé à la construction d'installations bioscientifiques ultramodernes, accessibles aux scientifiques africains et aux étudiants de l'ensemble du continent pour la recherche agricole concertée.
  • A facilité l'accès à une variété de haricots à haute teneur nutritive et résistants à la sécheresse pour près de 4 millions ménages agricoles, dont 58 % sont dirigés par des femmes, dans 11 pays.
  • A aidé au développement de plus de 660 technologies et innovations agricoles axées sur le rendement, qui ont été diffusées à plus de 8 000 fermiers.

Note : Si vous ne pouvez accéder aux documents fournis dans un format de rechange, veuillez visiter la page d'aide.