Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Immunization

Immunization is widely recognized as one of the best investments in health. Thanks to proven strategies, these investments can now benefit children and their families in the world's hardest-to-reach communities.

The World Health Organization (WHO) deems that immunization helps to prevent between two and three million deaths each year, as well as countless infectious diseases and disabilities. New vaccines against pneumococcal infections and diarrhea have the potential to save the lives of an additional million children each year.

© ACDI-CIDA/David Barbour
A health care worker examines a baby at a clinic in Ethiopia. Through CIDA's commitment to improve maternal, newborn and child health, the immunizations provided here help prevent potentially devastating childhood diseases.

By helping to prevent diseases with devastating consequences for children and their families, immunization allows everyone to lead a more productive life. In the long term, it stimulates sustainable economic growth in communities.

According to UNICEF, despite the progress seen in recent decades, nearly 23.5 million children—almost 20 percent of children born each year—have not yet been fully immunized or have not been immunized at all.

To reach these children, Canada has been working for several years in partnership with organizations that are experienced in immunization:

  • The GAVI Alliance is a public-private partnership that aims to save children's lives and to protect the health of communities by increasing access to immunization in poor countries. GAVI Alliance programming currently reaches 60 percent of the world's children.

  • The World Health Organization (WHO) conducts important work in immunization standard setting, research, and development, as well as vaccine regulation. The WHO is also engaged in vaccine supply, immunization financing, and immunization-system strengthening. The Global Polio Eradication Initiative is a public-private partnership involving national governments, the WHO, Rotary International, the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and UNICEF. Since 1988 more than 2.5 billion children have been immunized against polio through this initiative, and the number of cases of polio per year has decreased by more than 99 percent.

By cooperating in international efforts to provide children in developing countries with the vaccines they need, Canada is helping to achieve the three Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) that directly target health: reduce child mortality (MDG 4), improve maternal health (MDG 5), and combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases (MDG 6).

Canada's support for immunization programs is aligned with one of its development priority themes: securing the future of children and youth. These efforts are also aligned with its commitment to improve maternal, newborn and child health.

Consult the International Development Project Browser to find out more about these initiatives and other projects for the prevention of infectious diseases.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Vaccination

La vaccination est largement reconnue comme l'un des meilleurs investissements en matière de santé. Grâce à des stratégies éprouvées, on peut maintenant en faire profiter les enfants des endroits les plus difficiles d'accès du monde et leurs familles.

L'Organisation mondiale de la santé (OMS) estime que la vaccination contribue à prévenir entre deux et trois millions de décès par année, en plus d'innombrables maladies infectieuses et handicaps. De nouveaux vaccins contre les infections à pneumocoque et la diarrhée ont le potentiel de sauver la vie d'un million d'enfants de plus chaque année.

© ACDI-CIDA/David Barbour
Un travailleur de la santé ausculte un bébé dans une clinique en Éthiopie. Grâce à l'engagement de l'ACDI d'améliorer la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants, les vaccins offerts aident à prévenir des maladies de l'enfance qui pourraient s'avérer dévastatrices.

En aidant à prévenir des maladies aux conséquences dévastatrices pour les enfants et leurs familles, la vaccination permet à tous de mener une vie plus productive. À long terme, elle favorise la croissance économique durable des collectivités.

Malgré les progrès observés durant les dernières décennies, selon l'UNICEF, près de 23,5 millions d'enfants — soit presque 20 % des enfants nés chaque année — ne sont toujours pas immunisés ou ne le sont pas entièrement.

Afin d'atteindre ces enfants, le Canada travaille depuis plusieurs années en partenariat avec des organisations chevronnées en matière de vaccination :

  • L'Alliance GAVI est un partenariat public-privé ayant pour mission de sauver la vie d'enfants et de protéger la santé des collectivités en augmentant l'accès à la vaccination dans les pays pauvres. Ses programmes atteignent actuellement 60 % des enfants dans le monde.

  • L'OMS réalise d'importants travaux dans le domaine de la vaccination, notamment par l'établissement de normes, la recherche et le développement, et la réglementation. Elle s'occupe également de l'approvisionnement en vaccins, du financement de la vaccination et du renforcement des systèmes de vaccination. L'Initiative mondiale pour l'éradication de la poliomyélite est un partenariat public-privé auquel sont rattachés des gouvernements nationaux, l'OMS, Rotary International, les centres de contrôle et de prévention des maladies des États-Unis et l'UNICEF. Depuis 1988, plus de 2,5 milliards d'enfants ont été vaccinés contre la poliomyélite grâce à cette initiative, et le nombre de cas annuels de poliomyélite a chuté de plus de 99 %.

En collaborant aux efforts internationaux visant à fournir aux enfants des pays en développement les vaccins dont ils ont besoin, le Canada contribue à l'atteinte des trois Objectifs du Millénaire pour le développement (OMD) qui ciblent directement la santé : réduire la mortalité infantile (OMD 4), améliorer la santé maternelle (OMD 5) et combattre le VIH/sida, le paludisme et d'autres maladies (OMD 6).

Le soutien du Canada aux programmes de vaccination est dans le droit fil de l'un de ses thèmes prioritaires eu matière de développement, soit assurer l'avenir des enfants et des jeunes. Ces efforts concordent également avec son l'engagement d'améliorer la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants.

Consultez la Banque de projets de développement international pour en savoir davantage sur ces initiatives et d'autres projets pour la prévention des maladies infectieuses.