Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Harper Government partners with Ryerson University to help protect children and youth in the Dominican Republic

March 12, 2013

Toronto, Ontario—Vulnerable children and youth in the Dominican Republic will see the safety and quality of their lives improved thanks to a partnership between the Harper Government and Ryerson University. Today, Member of Parliament Lois Brown, Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of International Cooperation, the Honourable Julian Fantino, announced Canada's support for an initiative that will empower and support the human rights of children and youth in the Dominican Republic.

"The Harper Government is committed to increasing the quality of life of children and youth in vulnerable communities as an international assistance priority," said MP Brown. "Through this partnership with Ryerson University, Canada will help ensure that vulnerable children and youth have a safe environment to grow up to become healthy and productive members of society."

This investment will help Ryerson University, in line with the intentions of the Government of the Dominican Republic, to improve the skills of government agencies and civil society organizations responsible for protecting these vulnerable groups from abuse and sexual or labour exploitation. Working together, they will build a robust child protection system that will include youth in the design and implementation of child protection programs.

"Ryerson University is committed to effecting evidence-based social change through its research activities," said Wendy Cukier, Vice-President Research and Innovation, Ryerson University. "Ryerson is grateful for the support of the Government of Canada for this innovative project which will contribute to improving the safety and quality of life for the most vulnerable children and youth in the Dominican Republic."

The Dominican Republic benefits from various programs supported by the Harper Government, including the Inter-American Regional Program, International Humanitarian Assistance Program and La Francophonie program. Canada also supports programs such as the Pan American Health Organization's Improved Health and Increased Protection from Communicable Diseases program, of which the Dominican Republic is a beneficiary.

The Ryerson University project will be funded through CIDA's Partners for Development Program for $1.5 million.

For more information, please visit CIDA's University Partners page.

— 30 —

For more information, media should contact:

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Press Secretary to the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238
Email: danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
Email: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Follow us on Twitter: @CIDA_CA


Backgrounder

CIDA's Partners for Development Program aims to leverage the development expertise and initiative of Canadians by funding the most meritorious proposals put forward by Canadian organizations to deliver development results on the ground. Following a 2011 call for proposals, CIDA is partnering with Canadian universities to implement targeted development projects around the world for up to five years.

These selected Canadian universities will work with institutions and organizations in developing countries to ensure that the results will directly benefit people in need. Their projects will stimulate sustainable economic growth, secure the future of children and youth, increase food security, and improve the health of mothers, newborns and children.

Below are the successful projects that have been announced as a result of this call for proposals.

Ryerson University

Empowering and supporting the human rights of children and youth in the Dominican Republic

Local Partners: Pontifical Catholic University Mother and Teacher, Dominican Republic Federation of Municipalities, Autonomous University of Santo Domingo, and the National Council for Children and Adolescents

This project will improve the safety and quality of life for 10,000 boys and girls, often of Haitian origin, in the poorest and most vulnerable communities of the Dominican Republic. It will:

  • Improve the skills of government agencies and civil society organizations responsible for protecting these boys and girls from abuse and sexual or labour exploitation;
  • Enhance the ability of these agencies and organizations to include youth in the design and implementation of child protection programs;
  • Support the implementation of Dominican child protection laws; and
  • Help create a robust child protection system

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le gouvernement Harper collabore avec l'Université Ryerson pour aider à protéger les enfants et les jeunes en République dominicaine

Le 12 mars 2013

Toronto (Ontario) — En République dominicaine, les enfants et les jeunes vulnérables verront leur protection et leur qualité de vie s'améliorer grâce à un partenariat entre le gouvernement Harper et l'Université Ryerson. Aujourd'hui, la députée Lois Brown, secrétaire parlementaire de l'honorable Julian Fantino, ministre de la Coopération internationale, a annoncé que le Canada appuierait une initiative qui donnera des moyens d'action aux enfants et aux jeunes et qui protégera leurs droits fondamentaux.

« Le gouvernement Harper est résolu à accroître la qualité de vie des enfants et des jeunes de collectivités vulnérables; il s'agit d'une priorité de l'aide internationale, a déclaré Mme Brown. Par l'entremise de ce partenariat avec l'Université Ryerson, le Canada veillera à ce que les enfants et les jeunes vulnérables aient un environnement sécuritaire où ils pourront grandir, être en santé et devenir des membres productifs de la société. »

Cet investissement aidera l'Université Ryerson, conformément aux intentions du gouvernement de la République dominicaine, à améliorer les compétences des organismes gouvernementaux et des organisations de la société civile qui sont chargés de protéger les groupes vulnérables contre les mauvais traitements, l'exploitation sexuelle et le travail des enfants. Ensemble, ils mettront en place un solide système de protection des enfants dans le cadre duquel les enfants participeront à l'élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de programmes de protection.

« L'Université Ryerson est déterminée à apporter, grâce à ses activités de recherche, un changement social basé sur des données probantes, a déclaré Wendy Cukier, vice­présidente, Recherche et innovation, à l'Université. L'Université est reconnaissante du soutien que le gouvernement du Canada apporte à ce projet novateur qui contribuera à améliorer la protection et la qualité de vie des enfants et des jeunes les plus vulnérables en République dominicaine. »

La République dominicaine bénéficie de différents programmes qu'appuie le gouvernement Harper, dont le Programme régional interaméricain, le Programme d'assistance humanitaire internationale et le Programme de la Francophonie. Le Canada appuie également des programmes comme le programme d'amélioration de la santé et d'accroissement de la protection contre les maladies transmissibles de l'Organisation panaméricaine de la Santé, dont la République dominicaine est une bénéficiaire.

Le projet de l'Université Ryerson sera financé à hauteur de 1,5 million de dollars par l'entremise du Programme des partenaires pour le développement de l'ACDI.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez la page sur les partenaires universitaires de l'ACDI.

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias sont priés de communiquer avec :

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Attaché de presse du ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238
Courriel : danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @ACDI_CA


Fiche d'information

Le Programme des partenaires pour le développement de l'ACDI a pour but de mettre à contribution le savoir-faire et l'esprit d'initiative des Canadiens en matière de développement. Un appui financier est offert aux meilleures propositions présentées par des organisations canadiennes désireuses d'obtenir des résultats sur le terrain. À la suite d'un appel de propositions qui a eu lieu en 2011, l'ACDI a établi des partenariats avec des universités canadiennes afin de mettre en œuvre des projets à différents endroits dans le monde sur une période de 5 ans.

Les universités choisies travailleront en collaboration avec des institutions et des organisations dans les pays en développement afin de s'assurer que les résultats obtenus auront des retombées directes sur la vie des gens dans le besoin. Leurs projets permettront de favoriser une croissance économique durable, d'assurer l'avenir des enfants et des jeunes, d'accroître la sécurité alimentaire et d'améliorer la santé des mères, des nouveau-nés et des enfants.

Le projet ci-dessous a été annoncé aujourd'hui, à la suite de l'appel de propositions.

Université Ryerson (en anglais)

Défendre les droits fondamentaux des enfants et des jeunes en République dominicaine et leur donner les moyens d'agir

Partenaires locaux : Ponticial Catholic University Mother and Teacher, Dominican Republic Fedration of Municipalities, Autonomous University of Santo Domingo et le National Council for Children and Adolescents

Ce projet permettra d'améliorer la sécurité et la qualité de vie de 10 000 garçons et filles, majoritairement d'origine haïtienne, dans les collectivités les plus pauvres et les plus vulnérables de la République dominicaine. Il permettra de :

  • accroître les capacités des organismes gouvernementaux et des organisations de la société civile responsables de protéger ces filles et garçons des mauvais traitements, de l'exploitation sexuelle et de l'exploitation par le travail.
  • améliorer la capacité de ces organismes et organisations à inclure les jeunes lors de la conception et de la mise en œuvre des programmes de protection des enfants.
  • appuyer la mise en œuvre de la législation dominicaine en matière de protection des enfants.
  • aider à mettre sur pied un solide système de protection des enfants.