Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Canada supports development and humanitarian assistance in Latin America and the Caribbean

April 16, 2013

Ottawa, Ontario — Today, the Honourable Julian Fantino, Minister of International Cooperation, and the Honourable Diane Ablonczy, Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas and Consular Affairs), met with ambassadors and high commissioners of countries in Latin America and the Caribbean to highlight Canada's commitments to the region and to announce support for a new development initiative and humanitarian assistance.

"As part of Canada's vision of a more prosperous, secure, and democratic world, we continue to support initiatives that foster economic opportunities that lift people out of poverty in the Americas," said Minister Fantino. "The Harper Government's support for two new region-wide commitments highlight Canada's continued focus on poverty alleviation and our compassion for people in humanitarian crisis."

Minister Fantino announced further support for the Regional Infrastructure Integration Fund, an initiative through the Inter-American Development Bank, which aims to boost trade and create jobs by facilitating regional infrastructure investments throughout the Americas, with a particular focus on the Caribbean.

"Canada is committed to working with our partners in Latin America and the Caribbean to achieve our shared goal of a thriving, safe and democratic hemisphere," said Minister Ablonczy. "By fostering strong ties and forging deeper connections throughout the region, Canada is helping to shape a brighter future for all the peoples of the Americas".

Canada is also making a commitment to lifesaving assistance during times of humanitarian crisis. Each year, Canada responds generously to appeals by humanitarian organizations, helping them save lives when humanitarian crises occur. This commitment includes Canada's support to four international organizations, including the International Committee of the Red Cross, for their regional work in the Americas.

Canada's Economic Action Plan 2013 announced the creation of the new Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development. This amalgamation will further bolster our international development efforts as it puts development on equal footing with trade and diplomacy, allowing us to work together in a more effective and complementary way. As demonstrated through today's announcement, Canada remains committed to poverty alleviation and delivering humanitarian assistance during times of crisis.

For more information on Canada's development commitments in the Americas, please visit What we do in the Americas.

— 30 —

For more information, media should contact:

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Press Secretary to the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238
Email: danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
Email: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Follow us on Twitter: @CIDA_CA


Backgrounder

Regional Infrastructure Integration Fund (RIIF)

The Inter-American Development Bank's Regional Infrastructure Integration Fund (RIIF) is a multi-donor trust fund whose objective is to provide technical assistance to support the preparation of infrastructure projects in Latin American and the Caribbean.

The Fund supports the following priority areas to facilitate both public and private infrastructure investments:

  • strengthening best practices in regional regulatory frameworks by removing regulatory bottlenecks at border crossings;
  • promoting investments that reduce the logistics costs of regional trade by investing in infrastructure corridors, ports and maritime services, and improving market structures for air cargo services; and
  • enhancing transnational regulatory frameworks for key regional markets, such as energy and telecommunications.

Canada's recent contribution of $5 million will bring our total commitment to the Fund to $10 million.

Regional allocation for the Americas (2013 Humanitarian Appeals)

Each year, Canada generously provides assistance to experienced humanitarian organizations to support efforts to save lives, reduce human suffering, and maintain the dignity of people affected by humanitarian crises and food insecurity around the world.

To the Americas region in 2013, Canada is providing $2.15 million to the International Committee of the Red Cross, the UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, the UN High Commissioner for Refugees, and the UN World Food Programme, to help meet the urgent humanitarian needs of crisis-affected families, including:

  • the provision of food assistance to as many as 350,000 people;
  • the delivery of water and basic medical services to conflict-affected populations;
  • the provision of protection services to as many as 500,000 refugees; and
  • improved coordination of humanitarian action, to ensure the effective and efficient delivery of assistance to those most in need.

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le Canada appuie l'aide au développement et l'aide humanitaire en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes

Le 16 avril 2013

Ottawa (Ontario) — Aujourd'hui, l'honorable Julian Fantino, ministre de la Coopération internationale, et l'honorable Diane Ablonczy, ministre d'État des Affaires étrangères (Amériques et Affaires consulaires), ont rencontré les ambassadeurs et les hauts-commissaires des pays de l'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes afin de souligner les engagements du Canada à l'égard de la région et d'annoncer son appui à une nouvelle initiative de développement et l'apport d'une aide humanitaire.

« Conformément à la vision du Canada, axée sur la création d'un monde plus prospère, plus sécuritaire et plus démocratique, nous continuons d'appuyer les initiatives qui favorisent les possibilités économiques permettant de sortir les gens de la pauvreté dans les Amériques, a affirmé le ministre Fantino. Le soutien qu'accorde le gouvernement Harper à deux nouveaux engagements pour l'ensemble de la région met en lumière notre action continue à l'égard de la réduction de la pauvreté et notre compassion envers les gens qui souffrent des crises humanitaires. »

Le ministre Fantino a d'abord annoncé un soutien supplémentaire au Fonds d'intégration de l'infrastructure régionale, une initiative menée par l'entremise de la Banque interaméricaine de développement ayant pour but de stimuler le commerce et de créer des emplois en facilitant la réalisation d'investissements dans l'infrastructure régionale des Amériques, et plus particulièrement dans les Caraïbes.

« Le Canada est déterminé à collaborer avec nos partenaires de l'Amérique latine et des Caraïbes afin d'atteindre notre objectif commun, soit un hémisphère prospère, sécuritaire et démocratique, a déclaré la ministre Ablonczy. En favorisant des liens solides et en formant des relations importantes dans la région, le Canada aide à mettre en place un meilleur avenir pour toute la population des Amériques. »

Le Canada s'engage également à offrir une aide essentielle à la survie dans les cas de crise humanitaire. Chaque année, il répond généreusement aux appels des organisations humanitaires et les aide à sauver des vies lors de crises humanitaires. Le soutien du Canada vise plus particulièrement quatre organisations internationales, dont le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge pour son travail régional dans les Amériques.

Dans son Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la création du ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement. Cette fusion renforcera encore plus nos efforts de développement international, le développement étant mis sur un pied d'égalité avec le commerce et la diplomatie. Ainsi, nous pourrons collaborer de manière beaucoup plus efficace et complémentaire. Comme le démontre l'annonce d'aujourd'hui, le Canada demeure résolu à réduire la pauvreté et à offrir de l'aide humanitaire en temps de crise.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les engagements du Canada à l'égard du développement dans les Amériques, consultez la page Ce que nous faisons dans les Amériques.

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias sont priés de communiquer avec :

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Attaché de presse du ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238
Courriel : danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @ACDI_CA


Fiche d'information

Fonds d'intégration de l'infrastructure régionale

Le Fonds d'intégration de l'infrastructure régionale de la Banque interaméricaine de développement est un fonds d'affectation spéciale multidonateurs dont l'objectif est d'offrir une assistance technique à l'appui de la préparation de projets d'infrastructure en Amérique latine et dans les Caraïbes.

Le Fonds appuie les secteurs prioritaires suivants de façon à faciliter les investissements publics et privés dans l'infrastructure :

  • Renforcement des pratiques exemplaires dans les cadres de réglementation régionaux en éliminant les entraves aux mouvements transfrontaliers causées par la réglementation.
  • Promotion des investissements qui réduisent les coûts de logistique du commerce régional en investissant dans les corridors de l'infrastructure, les ports et les services maritimes, et en améliorant les structures de marché pour les services de fret aérien.
  • Amélioration des cadres de réglementation transnationaux pour les principaux marchés régionaux, comme l'énergie et les télécommunications.

Grâce à la contribution récente de 5 millions de dollars du Canada, l'engagement total du Canada à l'égard du Fonds s'élève à 10 millions de dollars.

Affectation régionale pour les Amériques (appels humanitaires de 2013)

Chaque année, le Canada offre une aide généreuse à des organisations humanitaires d'expérience afin d'appuyer les efforts réalisés pour sauver des vies, réduire la souffrance humaine et préserver la dignité des gens du monde entier qui sont touchés par les crises humanitaires et l'insécurité alimentaire.

En 2013, pour la région des Amériques, le Canada versera 2,15 millions de dollars au Comité international de la Croix-Rouge, au Bureau de la coordination des affaires humanitaires des Nations Unies, au Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés et au Programme alimentaire mondial pour aider à répondre aux besoins humanitaires urgents des familles souffrant des crises, notamment par les mesures suivantes :

  • Offrir une aide alimentaire à quelque 350 000 personnes.
  • Fournir de l'eau et des services médicaux essentiels aux populations touchées par des conflits.
  • Garantir des services de protection à près de 500 000 réfugiés.
  • Améliorer la coordination de l'action humanitaire afin de garantir une aide efficace et efficiente aux personnes les plus démunies.