Government of Canada

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Canada responds to tropical cyclone in Bangladesh

June 3, 2013

OTTAWA — Canada is providing immediate assistance to approximately 45,000 people affected by Tropical Cyclone Mahasen in Bangladesh, announced the Honourable Julian Fantino, Minister of International Cooperation.

"Canada is helping families affected by the cyclone in Bangladesh by ensuring that their emergency needs are being met," said Minister Fantino. "Canada's support to the people of Bangladesh demonstrates the compassion and generosity that Canadians are known for around the world."

On May 16th, 2013, Cyclone Mahasen made landfall on the southern coast of Bangladesh affecting close to 1.5 million people and leading to the deaths of 17 across ten coastal districts.  More than 26,000 houses were destroyed and as many as 124,000 damaged.

With Canada's assistance, the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies is supporting the Bangladesh Red Crescent Society in the delivery of food and emergency relief items, such as water storage jerry cans, family hygiene kits, and tarpaulins, as well as shelter and sanitation services and materials.

Economic Action Plan 2013 reaffirms Canada's commitment to humanitarian work, such as this support for the people of Bangladesh. The new Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development will maintain the mandate of poverty alleviation and the ability to respond to humanitarian crises.

— 30 —

For more information, media should contact:

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Press Secretary to the Minister of International Cooperation
Telephone: 819-953-6238
Email: danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Media Relations Office
Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA)
Telephone: 819-953-6534
Email: media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Follow us on Twitter: @CIDA_CA

Gouvernement du Canada

Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada

www.international.gc.ca

Le Canada réagit au cyclone qui s'est abattu sur le Bangladesh

Le 3 juin 2013

OTTAWA — Le Canada apporte une aide immédiate à quelque 45 000 personnes touchées par le cyclone tropical Mahasen qui s'est abattu sur le Bangladesh, a annoncé l'honorable Julian Fantino, ministre de la Coopération internationale.

« Le Canada aide les familles du Bangladesh touchées par le cyclone en veillant à répondre à leurs besoins urgents, a déclaré le ministre Fantino. L'appui que le Canada apporte à la population du Bangladesh illustre la compassion et la générosité des Canadiens et des Canadiennes, des qualités pour lesquelles ils sont reconnus partout dans le monde. »

Le 16 mai 2013, le cyclone Mahasen a atteint la côte sud du Bangladesh, touchant près de 1,5 million de personnes et provoquant la mort de 17 personnes dans dix districts côtiers. Plus de 26 000 maisons ont été détruites et quelque 124 000 autres ont été endommagées.

Avec l'appui du Canada, la Fédération internationale des Sociétés de la Croix-Rouge et du Croissant-Rouge aide la Société du Croissant-Rouge du Bangladesh à distribuer de la nourriture et des articles de secours d'urgence (comme des bidons pour le stockage de l'eau, des trousses d'hygiène familiales et des bâches), de même qu'à fournir des services d'assainissement et des matériaux pour la construction d'abris.

Le Plan d'action économique de 2013 réitère l'engagement du Canada à l'égard du travail humanitaire, comme l'illustre cet appui au peuple du Bangladesh. Le nouveau ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement conservera le mandat de réduction de la pauvreté et la capacité de réagir aux crises humanitaires.

— 30 —

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les représentants des médias sont priés de communiquer avec :

Daniel Bezalel Richardsen
Attaché de presse du ministre de la Coopération internationale
Téléphone : 819-953-6238
Courriel : danielbezalel.richardsen@acdi-cida.gc.ca

Bureau des relations avec les médias
Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI)
Téléphone : 819-953-6534
Courriel : media@acdi-cida.gc.ca
Suivez-nous sur Twitter : @ACDI_CA